Book Notification

Chris Ould Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Street Duty Books

Knock Down (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Street (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Faroes Books

The Blood Strand (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Bay (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire Pit (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Chris Ould is a reputed novelist from the United Kingdom, who is famous for his mystery, suspense, crime fiction, and thriller novels. He has won a few prestigious awards for his excellent writings, including the BAFTA. In addition to writing novels as an author, Ould also works as a screenwriter. He has written for a number of popular English TV shows such as Soldier Soldier, Hornblower, The Bill, Casualty, etc. Author Ould has a particular interest in writing young adult crime stories. His two novel series, Street Duty and Faroes, are widely popular among the fans of mystery novels. Other than these two successful book series, author Ould is also known to have penned several stand alone novels in his literary career. Author Ould’s writing career is just a few years old, but he has managed to gain a lot of success in such a less amount of time. Many critics believe that he has been able to achieve so much of success and popularity only because of his hard work and self belief.

Author Ould is in contract with the Usborne publication for the release of several of his upcoming books. The same publishing company has published his earlier books as well. Over the course of his writing career, author Ould has come up with many uniquely interesting and intriguing stories. With such stories, he has successfully managed to gain the attention of the readers interested in mystery books. The readers also turned out in great numbers to read and appreciate his stories. They have given great reviews, praising the characters, settings, storyline, and the overall description of the stories by author Ould. Even the fellow writers of Ould and some prominent critics have appreciated his works with motivating comments. All of this has helped author Ould to a great extent. He has not only managed to come up with exciting stories one after the other, but also there has been a large increase in his self-confidence. Ould thinks he has grown as an author and has seen many positive outcomes. He hopes to continue writing many more exciting books for many upcoming years and keep entertaining his fans for as long as he can. Currently, author Ould is working on the development work of his next couple of novels and he is expected to release them soon for his fans to read and enjoy. Ould lives a happily married life and likes to spend his spare times in the company of his family members.

A highly popular book series written by author Chris Ould is known as the Faroes series. This series is comprised of a total of 3 books, which were released between the years 2016 and 2018. All the books in this trilogy series feature the chief protagonist in the role of Jan Reyna. Author Ould has described that Jan Reyna belonged to the Faroes since his birth, but his mother took him away when he was 3 years old. And after Jan Reyna’s mother committed suicide, he got adopted by a family from England. Reyna is brought up by his new family and turns into a detective in a murder squad after growing up. After solving a few cases, Jan Reyna is asked to make a return to the islands following a stroke attack to his estranged father.

As Jan Reyna begins to head to his old home, he prepares himself to find out everything related to his past life and also figure out the reason behind his mother’s shocking decision of leaving the islands. Author Ould has done the setting of the plots of each of the books in England and the Faroe Islands. He has mentioned a number of important secondary characters, who play their parts very well and help to take the series forward. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘The Blood Strand’. It was released by the Titan Books publication in the year 2016. The lead characters of this book include Jan Reyna and Hjalti Hentze. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that following his exit from the Faroes during his childhood, Jan Reyna becomes a British detective. He now considers himself a foreigner to the islands.

After several years of parting ways with his father, Jan Reyna learns that he has been found unconscious in his home. Reyna also comes to know that a shotgun has been discovered beside him and another man’s blood on the floor. Some time later, a dead body washes up on a nearby beach. The investigating authorities think that Reyna’s father has something to do with the murder, but Reyna thinks his father is innocent. He begins to investigate the case on his own in order to get to the bottom of the mystery and prove his father’s innocence. He comes in contact with a local detective named Hjalti Hentze. The stakes keep getting higher and Jan Reyna feels the need to solve the mystery as soon as possible or else it might be too late to do anything for his father. During the investigation, Jan Reyna discovers many facts and realities related to his family. He also becomes aware of the real reason why her mother took off from the islands. Now, he finds himself in a situation where he must decide between staying back and facing the outcome of the investigation or move out and forsake the windswept, strange islands forever.

Another exciting installment of the series is called ‘The Killing Bay’. It was also published by the Titan Books in 2017. Once again, the central characters are shown as Hjalti Hentze and Jan Reyna. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that some international activists visit the Faroes with the intention of putting a stop to the traditional hunting of whales. This causes a high tension between the protestors and the islanders. Then, a deeply violent confrontation takes place between the two groups after which a viciously murdered body of a woman is discovered. It looks like the circumstances were designed purposely for increasing the animosity between the islanders and the protestors, and it resulted in the killing of an innocent woman. Jan Reyna & Hjalti Hentze team up again to look into the case’s investigation. Very soon, they learn that the woman’s murder has more sinister aspects. The two begin to look for the hidden crucial evidence that can help them to catch the killer. As Reyna and Hjalti don’t know any of the people involved in the murder case, they do not feel like trusting anyone. They believe in their instincts and move ahead to trace the murderer, and prevent him from killing other innocent people.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Chris Ould

Leave a Reply