Book Notification

Anna Nicholas Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anna Nicholas Mallorca Travel Books

A Lizard in My Luggage (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat on a Hot Tiled Roof (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Goats From a Small Island (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Donkeys On My Doorstep (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bull on the Beach (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Chorus of Cockerels (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peacocks in Paradise (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Isabel Flores Mallorcan Mysteries Books

The Devil's Horn (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Haunted Magpie (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fallen Butterfly (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Strictly Off the Record (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Anna Nicholas
Anna Nicholas is a bit of a wild Celt being that she is of Welsh, Irish, and Scottish extraction. She was born in Rochester, Kent in 1961.

During her childhood, she spent a number of unconventional yet magical school holidays traveling all around Eastern Europe and some off the map destinations in a battered old car and on a shoe string budget. These were trips that she made with Cecillia (her older sister), and her inspiring teacher mom and aunts Della and Minnie. It was these experiences that have led to Anna’s lifelong love of adventure and travel.

After Anna left school, she studied Classics and English Literature at Leeds University before she joined Help the Aged, the national charity, as a graduate trainee. After being promoted to senior press officer, she organized many fundraising and gala events that involved high profile celebrities and the late Princess Diana, who at the time was the patron of the charity.

She moved to the Guinness Book of World Records she became the International PR spokesman and invigilator, working closely with Norris McWhirter, and TV presenter Roy Castle and she traveled the world judging extraordinary records.

Those that she most enjoyed adjudicating included the tallest tower of bread in Indonesia, the world’s longest conga line with Gloria Estefan in Miami, the longest train journey which culminated in Hong Kong, the festival of record breaking in Korea, and driving around Finland in the world’s longest limo.

Anna has written “Strictly Off the Record” which is about her adventures judging various records around the world with Norris McWhirter, founder.

After Anna spent several years of unadulterated fun and madness at Guinness, she became the marketing director and then a board director for a luxury bathrooms and aromatics company in Mayfair. Then some years later she established a PR and marketing consultancy with international clients in retail, spas, hotels, and luxury travel.

Anna had an impromptu meeting with Colonel John Blashford-Snell, CBE, who is a renowned British explorer. She accompanied him to Nepal on an expedition, and served as a trustee and director of The Scientific Exploration Society, his charity.

Anna is also a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society, and takes part in tough scientific expeditions to isolated corners of the world. She has been to Colombia, Guyana, Mongolia, Nepal, and along the Amazon, helping remote indigenous communities.

The most bizarre of these expeditions, which is the subject of “A Grand Adventure”, a BBC2 TV documentary, was when she and the colonel led this expedition to the remote Wai Wai community in Guyana so that they could bring these people a grand piano for their mud hut church.

Anna is a keen runner, having completed a total of 20 half marathons and ten full marathons on behalf of her favorite causes. These causes include orphanages in Kandy and Colombo in Sri Lanka.

She has been a freelance journalist for a number of years, having written features for Evening Standard, the Independent, Daily Mail, Daily Express, the Financial Times, UltraTravel USA, Sunday Telegraph, and Tatler, among others, as well as several in-flight magazines.

Anna has been a guest speaker at numerous events and she has presented her books at the Times Oxford Literary Festival.

Anna loves reading, cooking, films, running, and hiking in the Tramuntana mountains.

“A Lizard in My Luggage” is the first nonfiction book in the “Anna Nicholas Mallorca Travel” series and was released in 2019. Anna (PR consultant to Mayfair’s most glamorous and ritziest) had always believed that Mallorca was for the beer-swilling and disco fraternity. That ended once her sister hired an au pair from a rural section of the island that said it was the most beautiful place on earth.

Anna, while on a visit, impulsively decided to buy this dilapidated farmhouse. Despite her fear of flying, she kept one foot in each camp, and commuted to central London in order to manage her PR company. However she found herself being drawn from the stress and bustle of life in the fast line toward a much more tranquil existence.

Told with piquant humor, this book explores Mallorca’s traditions and fiestas, as well as the downs and ups of living in a rural retreat. It’s about learning to appreciate the simple things and take some risks in the pursuit of true happiness. And most importantly of all, it shows that life can be lived between two places.

“The Devil’s Horn” is the first novel in the “Isabel Flores Mallorcan Mystery” series and was released in 2019. Isabel Flores Montserrat (33 years old) quits her rather promising career with the Spanish police in order to run her mom’s holiday rentals agency in rural Mallorca, her crime-fighting days appear to be well behind her.

Basking in the Mediterranean sunshine with Furo, her pet ferret, she indulges her passion for the local cuisine, raising her pampered hens, and swimming in the sea. But in only a few days, a young British girl’s disappearance, violent murder of one elderly neighbor, and the discovery of one Colombian drug cartel threaten to rip apart Isabel’s idyllic life.

Together with Tolo Cabot (local chief inspector), one old admirer of her unorthodox methods, Isabel has to race against time in order to untangle a sinister web of crime and restore the peace to island once more.

“Haunted Magpie” is the second novel in the “Isabel Flores Mallorcan Mystery” series and was released in 2020. Isabel Flores Monserrat (engaging, headstrong, and eccentric) is like a cross between a highly charged Precious Ramotswe (“The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency) and Phyrne Fisher (Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries).

A local florist has gone missing, and Isabel is yet again seconded by the National Police in order help solve this mystery. At the same time, trouble’s brewing in her own village with this sinister spate of animal disappearances.

Another islander vanishes, Isabel and the local police chief, Tolo Cabot, have to hunt down a possible serial killer using their unorthodox investigative skills. With a ticking clock, they urgently must find answers and restore harmony to the island once more.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anna Nicholas

Leave a Reply