Book Notification

Biggie Weatherford Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Biggie Weatherford Books

Biggie and The Poisoned Politician (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Mangled Mortician (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Fricasseed Fat Man (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Meddlesome Mailman (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Quincy Ghost (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biggie and the Devil Diet (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Biggie Weatherford is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels written by American bestselling author Nancy Bell. Weatherford works as an amateur sleuth in a small town Texas. This series integrates the mystery with some elements of humor. The character made debut in Biggie and the Poisoned Politician which was first published in 1996. The series concluded in 2002 when the last novel Biggie and the Devil Diet was published.

Biggie and the Poisoned Politician

Biggie and ……Politician is the first installment in Biggie Weatherford series by Nancy Bell set in a fictional Texas town. The story is narrated from the perspective of J.R. a teenage boy and the grandson of Biggie. This is a light and also an entertaining mystery that focuses on the Texas life. Biggie is described as a wealthy widow and a great influencer in Job’s Crossing; she does what makes her happy and in most cases gets things done her way.

When a new landfill is constructed next to her family cemetery, Biggie does not does not give an angry outburst but instead, she unites her supporters to get rid of the dump. Later when the local town mayor, an obese man with severe heart conditions collapses at a local diner in the presence of Biggie, it is first assumed that he just had been hit by a heart attack. However, instead, Biggie suspects a foul play and her instincts tell her that the mayor had been poisoned and headed out to gather evidence. She is also sure that the mayor’s death had something to do with the explosion of lodgers car and that these two events are intimately related.

Biggie and the Mangled Mortician

In the second series installment novel, J.R. Biggie’s grandson narrates that the woman influence sphere of the Texas town Job’s Crossing has her hands full. She is also featuring and also heading a local production, but before even she gets the chance to perform her rehearsal, the new city mortician. Also, a cast member Monk Carter dies. The cause of Carter’s death is assumed to be either a heart attack or an epileptic seizure, but a further examination by Doctor Hopper reveal that the mortician’s ribs were crushed before his death. The victims of this new murder case are hard to list, but this does not stop her together with her sidekick from trying to solve the case of the crime.

The second novel in Biggie Weatherford series is a great read full of southern charm, knee-slapping humor, and lots of intriguing characters. The mystery is engaging, and the story features loveable and compelling characters each living a unique way of life. The author features a broad range of characters ranging from Biggie, her sidekick, the black cook, J.R. and the Cook’s fiancé who frequently tells stories of things that he has done and all the different type of people that he has met. The overall plot is well woven, and the author connects each of the story scenes with the next without spoiling the fun.

Biggie and the Fricasseed Fat Man

In this installment, Biggie and her beloved grandson are present during a grand opening of a local chicken café. Soon Biggie finds herself caught in a web of a murder case. The owner of the restaurant is found killed in his kitchen and also his body gravied like one of his prize hens. This case gets Biggie engaged such that she finds it almost impossible to prepare for the Christmas holiday. The stakes are raised when a second murder case confronts biggie, the victim, in this case, being Clovis Threadgill, a young man who was commonly known for traveling around the town in a lawn mower while sending threats to all the towns new comes with his toy gun.

On the other hand, it is revealed that J.R. has problems of his own as well, his other grandma. Apparently, a witch threatens to take J.R. away to live in Montana.

The third novel in Biggie Weatherford series is a fast paced mystery featuring an old amateur detective. The characters in this book, both the primary and the secondary are well crafted, and reading the novel, you will love how these characters make interactions with one another. The author, Nancy Bell, makes lots of use of local idioms to add some flavor to this brilliant tale.

Biggie and the Devil Diet

Nancy Bell makes a comeback with another great series installment in her excellent series featuring an amateur detective named Biggie Weatherford and her grandson sidekick, J.R. once more J.R. narrates this humorous exploits of his grandmother, filled with plenty of quirky characters and an interesting plot.

A good old friend of Biggie makes his way back to Job Crossing. Rex and his young wife have returned to reconstruct his father’s ranch into a retreat center for the obese teenage girls. On the other hand, Biggie is forced to finally reveal a secret that she has always hidden from her grandson, however not long after this revelation that Rex is killed. The Texas Ranger enlisted to take charge of this murder case since he will not be able to keep Biggie away.

When Biggie conducts her investigations, J.R has hands full of trouble of his creation. These troubles, however, do not involve murder even though they could for J.R if they did.

Biggie and the Quincy Ghost

In the fifth installment of the Biggie Weatherford series. Again meet the amateur sleuth accompanied by her grandson, Willy May their cook, Rosebud and other characters as they visit the proximal community of Quincy for some exploration but with an idea of setting up a historical society for Job Crossing as they also did for Quincy. Unfortunately but as expected in this series, a murder occurs and Biggie finds herself involved in a murder case that she must investigate and ensure that justice is served. The fifth novel in the series is an excellent read; the change of setting for this cozy series is a good idea. The Quincy community exhibits a different community that is more rural than Job Crossing itself, with some touch of Louisiana backwoods culture added to it.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Biggie Weatherford

Leave a Reply