Matthew Corbett Books In Order

Publication Order of Matthew Corbett Books

Speaks the Nightbird (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Queen of Bedlam (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mister Slaughter (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Providence Rider (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The River of Souls (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Matthew Corbett series by Robert R McCammon is set in the 18th century in the United States. The forces of good and those of evil are at war in the colonial America and even citizen suspect that witchcraft is behind the tragedies that plague their towns and surrounding areas. Matthew Corbett starts his work as a young clerk/ assistant to the travelling Judge Issac Woodward and rapidly makes the journey to manhood, trusting his own instincts for uncovering the truth and persisting even in the face of seemingly insurmountable challenges. He is a strong man who believes in the power of love and justice. His employers sent him to various places to confront the evil and uncover the truth. Matthew Corbett is a professional problem solver who confronts evil to save the innocent.

Speaks the Night bird is the first book of the Mathew Corbett series. Speaks the Nightbird is a true master piece of mystery fiction that is full of hard hitting intrigue and nail biting suspense. It is in 1699, and two travellers realize the night will soon caught up with them and so they must find shelter before it overtakes them. In the colonial Carolina town of Fount Royal, the forces of good and the forces of evil are at war and even the common man suspects witchcraft is behind the series of tragedies that befell the town. The people of Fount Royal believe a witch has cursed their town with the tragedies. The prime suspect is a beautiful and haunted widow called Rachel. The citizens demand that the beautiful widow Rachel Howarth be tried and executed for acts of witchcraft. Travelling Judge Issac Woodward and his astute assistant Matthew Corbett arrive to conduct a trial and to expose the true evil at work in the town of Fount Royal. After receiving damming testimony, the presiding Judge Woodward finds the accused guilty and sentences her to death by burning. Believing Rachel to be innocent, and desperate to save the woman he has fallen in love with, Matthew Corbett sets to work and confronts the evil forces at play in Fount Royal. Matthew Corbett starts his independent investigation among the citizen, and after joining together the truths he finds that he has no option but to destroy an evil force more malevolent than witchcraft if he is to save Rachel and deliver the people of Fount Royal from the menace taking innocent lives.

Speaks the Nightbird is book that exposes the injustice of the witchcraft trails in colonial America and the efforts of one young lover who daringly resists the crowd mentality to save the woman he loves and the lives of many other innocent people. The beautiful and haunted widow has been accused of murdering the Reverend Grove, her own husband, Daniel Howarth, and of having a love affair with the Devil. She is accused of causing the slow death of Fount Royal Town. The citizen are ready and willing to lynch her, but the presiding judge Issac Woodward uses the power of his office to insist that a fair trial be conducted before any action can be taken against the accused. A trail is conducted with Judge Woodward presiding. As the trial progresses, each witness called forth describes in vivid detail how they saw the widow Rachel, or Mrs.Howarth, in the throes of passion with her alleged dark master. Judge Woodward believes the testimonies given by the witness, but his assistant, young Matthew Corbett, begins to suspect foul play. He suspects that someone is manipulating the citizens, the testimonies and the trial from behind the scenes with the intent of destroying the town. Rachel is being used as a scapegoat to divert attention from the evil designs. When Judge Woodward finds Rachel guilty and sentences her to death by burning, young Matthew has only a few days to prove her innocence and expose the true identity of the real murderer. Young Matthew Corbett proves equal to the challenge, and he quickly transform from a teenager into a young man as he gets a glimpse of the real evil hidden the mask of humanity.

The Queen of Bedlam is the second novel of the Matthew Corbett series by Robert R McCammon. In this Matthew Corbett travels to 18th century New York where a murderer wields terrifying and bloody power over the busy city creating its identity and charting Matthew Corbett’s uncertain destiny. Set in Manhattan in 1703, 23 year old Matthew Corbett, a magistrate clerk, is trailing a Masker, a murderer who stalks leading businessmen. The unsolved murder of a leading city doctor has spread fear throughout the large noisy and thriving city, vibrating with life and commerce. A local print master has called the fiend, the Masker, and in so doing added fuel to the gripping mystery. Matthew Corbett inadvertently finds two more bodies of the victims of the Masker, including that of pederast Eben Ausley , who was the headmaster of the orphanage Matthew once lived in. Hardworking and earnest Matthew Corbett likes to spend his precious free time trying to vindicate the abuses he saw at the hands of the monstrous headmaster while he was growing up in the Saint Johns Home for boys. However, Matthew’s true calling lies in salvaging the future not in avenging the past, because every time the Masker claims a victim, Matthew is sucked into a maze of heart pounding investigations and forensic clues that both inflame his desire for justice and test his natural skill for detection. Matthew Corbett ,who is now a junior associate of the New York office of a London based problem solving firm known as the Herrald Agency, uncovers a potential link to the crimes in an elderly amnesiac patient in a mental institution who is known as the Queen of Bedlam. The key to exposing the Masker may have to wait a little in the asylum where Queen Bedlam reigns, given that only a man of Matthew Corbett’s empathy and reasoning has the ability to unlock her secrets. Later, Matthew and his colleagues make a daring foray into the headquarters that the dangerous Professor Fell keeps for his young criminals who are undergoing training.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Matthew Corbett