Book Notification

Blacktop Cowboys Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Blacktop Cowboys Books

As a USA Today and New York best-selling author, Lorelei James is an exceptional writer with several best-selling series under her name. She is famously known for several Romantic westerners such as the Blacktop Cowboy series and the Rough Riders series. Furthermore, several of her works have been nominated for several awards such as the Romantic Times choice reviewers and the CAPA awards where they won their respective categories. Currently, Lorelei James lives I South Dakota with her family.


Corralled is the first book in the Blacktop cowboy series. The main character in this series, Lanie Capshaw is dating two men at the same time. Since she has not promised monotony to any of these men, she feels that she is not doing anything wrong. She is scared that when it comes to choosing, she will not be able to choose either one of them as she loves all of them. Lanie met them while working for both the Extreme Bull showcase and the Cowboy Rodeo Association. While working for the CRA, Lanie met first with Hank, who is a Bull fighter. Their relationship began on a slow note but as time went by it developed into something substantial. A few years later, she met with Kyle, who was the extreme opposite of Hank and things kicked off from the very first date. As the story develops, Lanie comes to realize that both Hank and Kyle are the very best of friends when they both show up at her door together.

Saying that both Kyle and Hank are shocked to find out they have been dating the same person will be an understatement. Since they are both competitive, each of them wants her for themselves. Hank has been working for the CRA while Kylie had just joined the Cowboy Rodeo Association. Hence, they are going to be on the same circuit together. For the subsequent three weeks, they come up with a plan since they will be travelling together. Since they are both interested in the same girl, they decide to bring Lanie with them. While conversing with both Kylie ad Hank, Lanie makes it crystal clear to them that she cannot choose between them. Being the gentlemen that they are, they both respect Lanie’s decision.

Saddled and Sparred

After being involved in a fatal accident where he broke his hip, Bran Tunner has no other option than to acquire the services of a house help. Several days after placing the advertisement, no one responds hence he is on his own. In this book, we are also introduced to one, Harper Masterson, who has just been fired from work where she worked as a part time salonist. She desperate needs money so that she can be able to fund her sister’s college tuition. For Harper, there are no job opportunities since everyone is making her pay for her mother’s mistakes. Through a friend, Harper is hired by bran so that she can assist him during the calving period which apparently coincided with her sister’s high school graduation. Like any other employer, Bran has several preconceived notions about Harper and how he thinks she is going to act. Nonetheless, as time goes by Bran discovers that there are a lot of things that he does not know about the former miss Sweet Grass. As time goes by they get used to each other and become the very best of friends.

As one of the main character, Harper is very sweet, caring, funny, unselfish and very likable. Despite these, she is also far from perfect and insecure. Harper is not the stereotypical main character that many people are used to. Likewise, Bran is also not the stereotypical romance male character or hero. Just like Harper, Bran is in every way real. With that being said, Lorelei James has managed to make all the characters in this series unique and life like. Their insecurities are very evident, and that is what makes this story more realistic and believable than other romantic novels. Since this is the second book in the series, you will most definitely reunited with the characters in the first book. All in all, this book is a great example of an outstanding romantic novel, great story-line and exceptional characters.

Wrangled and Tangled

Wrangled and Tangled is the third book in the blacktop Cowboy Series and features a number of sexy cowboys whom the fans have fallen In love with. When they were young, Abe ad Janie fell I love though they were not ready to deal with the responsibilities of life. Apart from running a ranch, Janie was also expected to take care of Abe’s younger siblings. Since much was expected of her, she decided that it was the high time she left. As time wet, by both Janie and Abe had to live with the regrets of a failed relationship despite the fact that they had both moved on with their lives. When presented with the chance of renewing their love, Abe does not hesitate ad takes the bull by the horns. He is more than determined to win over, Janie’s heart which should be easy because she stills feels the same way she did before. Throughout the book, Abe and Janie talk about their needs ad also try to remember what made them fall in love the first place.

Learning from their mistakes I the past, they are more than determined to make it work and love each other like mature adults. Apart from Abe and Janie we are also introduced to one Renner Jackson, who happens to be the proprietor of the Split Rock ranch. Apart from having a great dream of running a successful gust ranch, he also loves his piece of land. However, his dreams can only come true if he gets access to a certain amount of money. While looking for the startup capital, he falls in love with the daughter of the man who loaned him money. Unlike the previous installments, this book is not as emotionally deep. This can be attributed to the fact that the book focuses no two couples rather than one. All in all, this is a great read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Blacktop Cowboys

Leave a Reply