Plantagenet Saga Books In Order

Publication Order of Plantagenet Saga Books

The Plantagenet Prelude (1976) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Revolt of the Eaglets (1977) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Heart of the Lion (1977) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Prince of Darkness (1978) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Battle of the Queens (1978) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Queen from Provence (1979) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Edward Longshanks (1979) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Follies of the King (1980) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Vow on the Heron (1980) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Passage to Pontefract (1981) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Star of Lancaster (1981) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Epitaph for Three Women (1981) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Red Rose of Anjou (1982) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sun in Splendour (1982) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Plantagenet Saga is a series of novels which was written by Victoria Holt. Victoria Holt is a pen name of this lady in the series of novels called Plantagenet Saga. Her name was Eleanor Hibbert but she was used to using different name in different writings. For instance, she has used, Jean Plaidy in different single novel stories like Daughter of Satan, which she had written back in the year 1952 and in the writing of the European royalty’s history. Eleanor was born in the year 1906 September 1st in England a town called Canning, London. She wrote different novels both single and series novels in which she used her fancies together with history. Many of her novels are about romance and history. In those novels she would use a different name, here are the pen names she ever uses; Kathleen Kellow, Ellalice Tate, Elbur Ford, Anna Percival, Eleanor Burford, Jean Plaidy, Philippa Carr, and Victoria Holt which she used in the Plantagenet Saga Series. ‘Beyond the Blue Mountains’ was Eleanor’s first published novel, it was done in the year 1947. Many of her novels are translated into about twenty languages. Most of the languages in which these books exist are of England’s origin, America, and some from Australia. Eleanor died the 1963 January date 18. She was at the sea between the princes of Athens and Port. At this time, she was on her winter trip when she had met her death. The cause of her death was never disclosed. Eleanor kept her real name and age from the writing industry for a long period, which shows how conservative and privacy she was.

She has used the name Victoria Holt to write many novels including the famous and among her interesting novel the Plantagenet Saga series novels. The series contains fourteen novels. The first three novels in the series are The Plantagenet Prelude which was written in the year 1976, The Revolt of the Eaglets which she had written a year later that is in the year 1977, and The Heart of the Lion which had written in the same year, that is 1977.

In the series the Plantagenet Saga by Victoria Holt, as the title itself suggest the series is majorly about the Plantagenet family. It is from this family that we find among the major characters of the series by the name Henry Plantagenet, who we find in the first novel as the King to the Kingdom of England. This King’s house in the series is portrayed as composed of very romantic members, very furious in their actions, and very stylish too. The members of this strong Plantagenet family are described as the branches originating from a very stable and mighty stem of the firm tree. Henry Plantagenet is found appealing to women so much. In the series, the Kingdom was appealing too to him. Also, Victoria uses Duke from Normandy who portrays the same traits as of Henry Plantagenet. I would not manage to leave out Eleanor of Aquitaine, a character who makes the book lively and brain boosting. Eleanor gets the powers of the kingdom of France in what is described to be a mysterious way. She a very brilliant lady with many exceptional characters. She is very young when her father dies. She grows beautiful and very romantic as a queen. It is depicted that her need for men is said to conflict with her craving for the power over the France Kingdom.

In the first novel, The Plantagenet Prelude, the King of France, William X, who is the father of Eleanor dies. Eleanor being the only child of the king she is crowned the Queen of the Kingdom and the powers are bestowed upon her. During the time the king is dying the Eleanor was just fourteen years of age. Considering her age and the powers she is given, this puts the whole of the king in a dilemma situation. During the death times of the king, it is said that he knew he will die and to secure his kingdom and his daughter he had decided to associate her with the prospected King for that kingdom of France. He had given a promised to her daughter that he would like her to be married to that future King. During his deathbed time, he gave his hand in that future marriage. In this novel, it is depicted that Eleanor grew into the most beautiful and was among the very romantic ladies. Following her possession of the King’s desire and will that she marries a King in addition to the power bestowed on her by the King himself, she is confident and determined to rule the Kingdom of France. In this novel Eleanor, The Queen of France is involved in love with someone related to the throne of the Kingdom of England. It is said romance took over her. She is very deterministic up to the extent of knowing that nothing limits her. In the novel there are traits of Eleanor becoming a historic scandalous leader, and more so a queen.

In the novel, The Revolt of the Eaglets, in the series Plantagenet Saga Thomas Becket spreads the news all over the Christendom and Henry Plantagenet’s feet who is the King of the kingdom of England is accused of the news. After two years Henry Plantagenet was canonized. The position of Henry as the King of the Kingdom of England was declared unwarranted and rebuked by the Pope. The Pope did this claiming that it was because Henry had taken part the murder of Thomas Becket who was the Archbishop of Canterbury. The action provokes Queen Eleanor’s anger and this makes her start planning vengeful activities.

Victoria Holt’s Plantagenet Saga Series is the most interesting fiction. The novels contain historical and romantic stories. The Plantagenet Saga Series involves Kingdom and their leader and their associations. If you want to read a novel which can keep you busy and instill your mind with some interesting and evoking story have Victoria’s Plantagenet Saga Series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Plantagenet Saga