Kheryn Callender Books In Order

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hurricane Child (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
This Is Kind of an Epic Story (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
King of the Dragonflies (2020) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Kheryn Callender is an award-winning American writer and freelance editor. She likes to write stories in the middle grade, young adult, contemporary, and romance genres. Callender has written a couple of widely successful standalone novels and is working on developing the next book of her career. She is known to include relentless suspense, compelling, and poetic prose in her books, making the readers remember that sometimes the things that are set to destroy people turn out to be the ones that actually save them. Callender enjoys being an author and takes great pride in knowing that her books are loved and appreciated by readers all over the world. She hails from the US Virgin Islands and was born & brought up in St. Thomas.

Prior to taking the decision of becoming a writer of young adult novels, Callender used to work as an associate editor at the Little Brown Books. Her worked involved editing the books in the Young Readers category. Some of the novels that she worked on with her team of senior editors include Internment, Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World, and Tyler Johnson Was Here. Callender has obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree from Sarah Lawrence College and an MFA from the Program of Writing for Children at The New School. During her time in college, Callender was involved in studying Japanese, creative writing, and fine arts. Both the books of Callender have been finalists for the Lambda Literary Award and have also been picked as the best books of the year by Kirkus Reviews. Her middle-grade novel, Hurricane Child, is the winner of the Malka Penn Honor and the Stonewall Book awards. Besides, Rainbow List has also picked Callender’s both the books on its 2019 list of best books. Callender loves to play RPG video games during her spare times. She also likes to go out on long walks and look after pet dogs outside her house. Currently, she lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

The debut book written by author Kheryn Callender is known as ‘Hurricane Child’. It was released by the Scholastic publication in 2018. Callender has mentioned the central characters in this book in the roles of Caroline and Kalinda. Initially, Caroline is introduced as a 12-year-old girl living on Water Island. She is given the name Hurricane Child because she was born at the time of a big storm in her hometown. Taking birth during a deadly hurricane is considered unlucky and accordingly, Caroline seems to have gone through a lot of unlucky experiences already. All the pupils in her school hate her a lot. Caroline sees things in her life on a daily basis that no one else sees. One day, Caroline experiences the worst feeling when her mother leaves her. She moved out one day all of a sudden and did not return. At this point, Caroline starts hating herself and her existence. With nothing but a bad experience at every turn and no friends to confide her feelings to, Caroline decides to go in search of her mother.

Shortly after, a new student named Kalinda arrives at school and Caroline has a turn around with her luck. Kalinda appears to be a rare girl arrived from Barbados. She greets everyone with a wide smile on her face and sees the things that Caroline sees. As the two girls share a common gift, they begin to bond well. And after knowing Caroline’s story, Kalinda shows the willingness to help her in looking for her mom. She starts by going after a mysterious woman, who seems suspicious with her all-black attire. While working together in trying to find Caroline’s mother, Kalinda and Caroline discover that when girls have a close friendship between them, they produce a healing power that helps them move forward in life. This book follows an amazing, complex, and deeply moving story of a black queer girl. Her tale explores the themes of grief, bullying, love, queer crushes, friendship, family, shadism, and homophobia. The plot appears to have a poetic & magical realism that the readers found quite authentic to read. Caroline’s portrayal of a queer, awkward, mischievous, vulnerable, and curious black girl has been found relatable and appreciable. The success of this book made author Callender confident enough to move on to write her next book.

Another mind-blowing book penned by Callender is entitled ‘This Is Kind of an Epic Love Story’. It was published by Balzer & Ray publication in 2018. Callender has written this novel in the form of charming, fresh rom-com and a young adult story that features the primary characters in the form of Nathan Bird, Oliver James Hernandez, and Florence. It is said that this book is perfect for the fans of Boy Meets Boy and Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. The book opens by depicting that Nathan Bird does not have a belief in happy endings. He is a great interest in watching movies and aspires to become a screenwriter. However, he likes to stay away from the kind of films that have happy endings. Nathan Bird says that he has witnessed the demise of a number of relationships in his life and that has made him sure that happy endings have no place in real life.

Ever since the death of his father, Nathan has seen his mother live a lonely life and craving for the support of a life partner. So, he has decided that he will play it safe in order to avoid getting his heart broken. Everyone around Nathan Bird knows about this strategy of his and many of them don’t approve of his method. His close friends tell him to explore the different experiences of life as they come. Florence, who is Nathan’s on-and-off girlfriend and best friends, is determined to find someone for Nathan to see him happy. But, what Florence doesn’t know is that Nathan doesn’t have any interest in girls. He longs for the love of his best friend from childhood, Oliver James Hernandez. And as fate would have it, Oliver comes back into his life out of nowhere. When they were small, Nathan and Oliver had a painful quarrel that happened at the time of Oliver’s moving out. So, Nathan didn’t get a chance to apologize and express his true feelings for him. And as Oliver has now returned, Nathan decides to tell Oliver what he feels about him and take a step forward to achieve his happily ever after.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Kheryn Callender