Book Notification

Sarah Alderson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Come Back to Me Books

as Mila Gray
Come Back to Me (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Is One Moment (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Run Away with Me (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Watch Over Me (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fall into Me (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fated Books

Publication Order of Lila Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sound (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of Control (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conspiracy Girl (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friends Like These (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Her Eyes (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Weekend Away (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stalker (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cabin in the Woods (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Can We Live Here? (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sarah Alderson

Sarah Alderson, otherwise known as Mila Gray, is an accomplished young adult mystery and fantasy writer who also doubles as a screenwriter. The London-born writer quit her job in the non-profit sector in 2010 to concentrate on writing. Her writing journey started with a world tour that saw her living on different continents in a bid to find a place where she, together with her husband and daughter, could call home. After spending months in Australia, the US, Singapore, and India, she finally settled in Bali where she lived for close to five years.

She wrote her debut novel Hunting Lila just before she left the UK. She wrote the sequel while enjoying the beach in India and had more book deals lined up by the time she settled in Bali. The Hunting Lila series won the Kingston Book Award and is one of her best works. Her other novel, The Sound, has also pushed her in the limelight and comes with numerous positive reviews. Sarah lives with her family in Ojai, California.

Hunting Lila

Hunting Lila is the first book in Lila series by Sarah Alderson. It’s a perfect blend of paranormal, romance, and science fiction. The novel features Lila, a young teenager with two secrets she is determined to keep from the world. For one, she can move things by merely looking at them. She also has a massive crush on her brother’s best friend Alex. From the age of 5, Lila was in love with Alex. Her feelings for him started when he put her on a sledge and took her home when she broke her leg. Despite her efforts to keep her secrets, a mugging incidence exposes her unique abilities. After this incidence, she is left with no choice but to share her exceptional skills with her brother and his friend Alex, the only two people she feels she can trust.

Lila’s brother and his friend work with a secret organization dubbed The Unit. Among the activities these two are involved in is finding the people who murdered Lila’s mother. The story starts with Lila running away from England, where she stays with her father to California to find her brother. After sharing her secret with her brother, Lila discovers that her brother has also been keeping a secret from her. While he did not possess any special powers, Lila’s brother Jack is determined to find his mother’s killers.

The Unit has not only discovered their mother’s murderers, but they are also hunting them down. As the search for the killer intensifies, Lila is shocked to find out that she is not the only person with unique abilities. Many out there have special powers, including the person who killed her mother. Lila grew up knowing that Demos is the man responsible for killing her mother in cold blood. In California, Demos appear to her several times and tells her that her life is a lie. There is so much she does not know about herself and her family. Lila is torn. Demos’ revelations shock her to the core, and she has a hard time trusting anyone in her circles.

Lila is not the only person who finds some shaking truths. Her crush Alex also discovers that he has been in love with Lila for a while. From the day Lila tripped and fell into his arms, Alex has had deep feelings for his best friend’s sister. This is an awesome read with enough twists and turns to keep you glued for hours. The storyline works for both young girls and boys. It helps that the story is easy to relate to as most young adults, just like Lila, find that they don’t fit anywhere in their ever-changing environment.

The Sound

This story features 17-year-old Ren Kensington, an aspiring music journalist who takes up a nanny job with a wealthy family. Part of the reason why she takes this job on the exclusive island of Nantucket is to escape from her bad-boy ex-boyfriend. She is sure that her isolation will keep her away from the boys, help heal her broken heart, and allow her enough time to focus on reading and blogging on music.
Even though Ren has little if no experience in taking care of children, she takes her job seriously and is determined to be the best at what she does, it helps that her services are only needed in the mornings and evenings, and she is free to do whatever she wants for the rest of the day. To keep herself busy, Ren dedicates all her spare time to her blog. This means that she has no time to party or take part in all the other activities that her age mates are engaged in.

Despite Ren’s plan to stay off boys for a while, she soon meets Jeremy, an impressive young man who sweeps her off her feet and kills her dream of having a drama-free summer. She is also swept up with the young and rich kids group that includes Jesse Miller. What Ren doesn’t know is that Jesse, just like her ex-boyfriend, is a bad boy to the core. Even worse, there is a high chance that this party-loving private school kid could also be a serial killer.
The discovery of a dead body in this idyllic island is all it takes for Ren to discover that her newfound friends are not exactly what they seem. They have deep secrets that she is curious to unravel, albeit cautiously. She is always worried about her safety and wonders if the killer targeting Nantucket nannies will strike again.

This is an exciting thriller where plots unravel as secrets are revealed from the beginning to the end. It is hard not to get caught up in different characters’ lives. This can only mean that many have a hard time putting this heart-wrenching thriller cum romance novel down. Despite the many characters, the storyline is simple, making this an easy and enjoyable read for the target audience. It helps that the book is quite modern and includes most of the events that young adults today undergo daily.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sarah Alderson

2 Responses to “Sarah Alderson”

  1. Sue Gilliat: 2 years ago

    I’ve just finished The Weekend Away by Sarah Alderson and wondered if there is a sequel, so we know what happened . Thank you.

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Unfortunately not at this time


Leave a Reply