Book Notification

David Healey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Caje Cole / World War II Books

Chronological Order of Caje Cole / World War II Books

Publication Order of Civil War Books

Publication Order of Delmarva Renovators Mystery Books

The House That Went Down with the Ship (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House That Kicked Up Its Hooves On Halloween (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House That Got A Lump of Coal For Christmas (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Pacific Sniper Books

Publication Order of Rehoboth Beach Books

Publication Order of The Sea Lord Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sharpshooter (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time Reich (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
That Summer with Nicola (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Anthem (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

Pirate Moon & Other Stories (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

1812: Rediscovering Chesapeake Bay's Forgotten War (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Delmarva Legends and Lore (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Great Storms of the Chesapeake (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

David Healey is an American teacher, journalist, and historical fiction author. He has written several non-fiction works and historical thrillers in the “Civil War,” “Sea Lord Chronicles,” “Delmarva Renovators Mystery,” “World War II,” and “Rehoboth Beach” among several single standing novels. His essays and articles have been published in a variety of magazines such as the “Delmarva Quarterly,” “The Washington Times,” “Out & About,” “American History,” “Chesapeake Bay Magazine,” “Running Times,” and “Blue & Gray.” Before he wrote his novels, he had worked for more than two decades as a newspaper editor and reporter where he won several awards for editorial and feature writing from the Suburban Newspaper Association and the DC Press Association from Maryland-Delaware. He is currently serving on the Eastern Shore Writers’ Association which is a body that was formed to promote writing and the interests of writers on the Delmarva Peninsula. He is a contributing editor to The Bill Thrill magazine and as an author is a member of the International Thriller Writers. He is also a frequent speaker on writing topics and regional history. In 2011, the St Mary’s College of Maryland recognized him as a Chaney Visiting Scholar.

Healey went to Washington College for his undergraduate studies and graduated from the University of Southern Maine with an MFA before going on to become a faculty member. He had always wanted to become an author and as a child, he was always reading and writing stories, which he believes gave him a good foundation for his later career. His career as an editor and writer for newspapers and magazines has also had a lot of influence in his authoring career. Working with the magazines, he got to learn how to write stories quickly in an environment where one was never allowed to complain of writers’ block. He also learned how to work in a noisy environment and to take criticism for his work. For a long time, he loved his job and thought himself a very important person. Nonetheless, he always wanted to become an author and it was not long before he started penning a manuscript for his first novel. He published his first novel “Sharpshooter in 1999.” However, it was not until he found Esther Perkins the agent who taught him the difference between writing fiction that would go viral and just stories that nobody wanted to read that he started to have some measure of success. His career took off when he published “First Voyage,” the first of the “Sea Lord Chronicles” in 2012.

David Healey is a lover of history, which is probably the reason he made his debut with the novel “Sharpshooter.” It was a novel about the attempt at the assassination of Ulysses Grant, a General during the American Civil War. He did a ton of research on the events of the Civil War and was a reenactor of many events of the Civil War including Gettysburg and other important battle locations. The result was a Dean Koontz or Tom Clancy like novel, full of all kinds of intrigue. Healey brought the same passion for history and research into his later novels such as “Red Sniper,” “Ardennes Sniper,” and “Ghost Sniper.” During his more than two decades as a journalist, he had been lucky to have the chance to sit down with many veterans that spearheaded the landing on Omaha Beach on D Day 1944. Some of the characters and events that he got from his interviews would later find their way into his novels. In addition to his fictional works, he has also penned works on regional history such as “Great Storms of the Chesapeake” and “Rediscovering Chesapeake Bay’s Forgotten War.” When he is not writing his novels, he may be found working on his ancient farmhouse, running, and pulling over to read roadside markers, which often drives his family crazy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Healey

One Response to “David Healey”

  1. Ron Fields: 2 years ago

    I read all of the Ghost Sniper books and all the e civil war books in order and they were outstanding. I just finished Time Reich and could not put it down. All the e novels are a classic work of art.


Leave a Reply