Book Notification

Debbie Richard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Memoirs

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Debbie Richard is listed in the Directory of Poets & Writers as both a poet and creative nonfiction writer. Debbie was born in Parkersburg, WV, and grew up in rural Wirt County where she attended a two-room school through elementary grades and graduated as a member of the National Honor Society in high school.

She graduated from West Virginia Career College with honors in 1987 and moved to South Carolina three years later, following her love of the ocean. An avid reader since childhood, Debbie dabbled in writing in high school but started writing seriously in 2009 while full-time caregiver for her mother.

Watching her mother’s failing health between 2009 and her passing in 2011, Debbie found writing a means of healing. She hopes her writing will cause others to feel something, to move them in some way.

Crosswinds, Debbie’s new volume of poetry, is available now to pre-order from Finishing Line Press through September 24, 2021 and ships November 19, 2021 in time for Holiday Gift-Giving.

Praise for Crosswinds:

Debbie Richard’s collection Crosswinds is aptly named, as the poems examine the constant tensions between the superficial and what lies beneath. Tranquil and beautiful nature contrasts with all the turmoil and uncertainty of people’s lives; our inner world is often at great odds with the outer one. But Richard urges us to always “Look skyward toward the heavenly light.”

~Rita Sims Quillen, author of WAYLAND and SOME NOTES YOU HOLD, is a three-time Pushcart Prize nominee, a songwriter, and musician, and the recipient of the Outstanding Poetry Book of the Year by the Appalachian Writers Association.

Debbie’s illustrated volume of poetry, PIVOT, was released in January 2019 by Adelaide Books of New York and received an Honorable Mention in the 2019 New York Book Festival Awards for Poetry. PIVOT received a Readers’ Favorite 5-Star Review.

Debbie’s Appalachian memoir, Hills of Home, was released in 2014 by eLectio Publishing of Little Elm, TX. Hills of Home is filled with light-hearted adventures, coming-of-age romances, pie socials, county fairs, older brother pranks, frog gigging, chicken canning, persimmon picking, porch sitting, and reunion going.

Readers will discover people who are fiercely independent, hardworking, have a love for family, and a keen sense of loyalty to neighbors. Most of all, readers will find gracious friends, families, and neighbors who help one another in times of need, a quality which has proved sufficient to preserve their way of life in the hills.

Hills of Home won Runner-Up in the San Francisco Book Awards 2019 for Biography/Autobiography and received a Readers’ Favorite 5-Star Review.

Praise for Hills of Home:

“I think the book is a valuable detailed and most honest documentation of a part of Appalachia that has not been celebrated so well until now.”
~Earl Hamner, Jr., bestselling author of Spencer’s Mountain and creator of the beloved The Waltons television series

Debbie spends time between her home state of West Virginia and the beautiful coast of South Carolina. Visit her website:

Book Series In Order » Authors » Debbie Richard

Leave a Reply