Book Notification

Amgash Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Amgash Books

My Name Is Lucy Barton (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anything Is Possible (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oh William! (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lucy by the Sea (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elizabeth Strout is a best-selling author. She has written several books, including national best-seller and BookSense selection Abide by Me. She has also written Amy and Isabelle, which won the Chicago Tribune Heartland Prize as well as the LA Times Seidenbaum Award for first fiction. Her book Olive Kitteridge won her the Pulitzer Prize in 2009. She has also had her short stories published in several magazines, including the New Yorker.

Born January 6, 1956 in Portland Maine, Elizabeth grew up in small towns located in New Hampshire and Maine. Her father was a science professor, while her mother was an English professor and taught writing as well. Elizabeth wrote things down from a young age, putting down details of how she spent her days in notebooks. She also loved books and would spend hours in the library looking for books in the fiction section. When it was summer, she would play outdoors alone or with her brother, where she first found her love for the beauty of the physical world, whether the rocks covered with seaweed in Maine or the New Hampshire woods with its gorgeous wildflowers hidden amongst the trees.

When she was a teen, the author continued to write quite a bit. She had always thought of herself as a writer since she was young and kept up with it. She would read author biographies and would independently study the way that U.S. writers would tell their story. She memorized poetry and began sending out her own stories to magazines when she was sixteen years old. She would not get her first story published, however, until the age of twenty-six.

She went to Bates college to study English and graduated with her degree in 1977. She would later (after two years) go to Syracuse University College of Law, graduating with her law degree as well as a certificate in Gerontology. She worked for legal services and then went to New York City. there she would be an adjunct in the English department of Manhattan Community College. Elizabeth was also getting more of her stories published in different magazines.

Today she teaches in Charlotte at Queens University as part of their Master of Fine Arts Program. She also balances her family needs with her teaching schedule and tries to find a few hours every day to write.

Elizabeth has won such awards as the 2018 Library Lion, the Taobuk Award for Literary Excellence, and an honorary doctorate from Bates College, which she received in 2010. Her book Olive, Again was a 2019 pick for Oprah’s Book Club. Anything Is Possible won her The Story Prize as well as a Best Books pick from Publisher’s Weekly. Elizabeth won the Malaparte Prize for My Name is Lucy Barton. Meanwhile, she received the Pulitzer Prize for fiction for Olive Kitteridge, which also netted her the Premio Bancarella Prize. Amy & Isabelle won the Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, and her short story “Snowblind” won her the O. Henry Prize in 2015.

Her book Amy and Isabelle was also made into a made for television movie in 2001 directed by Lloyd Kramer and starring Elisabeth Shue, Hannah Hall, and Martin Donovan. Olive Kitteridge not only sold over a million copies and grossed about twenty-five million but also was made into a television miniseries in 2014 that starred Frances McDormand, Richard Jenkins, and Ann Dowd. It was a hit and a best-seller, with the miniseries earning several Emmy Awards.

She also published her book The Burgess Boys in 2013, which was a best-seller and is being developed into a television miniseries.

Elizbeth is married to James Tierney, a former Maine Attorney General. He has been a lecturer at Harvard on law and is founding director of State AG. The author today splits her time between Brunswick, Maine, and New York City.

My Name is Lucy Barton is the first book in the Amgash series by Elizabeth Strout. If you have been wanting something new and interesting to read, give this book a try!

Main character Lucy Barton is on the mend. She went through what should have been a relatively simple operation and is now allowing herself to recover. In the midst of all this, there’s her mother. Lucy has not spoken to her mother in many years, and she has come over to see her. The visit from her mother makes Lucy face the longing and tension that have had an impact on every part of her life.

From her childhood growing up in poverty with her family in Amgash, Illinois, to her escaping to New York, to her wish to become a writer, to her struggling marriage and finally to the love that she has for her own two daughters. If you enjoy a great narrative, brilliant storytelling, and unforgettable characters, you will appreciate this story! Told by one of the best writers in America, this story shows how just a visit to the hospital can reveal another side to the tender mother and daughter relationship.

Anything Is Possible is the second book in the Amgash series by Elizabeth Strout. If you liked the first book in the series, be sure to check this one out!

This is a collection of short stories. The collection goes through an entire range of human emotion, told through the dramas of different people that are having a difficult time not only understanding themselves, but others too.

There are two sisters in this tale. One gives up her self-respect to marry rich to her wealthy husband. The other finds in a book a kindred soul that changes her life. Then there’s the janitor at school, as an encounter with a man he is trying to help leads to his faith being tested. Then there’s a daughter who has grown up that tries to accept her mother is happy in another country even as she wants her love. Then Lucy Barton, all grown up, comes to pay her siblings a visit after being gone for seventeen years.

If you liked this book, be sure to check out the third book in the series, called Oh Willliam!, and the fourth novel in the series, Lucy by the Sea.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Amgash

Leave a Reply