Book Notification

David Lagercrantz Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Millennium Books

with Stieg Larsson, Karin Smirnoff
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (By: Stieg Larsson) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Played with Fire (By: Stieg Larsson) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (By: Stieg Larsson) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Spider's Web (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Lived Twice (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Eagle's Talons (By: Karin Smirnoff) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rekke & Vargas Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fall of Man in Wilmslow (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

David Lagercrantz is a Swedish journalist and author. he is best known for writing the later books in the The Girl in the Spider’s Web series. He also wrote I am Zlatan Ibrahimović, a sports biography, that was a tremendous seller that sold over 500,000 copies in just six weeks in his native country of Sweden.

Lagencrantz is from the town of Solna, Stockholm. Solna is an urban municipality that is home to many major businesses. The area may be best known to some as the home of the final matches of both the 1958 FIFA (men’s) World Cup and the 1995 FIFA Women’s World Cup. He was born to Olof Lagercrantz and Martina Ruin. His father was a literary scholar and his mother was a publicist so words were always a major part of his life. His sister Marika Lagencrantz is an actress and diplomat. David is married with three children.

He would go on to study philosophy and religion at university before graduating from the Gothenburg school of journalism. He would go straight to work after college and quickly began his career at the regional newspaper Sundsvalls Tidning where he took a job as a crime reporter. His success on this beat would eventually lead him to working for the national daily newspaper Expressen. While working there he covered many of the top cases in the country. His writing was most notable when he wrote about the Åmsele murders which he later turned into a book.

David made his breakthrough as a novelist with the release of Fall of Man in Wilmslow. The book was about the death of British mathematician Alan Turing and a young detective’s investigation of it. The book ended up translated into over fifteen different languages with numerous positive reviews and sales worldwide.

Lagencrantz got a huge break in his career when he was selected by Norstedts publishing company to pick up writing of the Millenium series. The series, written by Stieg Larsson, began with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and had three books in the series before the death of Larsson. Instead of letting the series end there, Lagencrantz picked up the mantle and began writing the series. He wrote the fourth novel, The Girl in the Spider’s Web, and then followed that up with The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye and The Girl Who Lived Twice. He received a lot of positive reviews for The Girl in the Spider’s Web as it was named one of the best thrillers of the year by Esquire magazine and was short-listed for the 2016 Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year.

The Girl in the Spider’s Web ended up being adapted into a film with Claire Foy starring as main character Lisbeth Salander. At the time, it was the second book in the series to be adapted into a film. Lagercrantz was also charitable with the money he made from writing as he donated €100,000 of his profits from The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye to Läsrörelsen, an organization working for children’s and youth’s readership. He would also donated €50,000 to a foundation for training investigative journalists in Sweden known as Grävfonden.

The story of that book picks up after the events of the previous books. Lisbeth is the hacker and Blomkvist is a journalist. One night Blomkvist gets a call from a source who is offering vital information to the U.S. The source says they have been in contact with a hacker that sounds rather familiar to Blomkvist. To get the scoop, Blomkvist turns to Lisbeth for help. However, she has her own reasons for trying to chase down this secret. The case finds them as the center of a tangled web with someone willing to kill to protect the secrets they want to uncover.

Book Series In Order » Authors » David Lagercrantz

6 Responses to “David Lagercrantz”

  1. Robert Becker: 2 years ago

    agree. have read the first 6 when will we see number 7 and possibly number 8 at least after all it has been almost 4 years since number 6 was issued

  2. Fiona Head: 2 years ago

    I have read all 6 books loved them all. Just wish the other 4 could be wyitten

  3. Annie: 2 years ago

    Loved all the books. DL writes slightly differently to SL but still very entertaining. Salander is a fascinating mix.

  4. Paul Gervason: 2 years ago

    I have just finished reading the first 2 of the Salander Novels by larsson and have the 3Rd on order and am looking ahead to continuing with the Lagercranz 3 novels. I hope he writes at least a tth Salander since i am captured by the Salander character.

  5. John Dandy: 3 years ago

    Just finished the girl in the spiders web and read earlier millennium series ones.

    • Ann Henderson: 3 years ago

      I have read all of the series series except for the last book
      I completely love every single book and the wonderful strength of Lisbeth Salander and the open-mindedness and determination of Blomkvist just Cannot get enough of 5he stories and characters.


Leave a Reply