Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Matt Kile Books In Order

Publication Order of Matt Kile Books

Who Murdered Garson Talmadge (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Original Alibi (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Money & Murder (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Find My Little Sister (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Judge Snider's Folly (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Coming from Washington D.C., in the United State, the American author Matt Kile is well known for his highly unique mystery and thriller novels, writing in a style and tone that is entirely unique to him, keeping the reader engaged in a manner quite unlike any other, allowing them to immerse themselves in his rich and inventive prose that draws out his characters and story with both originality and confidence. Guiding the readers along, he is an effective storyteller, continually keeping them guessing as to what’s coming next, as he uses the traditional format of heroes and villains, whilst also subverting it in an overt manner too. Giving his characters fully three dimensional personalities, he really ensures that they come to life, letting their character shine through, giving them each a unique and distinctive voice. Creating characters that take on a life of their own is something which he excels at, as they really resonate with the reader, regardless of where they’re from or what their background is, as they resonate on a global stage. Playing with the reader almost through his mysteries, he makes sure to keep them guessing continually throughout, not letting them know what’s coming next. This then ensures that they continue to read, with his addictive page-turners, that never quite let the reader what’s really going on right until the very end, all whilst effectively playing a game of deception with them. It is his characters that really provide the lynch-pin of his stories, with their real world vulnerabilities and presence throughout, something which has come to relate to readers and their understanding of the text and the narrative. Producing a variety of series, he has also used this method to create a collection of ongoing franchises, each with their own personalities and idiosyncratic tone driving them. A perfect example of this would be that of his much loved and highly appreciated ‘Matt Kile’ series of novels, featuring the eponymous private investigator of the title, as he goes about solving a set of different cases and investigations. Whilst this may be pretty standard for the genre on the surface, it really manages to make the most of its material, taking it in fun and exciting directions as the franchise progresses. Previously working as a homicide detective, as well as being an ex-con too, he is not without flaws, he also works as a mystery fiction writer in his spare time too, bringing his own experience to his work. This gives the series a certain degree of authenticity, allowing readers to feel that it’s believable to some extent, something which draws them in and continues to do so to this present day.

Running from 2011 to 2017, the series has managed to produce over seven books so far and counting, allowing it to become one of his most successful franchises currently running to date. Starting out with ‘Who Murdered Garson Talmadge’ as it’s first novel, it manages to continue to put out work at a regular and highly consistent pace for the next few years. Over time it would amass more and more readers allowing it to become a lot more popular and successful, generating a loyal following that would build on a worldwide scale. With a collection of omnibus editions as well, Matt Kile is perhaps one of David Bishop’s most successful series at this time.

Who Murdered Garson Talmadge

Originally coming out on the 13th of October in 2011, this really manages to establish its core central premise for the very first time. Marking the first title in the ongoing ‘Matt Kile’ series, it initially came out on the Kindle to much acclaim. It would also include a lot of political elements as well.

Essentially setting up the story, this is a straight-forward good nuts and bolts mystery novels, as it effectively introduces its leading protagonist for the first time. Establishing his personality and characteristics for the first time, it manages to set-up who he is and what he’s really all about. It also manages to really challenge him as well, putting his skills to the test, whilst also giving the reader a clear idea of what’s to come.

Starting out with Matt Kile as a retired cop and ex-con, he’s now a writer of mystery fiction who does private investigations on the side. That’s when one of his neighbors, Garson Talmadge, is murdered, and the main suspect is believed to be his wife Clarice, but things aren’t always as they first appear. It soon transpires that there is a whole list of suspects, as it comes to light that Garson was previously an arms dealer selling arms to none other than Saddam Hussein himself. Will Kile be able to get to the truth? Can he proves the wife’s innocence? Who murdered Garson Talmadge?

The Original Alibi

Initially brought out on the Kindle once again, this would come out on the 17th of July in 2012, just one year after the first. Following on from where the last left off, it would carry on in much the same vein as before. It would also work at developing the overall series arc as well.

General Whittaker is plagued by doubts following a murder case eleven years prior whereby he broughs grandson’s freedom following him being suspect in a murder case. Believed to have murdered his wife and unborn son at the time, his grandfather brought him an alibi, thus allowing him to avoid incarceration and punishment. All these years later, though, it would seem that the general is now having doubts, as he hires Matt Kile to bring up the cold case once again and find out what really happened. Can he find the truth? Is the general’s grandson really guilty? What became of the original alibi?

The Matt Kile Series

Playing with the mystery genre in a knowing and self-aware manner, this really makes the most of the material that it’s working with, allowing readers to really have fun with his work. With an infectious sense of passion exuded through his novels and writing, he definitely manages to bring his work to life, giving it a level of authenticity quite unlike any other. With room for more novels to follow in the future, this is a series that can potentially continue indefinitely, as he doesn’t show signs of stopping any time soon, and only time will tell how long he carries on.


Book Series In Order » Characters » Matt Kile