Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Alex Cross Books In Order

Publication Order of Alex Cross Books

Along Came a Spider (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kiss the Girls (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Jack & Jill (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cat and Mouse (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pop Goes the Weasel (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Roses Are Red (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Violets Are Blue (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Four Blind Mice (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Big Bad Wolf (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
London Bridges (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mary, Mary (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cross (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Double Cross (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cross Country (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Alex Cross' Trial (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
I, Alex Cross (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cross Fire (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kill Alex Cross (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Merry Christmas, Alex Cross (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Alex Cross, Run (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cross My Heart (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hope to Die (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cross Justice (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cross the Line (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The People vs. Alex Cross (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Target: Alex Cross (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Alex Cross Books in Chronological Order:

The chronological order of the Alex Cross books are the exact same as the publication order.

Publication Order of Alex Cross BookShots

Cross Kill (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Detective Cross (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Alex Cross Biography:

Used in James Patterson’s novels, Alex Cross is a detective and trained psychologist who works for the Washington D.C. Metropolitan Police Department. James Patterson is an American author famous for his thrillers, crime, romance, and non-fiction novels. Since Patterson published his first novel in 1976, his books have sold more than 200 million copies worldwide. Alex Cross is the protagonist in twenty-one of Patterson’s novels that center on Alex’s career and cases with both the Washington D.C. police department and later the FBI.
The reader is first introduced to Alex in the 1993 novel entitled, Along Came a Spider. The book follows Alex as he searches for the kidnapper of two wealthy children in D.C. Each novel gives the reader more information on who Alex Cross is and allows the user to become acquainted to him in each book. As a child, Alex was immediately witness to tragedy and loss as his mother died from lung cancer following by his father dying from alcoholism the next year. As a boy, Alex is sent to D.C. where he is raised by his grandmother, Nana Mama. Nana Mama plays an important role in Alex’s life and eventually moves in with him and becomes the live-in nanny of his children. In a rags to riches story, Alex graduated from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore with a doctorate in psychology. Instead of going into medicine immediately, Cross chose to work as a farmhand for a year moving around the country. After a year, Alex became a psychologist and opened a private practice; however, Alex left working as a psychologist after only two years to become a police officer.

It is not until Patterson’s novel Violets Are Blue, that the reader learns the reason Cross left medicine was anger over the politics required to practice. Many of the people in the community Alex maintained his practice in could not afford his services. Furthermore, the wealthy whites were not willing to see a “black shrink.” Alex immediately became hooked on police work and devoted his life to being a detective.

Alex resides in Washington D.C. where he lives with Nana Mama and his four children. The children’s mother was murdered prior to the first book being written. Patterson does an excellent job of making Cross appear to be a relatable and everyday person. For example, Patterson has Cross volunteer at a local soup kitchen every weekend where he is referred to as the “Peanut Butter Man.” From one novel to the next, the reader is able to imagine Alex’s life as if it was their friend or next door neighbor. Creating believable characters is a trait of all of Patterson’s novels.
From Alex’s first wife being married to his various girlfriends moving away due to his job, Cross has terrible luck with women. Almost every woman Alex meets ends up dead, traumatized, or moving away. However, in Patterson’s most recent Cross novels it appears that his bad luck is ending. In Double Cross, Alex begins dating Detective Brianna “Bree” Stone a rising star with the Washington Police Department. Despite working opposite schedules, Bree and Alex develop a loving relationship that culminates with their marriage in Cross Fire.

Patterson’s Alex Cross character has been portrayed in several film adaptations of his books. In 1997 and 2001, Morgan Freeman played Cross in the film about Kiss the Girls and Along Came A Spider. Most recently in 2012, Tyler Perry portrayed Cross in a film adapted from Cross with a sequel planned for the future.

Written in 1993, Patterson’s first Cross novel is entitled Along Came a Spider. Cross is assigned to investigate the kidnapping of two wealthy children at an exclusive private school. Alex is initially angry about the assignment because he is pulled from the investigation of the murders of two black prostitutes and an infant. Cross believes that he is pulled off the murders because people care more about two rich white kids than three dead African Americans. Alex spends the novel tracking down the children and hunting for their kidnapper. Once the kidnapper is discovered, Alex is a star witness for the prosecution in the defendant’s trail. The defendant is able to escape from custody and hunts down Alex at his home. The kidnapper tries to kill Nana Mama and Alex’s children. Unsuccessful in his attempt, the defendant is tracked throughout the nation’s capital until he is finally found on Pennsylvania Avenue.

In the second Alex Cross novel Kiss the Girls, Cross is assigned to arrest two serial killers who target young girls. Nicknamed Casanova, the serial killer has victimized girls at the University of North Carolina. Cross is allowed to work on the case because his niece, Naomi, has gone missing. The killer has a fascination with beautiful college kids and is known for committing near perfect crimes. However, with Alex Cross on his tail, the killer is left on the defensive. Soon, Alex learns that there are two killers on the loose and he sets out to bring both to justice. The killers are working together by going coast to coast to kidnap and kill their prey. During the novel, Alex falls in love with one of the surviving victims. He traverses the country, with Kate, to hunt the killers and find his missing niece before it is too late. With his niece in the killers’ crosshairs Alex Cross sets out to deliver justice by capturing the men at any cost.

Alex Cross is the everyday police detective that you might expect to find living in your neighborhood. James Patterson does a remarkable job of developing a character that readers can relate too. Alex is not overly athletic or muscular and instead combines intellect and savvy to bring killers to justice. With thirteen Alex Cross books to choose from, it is recommended that you start at the beginning of the series to get the full glimpse of Patterson’s ability to develop his characters. James Patterson is the quintessential fictional crime writer today and Alex Cross is the ultimate heroine.


Book Series In Order » Characters » Alex Cross