Denise Mina Books In Order

Publication Order of Garnethill Books

Garnethill (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Exile (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Resolution (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Paddy Meehan Books

The Field Of Blood (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Dead Hour (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Slip of the Knife/The Last Breath (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of John Constantine, Hellblazer Books

Empathy is the Enemy (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Red Right Hand (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Alex Morrow Books

Still Midnight (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The End of the Wasp Season (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gods and Beasts (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Red Road (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blood Salt Water (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Millennium: The Graphic Novels Books

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo Book 1 (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Book 2 (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Girl Who Played with Fire (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sanctum/Deception (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Long Drop (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Conviction (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Less Dead (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Every Seven Years (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

IDP (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Crimespotting(2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bloody Scotland(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Denise Mina is an author that wears many different hats. She could be considered a jack of all trades in the entertainment world, which can easily be seen through her extensive work in the field. She has done everything from authoring fully fledged novels to short stories to documentaries to even writing for a comic book, Hellblazer. It is not hard to like Denise Mina as a person or an author because her candor is top-notch, which can be seen from her many interviews. Denise Mina is an author on a stage all her own.

Denise Mina was born in Glasgow in 1966. From there she moved time and time again, having to call a new city home yearly, if not less than that. She moved a total of 21 times in 18 years, all due to her father’s job as an engineer, which forced them to follow the North Sea oil boom in Europe of the 1970s.

Denise Mina left school at the age of 16 and bounced around from job to job, each one providing very little pay. She has been everything from a barmaid to working in a meat factory. Denise Mina finally settled on auxiliary nursing. But like early years of moving from place to place, she continued to move from job to job. Until at the age of 21 she passed exams and got to study law at Glasgow University.

There Denise Mina taught criminology and criminal law while at the same time trying to complete her thesis on the subject of mental illness for female offenders. While staying home, supposedly to write her thesis, the author in Denise Mina was born. Instead of writing a thesis, Denise Mina wrote a novel, Garnethill.

Garnethill was published in 1998 by Transworld and it went on to win the Crime Writers Association John Creasy Dagger for the best first crime novel and later spawned two sequels. Another standalone novel followed quickly after that, Deception, and Denise Mina had found the career she was born to do.

Since then Denise Mina has wrote for the Hellblazer comic for a year, started another two series of novels, she has written a number of plays that have gone on to receive acclaim, as well as she has just started to adapt the Steig Larsson Millennium Trilogy into a set of graphic novels, with a total of six planned. Denise Mina also shoots documentaries in her spare time that air on BBC. Edgar Allen Poe: Love, Death and Woman was one of her recent documentary exploits.

Denise Mina’s talent seems to know no bounds, as she rises to every challenge she puts in front of herself. Truly becoming a breath of fresh air in the entertainment world, whether that be novels, television or short stories for the likes of BBC radio.

Denise Mina – Novels for us all

Denise Mina has produced over 30 distinctive works which have earned her critical acclaim, awards and award nominations.

Garnethrill, her first novel currently sits on many major book sites with thousands of reviews. The current review count on Goodreads is over 2700 for the novel. It follows Maureen O’Donnell, who wakes up to find her boyfriend murdered. She quickly becomes the prime suspect in the murder case, setting out to clear her name and find the real killer. This begins a trail of deception that in the end could clear her name or make her the next victim. Denise Mina creates a strong female lead, one that makes her readers identify with the character easily. She weaves the mystery throughout the book at a steady pace, straight through to its satisfying ending.

Denise Mina’s next series of novels following her Paddy Meehan character and starting with The Field of Blood, brings the same strong writing, mystery and great characters that she had been known for with the likes of Garnethrill. Paddy Meehan is a young professional journalist looking for her big break. She gets it when she finds out that one of her personal connections is a suspect in a murder case. From there she uncovers one line of deception after the other, peeling back the layers behind the mystery until the very end.

Her next series of novels with DS Alex Morrow as the lead character and starting with, Still Midnight, have also captured the attention of readers and Denise Mina’s growing fan base. In a bit of a shift from Denise Mina’s previous novels, Sill Midnight, is told from different viewpoints with everything centering around her female heroine, DS Alex Morrow. It was a bit of a different approach from Denise Mina’s previous works, but it seems to have paid off. The story unfolds when armed men invade a family home, shouting for a man that none of them have ever heard of. DS Alex Morrow must then uncover the truth, leading her to secrets than many would wish to stay buried. Once again proving to be another Denise Mina novel that grips the reader within its pages.

Readers of Denise Mina’s work know what to expect, a strong female lead, great characters, mysterious plots, relatable worlds and an enjoyable reading experience from beginning to end.

Denise Mina – In The Movies

Denise Mina’s books have created such a worldwide presence, that they were ripe for the movie business. The Field of Blood was quickly turned into a movie after its release and starred Jayd Johnstone, who won the 2011 BAFTA for best actress for her portrayal of Paddy Meehan in the movie.

The second book in the series, The Dead Hour, was filmed shortly after the first one in 2012 and aired in 2013, with a movie based on the third book in the Paddy Meehan series likely to follow. Each movie also co-starred David Morrissey of The Walking Dead fame, playing Murray Devlin.

Denise Mina – On The Horizon

Denise Mina has many credits to help name in all aspects of the entertainment business and shows no sign of stopping anytime soon. Her enthusiasm and creativity for work can be seen in all venues in which it is produced. As time goes on there is no doubt that Denise Mina will continue to produce wonderful works of entertainment for current fans and the many fans that are surely to come.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Denise Mina