Book Notification

Bill Flockhart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of O.L.S. Books

Operation Large Scotch: O.l.s. (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
She's Not a Lovely Girl (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Joppa Rocks (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloody Scotland Book Festival / Vengeance In Valescure (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shots on Target (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

(Bio written by Bill – much appreciated Bill!)

I have lived in Edinburgh most of my life apart from 30 months in Johannesburg. I’m married to Joyce and have two sons Campbell & Grant. For most of my career I was a sales manager in banking.

Away from writing my other passion is golf but unfortunately my handicap has risen substantially over the last few years and I also swim regularly.

My reading was influenced by thriller writers Alistair McLean,Frederick Forsyth and Wilbur Smith and I try to reflect their style into my writing. I have taken on board advice given by leading authors to stick to subjects familiar to you. I used my experience of working in a whisky distillery for eight years to produce my first novel ‘Operation Large Scotch’.

It was only after retiring that I decided to take up writing, but disbanded my book for 18 months until I developed a pinprick of blood coming from my brain which required a small procedure. Thankfully I have fully recovered but it made me think ‘I better finish this before it’s too late!’

I surprised everyone by producing my first novel ‘Operation Large Scotch’ without anyone knowing I was writing it. After all, nobody expects a debut novel to come from a 71 year old! I now have the writing bug and three other books have followed. I am currently working on Book 5 which I will publish in 2023.

My publications (on Amazon /Kindle) to date are:-

‘Operation Large Scotch’, a fast moving thriller, which commences in 1982. about a boy who witnesses a botched ambush resulting in seven corpses, three of whom have been shot by their own commanding officer! The boy is sent to live with his mother in South Africa for his own safety but returns to Northern Ireland for the funeral of his father who has been assassinated by the IRA. Three years later the Good Friday Agreement leads to a disgruntled IRA cell deciding to target and destroy large sections of the Scotch whisky industry unless the British Government agreed to pay their £20m ransom demand.

‘She’s Not A Lovely Girl’ is a sequel to O.L.S. which deals with MI6’s attempt to find a female Irish terrorist Mhairi McClure, who escaped capture and disappeared into thin air despite global searches. Mhairi, a computer genius with degrees from Oxford and Harvard features in all my books.She is a ruthless killer sought after by the IRA , MI6 and the Vatican’s Swiss Guards.

‘Joppa Rocks’ was nominated at the 2021 Bloody Scotland Book Festival.
The plot concerns a battered MI6 agent whose body is washed up on Joppa Rocks in Edinburgh, thousands of miles from where she was last seen. Richard Hartley wants to avenge her death and sends two agents to Germany to investigate which results in them entering into the murky world of drug trafficking and white slave trading.

‘Vengeance in Valescure’, MI6 have been monitoring the ‘Arab Spring’ which has brought about changes in the political map of North Africa and a potential long -term threat to the European mainland.
They have uncovered a Russian-backed arms dealership at Valescure in the South of France who are supplying weapons to enemies of the West. A team is dispatched to Valescure with the remit to infiltrate the Russian operation and destroy it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Bill Flockhart

4 Responses to “Bill Flockhart”

  1. Bill Flockhart: 1 year ago

    Hello Alan
    Thanks for your kind review of ‘Operation Large Scotch’ which Graeme kindly allowed me to put on the website. I enjoy writing which I only took up when I retired as it keeps the brain active. Hope you enjoy ‘She’s Not A Lovely Girl’ my sequel to ‘Operation Large Scotch’. Some critics have said they would make a good two part television series so I live in Hope!

    Bill Flockhart

  2. Alan Paterson: 1 year ago

    I purchased Operation Large Scotch for my Kindle on a whim, based solely on your recommendation. An absolute delight, finished it in two days! Lovely plot, lovely writing.I am so impressed with Bill Flockhart. A first novel from an author almost exactly my age? I am frankly jealous! She’s Not a Lovely Girl is already downloaded. Thank you very much for pointing him in my direction.

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      That is awesome to hear. Thanks Alan 🙂 Love this sort of feedback.

    • Bill Flockhart: 1 year ago

      Hello Alan
      Thank you very much for your kind words. You are never too old to keep your brain ticking over so why not have a go at writing.


Leave a Reply