Book Notification

Alex Flinn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kendra Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Kendra Chronicles Short Stories/Novellas

Beastly: Lindy's Diary (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Destination Unexpected: Short Stories(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice Told(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taking Aim: Power and Pain, Teens and Guns(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alex Flinn is a renowned American writer of science fiction, romance, fantasy, and young adult novels. She is popular for writing the Breathing Underwater series, the Kendra Chronicles series, and several independent books. So far, she has penned 12 books and an original e-book. Flinn’s books have featured on the USA Today and NY Times bestseller lists. They have been translated into more than 20 foreign languages. Flinn was born in Glen Cove, New York, United States, and was brought up on a Salem Court street. She credits her upbringing for influencing her interest in stories about witches. When Flinn was 5 years old, her mother suggested her to become an author. Considering the numerous poems she wrote in her school days, she thinks that she was destined to find this path. All the poems she wrote as a child were sent to Cricket or Highlights magazine and each one of them received rejections. Flinn had collected as many rejection slips at the age of 7 as any other aspiring author at that time.

At a very early age, she learned to read. But, Flinn had to compensate for becoming proficient so early by not agreeing to read her school system’s workbooks. She used to lag far behind the other students in her class. Her school teacher used to worry about her progress and often express her worries to Flinn’s mother. It was her 2nd-grade teacher, who helped her to read and motivated her to keep trying to succeed. The teacher also gave Flinn an Ellen Tebbits novel, which made her even more excited. When Flinn graduated to middle school, her family relocated to Miami. Moving to a new location made it hard for her to make new friends. So, she used to spend most of her time reading books and writing stories. However, she never completed any of her stories. The experience helped her become a keen observer. And by the time she reached high school, Flinn had made some good friends and was also involved in numerous arts programs. For some time, Flinn even studied opera in her college days.

After college, she joined law school. It was her time at the law school that helped her finish her first book, Breathing Underwater, that deals with the dating violence problem. Flinn based this novel on her own experience when she was an intern at the Office of the State Secretary and volunteered with battered ladies. She conducted a survey during her internship and found that 27 percent of the girls were hit by their boyfriends. Flinn made sure that she told their stories in her book in order to save other teenage girls from this common problem. When the book came out, it attracted a lot of teenage readers and it made Flinn quite happy to know that she was able to influence a lot of readers through her writing. She had already begun writing an early version of the book when she was in college. It was thrown away in the store-room by Flinn’s mother while cleaning her room. Flinn was able to get back to it only after she had her first daughter named Katie.

Author Flinn is a self-taught writer. She visited the library and went through the books of her favorite young adult authors. Over a period of time, Flinn honed her writing skills and chose to write her first full-length story when she became confident enough. Usually, Flinn writers her first drafts long-hand and then types them. She believes that she writes all her novels keeping in mind the young adult readers because she thinks she never got over with the idea of being a young adult. In her mind, she still sees herself as a 13-year-old girl. As of today, Flinn resides in Palmetto Bay, Miami. She loves to spend time with her loving husband named Eugene and beautiful daughters Meredith and Katherine. Flinn also has a great love for pets. She has several cats and dogs at her house.

A very popular book series written by author Alex Flinn is known as Kendra Chronicles. It is comprised of a total of 4 novels and 1 novella released between 2007 and 2017. Each of the books of this series features the lead character in the role of Kendra Hilferty. She is depicted as an immortal witch, who possesses unique powers. The other essential characters seen in the series include Emma, Violet, Kyle Kingsbury, Linda Owens, Mr. Anderson, Celine, James, Magda, Will Fratalli, Rob Kingsbury, etc. Flinn has set the plots in New York City, London, France, Florida, and several other places. The series’ debut book is entitled ‘Beastly’. It was released in 2007 by the HarperTeen publication.

The story follows the life of Kyle Kingsbury, who is turned into a beast. He lives in New York City and forced to stay a beast unless he succeeds in breaking the spell that turned him into a monster. Kyle doesn’t like the way he looks with claws, fangs, and horrible hair coming out of every pore of his body. The spell is cast on Kyle by Kendra, the immortal witch, who is his classmate in the Englass class. Because of Kendra’s spell, Kyle is now forced to hide during the day and hunt at night. He doesn’t like his new form at all. Kyle used to be a regular guy with perfect looks, perfect life, and money. And then, he came across Kendra and everything changed all of a sudden.

The next book of the series is entitled ‘Bewitching’. It was also published by HarperTeen in 2012. Its story begins by mentioning that after Kendra’s previous encounter of cursing an arrogant boy in high school and turning him into a monster, Kendra joins a new school. She doesn’t want anyone to know that she should have completed her graduation long ago, but still continues to study because she just doesn’t age. Being an immortal has its cons. As Kendra is more than a hundred years old, she seems to know everything, except when not to use her powers. Whenever Kendra uses her power, her intention is to help, but things go awry and out of her control. So, when Emma needs her help, Kendra first thinks of not going. But, she couldn’t hold herself because of the conniving stepsister of Emma. Kendra makes a plan to fix the girl and sets herself on another course of bewitching.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alex Flinn

Leave a Reply