Book Notification

Cooper Creek Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cooper Creek Books

Gail Gaymer Martin
The Cowboy's Holiday Blessing (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bull Rider's Baby (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rancher's Secret Wife (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cowboy's Healing Ways (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cowboy Lawman (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cowboy's Christmas Courtship (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cowboy's Reunited Family (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Single Dad Cowboy (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Cooper Creek is a series of novels authored by Brenda Minton the American author that made a name for herself writing romantic novels set in the American Midwest. Minton grew up on a farm in the Ozarks, which has given her the spectacular perspective of life, love, and romance in the country, that she so eloquently paints in the Cooper Creek series. The series of novels is centered on the Cooper family of Oklahoma, with a different family member taking the lead in each novel. The first novel in the series was “The Cowboys Holiday Blessing” that Minton first published in 2011 to rave reviews. With the first novel going on to achieve massive success soon after publication, it spawned several more titles in the still ongoing series. The ninth title in the series “Christmas Gifts: Small Town Christmas\Her Christmas Cowboy” was a collaboration between Minton and romance Gail Gaymer Martin, that was just as successful as her solo endeavor. With her sharp memory and keen eye for details, Minton writes vivid descriptions of the Oklahoma settings and colorful characters full of life and zest, despite their struggles and intrigues. Given that each of the novels in the series have different members of the family as the lead, the books can be read in any order. The Cooper Creek series are a compelling portrayal of life and romance in the American Mid-West, with a touch of some contemporary themes such as the role of the family and society in an individual’s life.

The strongest point of the Cooper Creek mysteries is its character portrayals. After writing some of the most enthralling of characters in her Cowboy and Martins Crossing series of novels, Brenda Minton writes even better one in the Cooper mysteries. The heroines and heroes of the series stand out in that they become what we expect them to become as they get stronger over the course of the narrative. Right off the bat in the first novel of the series “The Cowboy’s Holiday Blessing”, the novels introduce characters who deal with issues of community and family, yet manage to be full of life and humor to spice up the narrative. The lead characters in the series have at one time or another lost some loved one that has severely impacted them. The pain and suffering has made them either become stronger such that they give their all in love or refuse to love as they become emotionally stuck. Most of the heroes are embodied by the lead character in the first novel in the series Jackson who lost his mother while he was but a baby, and thus became highly sensitive to the suffering of others in a similar predicament. The leads provide drama and emotion to the plots as they learn lessons of forgiveness and coping with life, even as they mature over the course of the narrative. The heroines and heroes of the series make for fine characters dealing with current challenges and past hurts, while coming out with love and growth on the other side.

Set in the American Midwest, the Cooper Creek contemporary romance for the most part takes place in a small Oklahoma town. It is a Christian contemporary romance and hence themes of family are intermingled with the drama of romance and love between some of the most interesting of characters. With its author being a staunch Christian, the themes of parenthood, altruism, forgiveness, love and the definition and importance of the family unit come in heavy in the narrative plots. The contemporary romance series is very intense, but without the usual explicit romantic scenes. Right from the very first novel, romance is a very strong component, particularly when it seems to arise from some unforeseen calamity. Our heroes and heroines seem to have been blinded to love having experienced some traumatic loss. For instance, Keeton and Sophie lose their families and go their separate ways, only to meet years later unable to love, despite the inexplicable strong attraction between them. Most of the novels in the series also deal with issues of masculinity and the role of the man in the family and the role of the family. For most of the men such as Keeton, being a man means trying your very best to be responsible. It also does mean associating with masculine leaning occupations that call for demonstration of independence, bravery, and skill. However, as the narratives progress, the definition of masculinity is challenged with love, courage, and loyalty being pushed as the most important.

“The Cowboy’s Holiday Blessing” the first in the Cooper Creek series of novel is an enthralling novel featuring the eldest of the Cooper family Jackson Cooper. Jackson is a reformed societal rebel with a mean streak, who believes he can take anything thrown at him. He is sleeping soundly one early morning when a brooding teenage girl accompanied by the school teacher Madeline arrive at his door claiming that he is the girl’s father. Even as he is sure that it is impossible that her claims could not be true, he is full of pity for the girl and takes her in. However, he is bright enough to know that there is no way he could take care of the child alone, and hence asks Madeline Patton for help. Even as both Maddie and Jackson have their own secret fears, they soon find themselves falling in love in the midst of instant parenthood. As they are thrust into parenthood and work to set up a foster home, they might just find the love they have been avoiding all these years.

“The Bull Rider’s Baby” is another charming novel in the series. Keeton West had always considered himself a confirmed bull rider and bachelor who lived out of a suitcase. Suddenly, he is thrust into fatherhood when he goes back home to find that an old flame had had a child by him just before he left town, and now was nowhere to be found. He seeks out Sophie Cooper who as it turns out had also had her heart broken by a bull rider. As is to be expected, Sophie wants nothing to do with him, having already been hurt once before. But Keeton West and his cute little bundle have knocked her off kilter and hard as she may fight it, she knows that it is a losing battle that love and a cute little baby may just win. Will falling in love create the family that the little girl deserves, and which Keeton and Sophie never had a chance to enjoy?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Cooper Creek

Leave a Reply