Book Notification

Barry S. Brown Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mrs. Hudson Of Baker Street Books

The Unpleasantness at Parkerton Manor (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson and the Irish Invincibles (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson in the Ring (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson in New York (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs Hudson's Olympic Triumph (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson Takes The Stage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Hudson and the Wild West (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Barry S Brown
Barry S. Brown was born in Brooklyn, New York. He can be found in Carolina Beach, North Carolina where he can be seen wearing a deerstalker hat and a cape, thereby exciting great curiosity and some police inquiry.

He prepared himself for the tough task of correcting the century of misinformation about Mrs. Hudson and the events at 221B Baker Street by pursuing a research career in the fields of drug abuse, mental health, and criminology. In this capacity he wrote over 175 chapters and articles and edited two works of non-fiction.

With his deductive skills that he has developed, he has been able to establish Mrs. Hudson’s role as the real sage of Baker Street. She who provided free lodgings to the sometime chemist, Sherlock Holmes, in exchange for his serving as the male figurehead essential to a business enterprise in Victorian England.

Barry’s debut novel, called “The Unpleasantness At Parkerton Manor”, was released in the year 2010. The series is from the genres of historical, humor, mystery, and comedy.

“The Unpleasantness At Parkerton Manor” is the first novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2010. The year is 1890. While one woman rules the entire British Empire, virtually all the other women rule over domains no bigger than their kitchens. Constable Tobias Hudson’s widow has got other plans and has made some of her own. She organized the first consulting detective agency, combining her own special powers of observation and vast knowledge of criminal investigation with the careful selection of a very essential male figurehead.

Sherlock Holmes has the bearing and language of a gentleman, and a haughty self-confidence which clients find reassuring. Together they are going to investigate Sir Stanley Parkerton’s death after he died after a family dinner where he had the same drink and food as the rest of the guests in attendance.

The Parkertons’ coachman, who knows too much and drinks too much, is also killed, the game is truly afoot. In order to solve this mystery, Mrs. Hudson and her colleagues have to sort through the intrigues of both family and staff. They also have to contend with the danger that is posed by the unexpected arrival of the White Rajah of Sarawak and headhunters’ sudden intrusion into the English countryside.

Barry successfully gives readers a refreshing view of the residents of 221B Baker Street. He is also rather convincing in his depiction of the characters in their brand new roles. Barry’s writing abilities makes for some highly suspense-filled and dramatic scenes mixed with an occasional wry sense of humor.

“Mrs. Hudson and the Irish Invincibles” is the second novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2011. Moira is certain that somebody is trying to murder her dad. She attempts recruiting Sherlock to save his life, however all at 221B Baker Street are sure that there is no basis at all for any of her fears. A bit later, they read of the guy’s death in some sleazy waterfront inn, the members of this premier consulting detective agency in London have a singular purpose and a new client.

Their investigation is going to place them at odds with Irish revolutionaries, religious zealots, Scotland Yard’s Special Branch, and the staff of the London Times even. Only Lestrade stays an ally, and he only dare participate in a covert manner with his frequent colleagues. Before all can be made right, the Baker Street trio have to call on the aid of Charles Stewart Parnell, who is the leader of the Irish Parliamentary Party, and Katharine O’Shea, his mistress.

“Mrs. Hudson in the Ring” is the third novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2013. Sherlock Holmes gets goaded into a boxing match, and his opponent, named Sailor Mackenzie, loses both the fight and his life. All except Mrs. Hudson and Holmes and Watson, her colleagues, are convinced the fighter’s death was an accident. The Baker Street trio travel to McLellan Manor out in Yorkshire to sort through the many people that have reason to celebrate Mackenzie’s death as well as the opportunity to cause it.

Making this investigation even more complicated, Watson and Holmes are asked to become the protectors of Lily Langtry, and Mrs. Hudson to be her lady’s maid. This is due to the famous beauty gets threatened by by her latest beau, George Baird the volatile. Before all is able to be resolved, Holmes is going to have to lead a séance where he’s going to call on one ghost to solve a murder from thirty-five years ago. Mrs. Hudson is going to find that she is in a surprising alliance with this Jersey Lily.

“Mrs. Hudson in New York” is the fourth novel in the “Mrs. Hudson of Baker Street” series and was released in the year 2015. Mrs. Hudson, accompanied by both Watson and Holmes, crosses the sea in order to attend her cousin’s daughter’s wedding. They disembark in order to find that the young woman’s fiance, who is a pitcher for the Brooklyn Bridegrooms, stands accused on an attempted murder of J.P. Morgan and the death of his aide.

The ballplayer, who was a self-declared enemy of Morgan and the rest of the robber barons, ran from the scene of the crime. When he was captured, he was found possessing a gun that had two spent cartridges, the same amount and caliber as the one used in the attack.

Before any such wedding can be held, Mrs. Hudson leads the investigation, taking them to J. P. Morgan’s mansion and to the gambling dens of New York’s Tenderloin. With Samuel Clemens’ enthusiastic assistance, Morgan’s hesitant aide, and the cautious assistance of a leader of the African Broadway community, they are going to identify the financier’s attacker. They also have to frustrate the efforts to corrupt baseball, and rescue the prospective groom and bride from would-be hitmen. All before they head back to the comparative quiet of 221B baker Street.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Barry S. Brown

Leave a Reply