Book Notification

Barry Finlay Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jake Scott Mystery Books

Searching For Truth (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guardians of Truth (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Marcie Kane Books

The Vanishing Wife (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Perilous Question (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Remote Access (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never So Alone (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burden of Darkness (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Kilimanjaro and Beyond (With: Chris Finlay) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Guess We Missed The Boat (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Barry Finlay is a published Canadian author of fiction as well as non-fiction.

Before he became an author, Finlay used to work in a different field. Barry had a career working as an accountant in the field of financial management. He was employed for thirty-two years by the federal government of Canada, occupying different financial roles as part of his job. He retired officially in 2004. He has remained active since retirement, choosing to play golf, be a consultant on financial policy, climbed mountains, pursued philanthropy and spent time with his grandchildren.

Barry’s life changed in 2009 when he decided that he was going to attempt to climb Mount Kilimanjaro along with Chris, his son. Together they made the journey and climbed the highest mountain in Africa. Barry was sixty years old at the time. He had set a goal and reached it, giving him immense satisfaction. The climb also combined with their efforts to raise funds for children living in Tanzania.

The experience also generated a non-fiction book written along with his son, Chris Finlay. It would eventually be finished, and the travel memoir book was titled Kilimanjaro and Beyond: A Life-Changing Journey. The book was nominated for several awards, some of which it won. Barry also was featured in “50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading”.

The travel book set the stage for Barry to write another travel memoir. The second book included humorous tones and was titled I Guess We Missed The Boat. The non-fiction tome became a best seller on Amazon Kindle and was nominated for a Reader Views Literary Award in 2013 and 2014 in the category of travel, which it ended up winning. He would also receive the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee medal in 2013 for the philanthropic work that he did in Africa.

Barry is married to Evelyn, his wife. Together they reside in Ottawa, Canada.

Barry began composing the Marcie Kane series in 2014. The thriller collection began with the publication of the debut novel, The Vanishing Wife. The 2014 novel was then followed by the 2016 publication of the second in the series, A Perilous Question. Adding to the fictional series in 2018 was the third novel, Remote Access. A novella belonging to the series came out in 2019 titled Never So Alone. The next book, The Burden of Darkness, came out in 2020. The thrillers have all been best sellers on Kindle and each book has its own socially-relevant theme.

The first book in the series earned the author a Canada Book Award. The New Apple Literary Awards named it best e-book in the category of thriller/mystery. The sequel A Perilous Question also won the New Apple Literary Award in the e-book category for best thriller/suspense. It was also an Official Selection in the New Apple Book Awards of 2016 and a finalist for the Eric Hoffer Book Awards. Part of the books’ proceeds go to help Africa’s youth.

The Vanishing Wife is the first novel in the Marcie Kane series of fictional novels. In this story, readers get to meet the main character of Mason Seaforth for the first time. He’s about to find out what someone will do when it comes to protecting their family.

Mason gets the shock of his life one day on the exact date that he would have never thought would have brought him any bad things. Mason Seaforth is an accountant and mild by his nature. It’s his twentieth wedding anniversary. But that morning he wakes up and finds out something horrible: his wife is missing. Sami has just completely disappeared.

He looks at her computer, hoping that a search will yield some answers. As a result, he finds out about a buried secret past that she has managed to kept hidden for over two decades. Things are looking suspicious now, but Mason has no idea whether she’s been kidnapped or taken off from their home of her own accord. Something is not making sense here.

Mason gets in touch with Marcie Kane, someone that he and his wife were both friends with. Mason leads the charge on investigating what happened. That quest will eventually take them to a casino located in Quebec. The two are starting to find clues and get closer to find out where Sami could be.

The only problem is that the same could be said for a man named Aaron Marshall as well as “The Force”, also known as Greg Johnson, Aaron’s enforcer. The men have no problem doing the jobs that others would balk at, which includes killing the Seaforths so that Sami can have her secrets safe.

This means that Mason is in a race against time as well as against these two foes. He quickly finds out that he’s in a brand new world. One where he’s got to put his accounting personality and skills on hold and figure out how to handle a life full of danger and maybe even a gun, fast. Every decision that he’s making has consequences, and Mason knows that he’s this close to death and danger.

Can Mason save his family and himself? Or is he simply in too deep in a place where he doesn’t really belong? Read this book to find out!

A Perilous Question is the second novel in the Marcie Kane series.

Marcie Kane, the main character, is divorced, independent, and confident. She’s in Tanzania vacationing. Everything’s going fine but when going to a dorm that she helped to fund, that sense of peace is gone. A teen girl there asks her when she’s going to take her to America. It might seem harmless, but the question could be dangerous if she asked it to someone else.

Human trafficking is a very real threat, and organized crime means that these girls are at risk. Kane quickly finds out that not much later, the girl as well as her friend become victims of a trafficking ring. The real surprise is that it’s based out of Florida, her home state. She’s trying to help, but can she make a difference? Or is it too late? Read this book to find out what happens!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Barry Finlay

Leave a Reply