Book Notification

Chris Ewan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Good Thief's Guide Books

The Good Thief's Guide to Amsterdam (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Paris (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Vegas (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Venice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Berlin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Thief's Guide to Christmas (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Safe House (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Line (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Tides (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Time Lost (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Window Breaks (As: C.M. Ewan) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Interview (As: C.M. Ewan) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House Hunt (As: C.M. Ewan) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Scarlett Point (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bodies in the Bookshop(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chris Ewan is one of the bestselling and critically acclaimed authors of mystery, crime fiction, and thriller novels, who hails from The United Kingdom. His written works have been labeled as truly compelling, thoroughly enjoyable, outstanding, and chilling, by various literary magazines. Some popular daily magazines have also hailed his books as crime writing and popular fiction at their best. In the year 2011, author Ewan was voted as one of the favorite British authors of America. Ewan is particularly well known for writing the Good Thief’s Guide novel series. The debut book of this mystery series went on to win the Long Barn Award and was released in as many as 13 countries of the world. The series comprises of a few more bestselling books that author Ewan wrote later in his writing career. In addition to the mystery series, he also writes standalone thriller books. The first one written by him is called Safe House. It became a number 1 bestseller in The United Kingdom and was also shortlisted for the prestigious Theakstons Peculiar Crime Book of the Year Prize. A couple of other thrillers written by Ewan include Dark Tides and Dead Line. He has even written a short story for Kindle Single, known as Scarlett Point. The latest thriller novel that author Ewan has written is the Long Time Lost, which was released in England by Faber and is expected to be published very soon in The United States by the Minotaur publication. Author Ewan was born on October 6, 1976 in Taunton, Somerset, UK. He completed his graduation from the Nottingham University and earned a degree in the field of American Studies.

Ewan also has a minor in the Canadian Literature. Following his graduation, author Ewan also received training as an attorney. During the course of his successful writing career, Ewan lived for a period of 11 years of Isle of Man. Recently, he has returned to his hometown in Somerset. Author Ewan is happily married and lives with his beautiful wife and a lovely daughter. Because of his fondness of dogs he has kept a Labrador, whom he treats as a member of his family. Author Ewan likes to spend most of his time writing his mystery books and short stories. Whenever he gets any spare time, he likes to indulge himself in creative activities as a means to get his mind off from the writing load. Throughout the course of his writing career, author Ewan has been nominated for numerous awards. One of his books is in the talks to be adapted into a television show by the Fox Studios production company for ABC. The Good Thief’s Guide series written by Chris Ewan is comprised of a total of 5 books, which were released between the years 2007 and 2012. This series follows that life story of the main characters named Charlie Howard and Victoria Newbury. Howard is depicted as a crime author/burglar, while his friend Victoria is shown as a literary agent. Howard likes to write caper novels’ series and resides in Vegas. The books of the series are set in different cities all over the world. Author Ewan began writing the series in the year 2007 and released its debut book in the same year. Currently, the series is still going on and author Ewan is expected to release a few more books very soon in the coming days.

The first book of the series was published under the title ‘The Good thief’s Guide to Amsterdam’. In the beginning, Charlie Howard is introduced as a suspense writer, who travels to different places and writes stories about a burglar called Faulks. In order to supplement his earnings, he deals in the side business of stealing things for different client to get commission. One such mysterious client from America offers Howard 20,000 euros for stealing a couple of monkey figurines as he already has one of them. At first, Howard feels suspicious about how the American was able to find him. He also suspects the job to be too good and does not think it is true. However, he agrees and becomes successful in carrying out the burglary. But, when he reaches his client the figurines, he finds him nearly beaten to death. Also, the 3rd figurine goes missing. Returning back to London, he meets his literary agent and friend Victoria Newbury. She seems to be very naive to believe that Howard looks like the photo in his jacket. She tries to inquire him about the plot problems going on in the manuscript being written by him as well as in his personal life. When Howard tries to answer her taking into account the recent happenings in his life, he realizes that he is entangled in a suspenseful plot like a movie of Cary Grant, involving menacing characters, safe deposit boxes, and a lovely damsel in distress.

The next novel released in this series is entitled “The Good Thief’s Guide to Paris”. It was released in 2008 by the Minotaur Books. Author Ewan has described the primary characters in this novel as Victoria Kitchen, Gerard Ames, Charlie Howard, Bruno Wisitzki, Nathan Farmer, Catherine Ames, Francesca Kelly, Paulo, etc. At the start of the story, Charlie Howard is once again depicted as a world traveling mystery author, professional thief and a bad decision maker. He visits Paris on the occasion of the grand success of his recent book reading. He takes up the offer of showing a full novice of breaking into a house in Marais, and also hopes to get his hands on the numerous wine glasses. Twenty four hours later, Howard gets hired for stealing a normal oil painting from the same address that he described in his book reading. Howard suspects it to be a mere coincidence, but thinks that there is no harm to go and find out. When he enters the house, he stumbles upon a dead body in the living room. Howard becomes very much worried and tries to evade the law. In the meantime, he finds himself caught in an outrageous heist. Victoria decides that they should indulge in a meeting face to face. Due to the sudden turn of events, Charlie begins to think that things are never going to come in control again. Just like the previous novel, this one too became a grand. It helped author Ewan to get praised from one and all for his efforts. The success als motivated him to develop a few more interesting mystery novels as part of the series. His success as a mystery books’ author, reached new heights following this novel’s success.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris Ewan

2 Responses to “Chris Ewan”

  1. Sandra: 5 months ago

    Chris Ewan also writes as C M Ewan.
    Titles published – A Window Breaks (2020), The Interview (2022), The House Hunt (2023).
    If you like a good thriller they are excellent reads.

    • Graeme: 5 months ago

      Thanks Sandra – I’ve made the connection in the database for those.


Leave a Reply