Book Notification

DC Connie Childs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DC Connie Childs Books

In Bitter Chill (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Thaw (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Patient Fury (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shrouded Path (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Apart from being a blogger, Sarah Ward is also a crime fiction author, reader, and reviewer. Ever since she was young Sarah Ward has always been an ardent fan of the crime fiction genre. Some of the books that she read when she was around five years old include The Famous Five and Nancy Drew. During her teen years, Agatha Christie followed PD James and Ruth Rendell. Later on, she began reading the works of Sue Grafton, Sra Paretsky, and Minette Walters. Sarah Ward is famously known for the books, A Deadly Thaw and In Better Chill, which is all set in her hometown of Derbyshire County, where she lives in. Minataur Books, Faber, and Faber Publishers publish all of her books.

Apart from penning down crime fiction, Sarah Ward also has a literary blog, Crime Pieces that she uses to review some of the best performing books. Furthermore, she has also had the opportunity of reviewing at EuroCrime, Los Angles Review of Books and Crime Squad. Some of her short stories and articles have been featured in Traveller, Sunday Express Magazines, and several other publications. Ward is also a judge at the annual, Petrona Award that is normally to award the best Scandinavian Novel.

In Bitter Chill

When two young girls in Derbyshire county were kidnapped in the year 1978, one managed to escape while the other girl was never found. 30 years down the line, two deaths occur that are going to finally unlock the exceedingly dark secrets from the past as well as the soul of a tightly knit community. In the first installment, DC Connie Childs, In Better Chill is an exceedingly disturbing tale about loss, family, as well as the fallout from personal trauma. Sarah Wards thrilling mix of suspense, mystery, detective work and superb characterisation, set against the dramatic backdrop of Peak District, comes with acumen, complete fluidity and promise of what feels like a seasoned writer. The author, Sarah Ward resides in the middle of the undulating upland gritstone of the peaks as well as its atmospheric locations is just one of the main players in a spellbinding tale which weaves together past and present with precision, flair, and a rather keen intelligence.

In the year 1978, the small rural town of Bampton in Derbyshire County was not only left shocked but appalled as well by the kidnapping of two 8-year-old girls one January morning as they were walking from school. A few days later, one of the girls was found alive and breathing. The only challenge was that she could not remember what had happened as well as any important detail about the abductor. Sophie, the daughter of a divorcee, was never found at all. Thirty years down the line, Yvonne Jenkins, whose life had been frozen in time ever since the kidnapping happened is found dead at Bampton Hotel, on the same day that her daughter had gone missing. Yvonne’s death is ruled as suicide. Meanwhile, Rachel Jones has tried to put everything behind her including her past. Rachel is a genealogist, whose work revolves around digging into family trees. By doing this Rachel can put her memories as well as her family history aside.

However, news of Yvonne’s suicide reopens fresh wounds and one Superintendent Llewellyn, who during the 1978 case was an exceedingly young constable, asks Francis Saddler and his entire team to take a look at the kidnapping to see whether the modern methods are going to give the case a breakthrough or something that the previous team had missed before. However, in spite of everything, Saddler is more than convinced that a much more recent event is what triggered Yvonne’s suicide. A few days later a former teacher, who used to serve at the girl’s school is found dead. It is at this point that Rachel realizes that she must assist the police in the investigation so that they find out what happened many years ago.

With that said, In Better Chill not only features an exceedingly complex and complex plot that is loaded with fascinating psychological insights, emotive issues, a gripping police procedural and a pervasive sense of uneasiness. The author’s cast of outstanding characters from the victims to the police officers have been powerfully portrayed. With that said, this an exceedingly chilling story about the well-concealed secrets, a legacy of past crimes and redemptive search for truths that are going to heal the scars of damaged lives. The author, Sarah Ward is an observant and perceptive author, who explores the subject of how far one should go to protect their child, haunting experiences of the survivor trapped within the prisons of their memories and the effect of crime on families.

A Deadly Thaw

A Deadly Thaw is the second book in the DC Connie Childs book series. In A Deadly Thaw, A Man is found freshly murdered in this highly suspenseful mystery from Sarah Ward. Lena is found guilty of killing her husband who was found dead in their bed. Lena Grey offers no defense and even gets to serve 14 years behind bars. However, several months after her release, her husband is once again found, freshly killed inside a disguised morgue. This, in turn, brings to question the identity of the man that she had murdered. Also, why would Lena Grey lie about the man’s identity? Detective Francis Sadler and his team try to find out how a well-orchestrated deception would have taken place without anyone noticing. The protagonist, DC Connie Childs is more than convinced that there was so much more to the killings than marital strife.

However, before Lena could be questioned father, the lady vanishes without a trace. Lena’s sister is more than shocked about her sister’s duplicity. However, it does not take long before she begins to receive packages from a mysterious man who claimed to know about her sister’s whereabouts. In the process, Kat is drawn into the investigation so that she can get to learn about her family history. With that said, if you love British mysteries, then A Deadly Thaw is a must read. Just like the first book In Better Chill, A Deadly Thaw can be read as a standalone.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DC Connie Childs

Leave a Reply