Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Lesley Pearce Books In Order

Publication Order of Belle Books

Belle (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Promise (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Survivor (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Georgia (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tara (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Charity (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ellie (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Camellia (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rosie (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Charlie (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Never Look Back (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Trust Me (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Father Unknown (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Till We Meet Again (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Remember Me (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Secrets (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Lesser Evil (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hope (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Faith (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gypsy (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stolen (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Forgive Me (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Without a Trace (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dead to Me (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Woman in the Wood (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The House Across The Street (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Lesley Pearce is a British author of fiction. She is known for her literary forays into historical romance series. Her books have done quite well, as Pearce is the author of over three million copies just in the U.K. Her recent books Faith and Hope and Gypsy have been bestsellers as part of the Penguin paperbacks series. She lives close to Bristol and has three daughters as well as a grandson.

She is the author of the Belle series, which has three books in it. Belle was published in 2011, The Promise in 2012, and Survivor rounded out the trilogy in 2014. It was well received by readers, enough so that a 2016 collection of the Belle series came out called The Complete Belle Collection.

Lesley Pearce is also the author of several standalone novels. Her debut novel was titled Georgia and came out in 1993. Her novels Tara, Charity, Ellie, Camellia, Rosie, and Charlie came out quickly after. She wrote several more novels, the most recent being The Woman in the Wood. Pearce also contributed to the Great Escapes collection in 2008.

Belle is the first novel in the Belle series. It is 1910 in London, and a young girl has grown up in a brothel all her life without ever knowing it. Now that she is 15 years old, she has suddenly discovered that all is not as it seems in the Seven Dials. Even though she grew up there, Belle’s life is forever changed and her innocence gone forever when she sees one of the girls that lives there brutally murdered.

Belle flees the house but her luck is not to turn around. She is caught up off of the streets by the same person that killed the girl in the Seven Dials. Belle is sold in Paris straight into prostitution, the very fate that she had been spared for years. Instead of living in a bubble as part of the sex trade world, she is now directly part of it unwillingly. But she can’t do anything about it except for go along with it for a time as she is taken to the lively city of New Orleans.

In this exciting and historical city, Belle gradually begins to come into her own. Now of age, she gradually learns how to operate skill fully within her life as a courtesan and even adapts to enjoy it. However, she is always thinking of the home she left behind. Even though she is the golden girl for right now of the prostitution world in this bustling southern city, she knows that she only has so long to dominate this cage before it turns into a prison once more that holds her forever.

But getting out of there might be even tougher than she thought. Belle finds that her life is being threatened by some men who want her attention, of all things. All she has is herself on this journey to get out of danger and back into her life the way it used to be– or maybe something totally different. Belle must find her boldness and courage in order to get by, and all the while she is looking for a way to get back home. Reuniting with any family and friends that are still there would mean everything to her.

Belle has only herself in this exciting debut novel from Lesley Pearse. But can she find her source of true happiness or will it be gone forever? Belle is a strong leading woman for our times and a strong protagonist. Pick it up for yourself to see what happens with this saucy heroine that seems pulled right out of the middle of history.

The Promise is the second book in the popular Belle series. It is 1914 in London and Belle Reilly is back as the main character in this bestselling book from Lesley Pearse. She’s wanted a certain life as long as she can remember, a life that had to be put on hold while she made it happen when she was trapped as a prostitute in the world of New Orleans. But that life is no more and she is so happy to leave it behind.

She is married now to her sweet husband. His name is Jimmy and he supports her as she supports them both on the hat shop she finally opened– her dream for so long, ever since she was young. But they can’t see what’s coming as the first world war gathers on the horizon and it is certain that a storm is coming. Belle’s life is so crazy but it’s about to change more than she ever knew possible– is she ready for it?

Jimmy enlists to be in the army and when he heads out for the Ypres battlefields, Belle doesn’t know what to do. She is racked by fear as her husband goes off to fight a war. All that she knows is that she can no longer watch as the war rages on. Belle knows that she has to volunteer to tend to the wounded. She ends up joining the Red Cross to help the war effort and do her part for her country as her husband is doing.

But when she is sent all the way to France and she is working there as an ambulance driver, the past comes flooding back to Belle. She also runs into Etienne, a man from long ago that was a big part of her childhood. Now he is all grown up, and Belle is torn between loyalty to her husband and the forbidden passion of a person she has a history with. With so much happening all around them, Belle is torn.

She doesn’t know what to do as the past comes into the present and she is still separated from her husband. Belle must do what she can to survive the most brutal world war in the history of humankind and hope that her husband will come back to her. But what about being happy? Pick up this fascinating novel in the Belle series to find out whether Belle can ever really be happy or if– despite her best efforts– she loses everything.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Lesley Pearce