Peter Swanson Books In Order

Publication Order of Malcolm Kershaw Books

Eight Perfect Murders / Rules for Perfect Murders (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl with a Clock for a Heart (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Kind Worth Killing (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Her Every Fear (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All the Beautiful Lies (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Before She Knew Him (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Every Vow You Break (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Peter Swanson is an American penman; he is a poet and doubles up as a novelist. Swanson, who is a quadragenarian, was born in 1968 in Concord upon Massachusetts, in the United States. Swanson is presently domiciled in Somerville upon Massachusetts. The scribbler spent his formative years in a poultry farm. He has had various occupations among them bookselling, teaching especially (special-education teacher), position held in the run-up to writing books.

Peter Swanson’s literary work has graced the pages of different notable publications The Guardian, Yankee Magazine, The Atlantic Monthly, Asimov’s Science Fiction, The Strand Magazine, and Measure.

While growing up, Peter Swanson admired author Road Dahl’s literary work, and liked reading reading authors John Bellairs, Nancy Drew, and Hardy Boys ;though he is currently more into Kingsley Amis nowadays and somewhat Agatha Christie. Among the authors that influenced Swanson are Ruth Rendell (wherein Swanson learnt that he could craft spellbinding literary works using characters that were not likeable) and Ian Fleming, especially the latter’s book titled Goldfinger.

Peter Swanson, who is a voracious reader and reads many different books that transcend the genre boundaries, has writing ritual that comprises of writing in his office in the mornings, with a laptop computer nestled on his lap.

For his undergraduate education, Peter Swanson went to Trinity College wherein he graduated in 1990. At the said Hartford-based institution, Swanson received his Bachelor of Arts. For his graduate degree, he later on enrolled at the University of Massachusetts-Amherst wherein he received a degree in education. Unfortunately, teaching was not his thing and the unappealing teaching job prompted him to go for further studies. For his postgraduate studies, Peter Swanson attended the Boston-based Emerson College wherein he received his Master’s (MFA?) in Creative Writing.

Interesting, Road Dahl, especially Dahl’s poems rather than his narrative prose, inspired Peter Swanson to start writing. The funny poetry work of Dahl prompted him to pen his me-too funny versions, and has been writing to date. All in all, Peter Swanson’s niche is short fiction, thriller, mystery, fiction, and non-fiction.

Section on Books
Peter Swanson penned his first book around ten years previously. Unfortunately for him, the book remains unpublished and did not see the light of the day. However, the daily routine of waking up daily to expound the plot and returning the following day to continue with where he had left the previous day augured well for him and he has not slackened his writing ambitions since then.
In the context of Peter Swanson’s debut novel, Swanson wrote a short story that his literary agent remarked could easily be turned into a novel-length book. The inspiration for writing the debut was the pre-social media college freshmen who were constantly seeking their identity and angling for personal reinvention.

Long story short, Peter Swanson debuted in relatively recently. There are about 37 editions of Swanson’s first novel. However, the first edition was initially published in February 2014, titled The Girl With a Clock For a Heart. And this standalone book is shelved under the mystery (especially crime sub-genre), fiction, thriller, and suspense genres.

George Foss is the featured main character in Peter Swanson’s debut book. Meet protagonist George Foss. Foss, who hails from Sweetgum upon Florida, is a tricenarian man who has fond and sad memories of his freshman year. During the formative years of his college education, Foss had a girlfriend, called Liana Decter and whose still vivid tragic death shook him to the core.

The turning point in Peter Swanson’s book, The Girl With a Clock For a Heart, is the apparent suicide of the then teenage Liana Decter. When Foss went to Decter’s home and saw a picture of her, he understood there and then that she was not the actual Decter. Foss chances upon Decter after two decades; she is presently named Jane and had a run-in with the police. She is fingered for an old murder case and angling for Foss’ assistance. Foss is torn between rekindling their ill-fated love and his lover’s murder rap in what segues into a suspenseful book that has since been nominated for a prestigious award.

Peter Swanson Awards
Author Peter Swanson has clinched a literary award and been a finalist for others. In early 2015, Swanson’s debut novel was nominated for the Los Angeles Times Book Award in the mystery and thriller category wherein it became a finalist. In 2016, Swanson clinched the New England Society Book Awards, in the Fiction category, thanks to his 2015 book entitled The Kind Worth Killing.

In 2015, The Kind Worth Killing was also nominated for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger in the thriller section. In 2015, the aforementioned book was also nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award, in the mystery and thriller section. In 2017, Peter Swanson was nominated for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger hard on the heels of publishing his 2017 book titled Her Every Fear.

Peter Swanson Books into Movies
Peter Swanson’s book titled The Girl With a Clock For a Heart has since been optioned. The film rights were purchased by a Hollywood-based film company. The film is currently marked as in development. British director James Marsh is involved in the production.

Best Peter Swanson Books
The following are the best books authored by Peter Swanson. The first one is called The Girl With a Clock For A Heart. The second one is award-winning book called The Kind Worth Killing. This revolves around two newly acquainted airplane passengers, Ted Severson and Lily Kintner, who are conspiring to kill Severson’s wife in virtue of her infidelity. The third one is called Her Every Fear. It features protagonist Kate Priddy, a neurotic woman with anxiety disorder; a hitherto unknown cousin pulls Priddy into the vortex of a mysterious murder and Priddy takes the murder rap.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the books authored by Peter Swanson also looked out for the following series of books. The first one is called Leine Basso series, authored by D. V. Berkom. Leine Basso is the featured protagonist in this tetralogy. Basso, an ex-hit woman but presently a homicide sleuth, who is investigating organized crime.

The second one is called Thorny Rose Mysteries series, authored by Lauren Carr. This duology features protagonist Murphy Thornton, a lieutenant, and Jessica Faraday. Thornton and Faraday are investigating a series of murders. The third one is called C.O.R.E. Above the Law series, penned by Kristine Mason. Incidentally, Above the Law denotes the name of a group of behind-the-scenes detectives investigating criminals.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Peter Swanson