Book Notification

DI Tanner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Tanner Books

By: David Blake

DI Tanner series by David Blake
Author David Blake writes the “DI Tanner” series of murder mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2019, when “Broadland” was released.

Set within the mysterious beauty in the Norfolk Broads, these fast paced British detective series are dark cozy mystery novels with a slice of humor and a bit of romance. These novels are sure to keep you guessing until the end, once the final shocking twist is revealed at last.

“Broadland” is the first novel in the “DI Tanner” series and was released in the year 2019. A girl’s body discovered mutilated by a boat’s propeller, another was dumped at the bottom of a slipway, and a disused Norfolk mill, which hides the secret to both of them.

A girl’s corpse is found raped, strangled, and horrifically mutilated by a boat’s propeller, deep in the Norfolk Broads, Detective Inspector John Tanner, who has newly arrived, is asked to help out with the investigation. At first, all of the evidence is pointing to a man that had a multi-million pound reason to murder her. However when an alibi is produced from one unexpected source, and another corpse shows up at a slipway’s base. Tanner finds himself turning to one of the local girls, Detective Constable Jenny Evans to help him.

While a more romantic relationship develops between each of them, they find themselves looking at a race against the clock to identify a deadly foe, one that has a lust for blood and mind set on getting revenge.

John and Jenny have terrific banter with one another and it is great to see into Tanner’s past, which provides a better impression of the person behind this officer.

“St. Benet’s” is the second novel in the “DI Tanner” series and was released in the year 2019. A man that was sacrificed to Satan, a girl thrown out of a church tower, and a priest murdered at the Devil’s hands.

When an old man’s body is discovered lying in the ruins of St. Benet’s Abbey, his throat cut and a knife resting in his open hand, DC Jenny Evans and DI John Tanner have no choice but to accept the ruling of death by misadventure.

However the body disappears from its tomb, after a priest is discovered nailed to a cross, and another having been impaled on a stake, everything starts pointing back to a teen girl’s murder, who was thrown off the top of a church tower, some forty-three years prior.

Tanner and Evans are a lovable duo, one that works well together and their banter is excellent. This novel has a good storyline and is even darker than the first one. It’s got thrills and chills galore, packed with mystery and tense moments.

“Moorings” is the third novel in the “DI Tanner” series and was released in the year 2019. A war veteran was killed in his home, a property developer with connections to organized crime, and one old family secret that appears to be unwilling to remain dead.

When a wealthy boatyard owner and highly decorated World War Two veteran, named Harry Falcon, is discovered drowned in his bath, DI John Tanner and DC Jenny Evans begin by questioning his two sons, each one of whom had motive to want him dead.

However the older son is discovered with his head bashed in under a toppled yacht. And the younger son has been talking to a local property developer, one that had spent months attempting to buy the yard from his dad, the investigation quickly leads them toward a dangerous and dark secret, one that no one can believe exactly.

The writing here is complete, nuanced cleverly to bring out the thrilling aspects of present and past. This is a highly suspenseful story that involves Tanner personally and the climax of the novel is especially exciting

“Three Rivers” is the fourth novel in the “DI Tanner” series and was released in the year 2020. A body caught at the end of a mast, another that was skewered by a rhond hook, and chain of evidence which Tanner is unable to accept.

While a twisting gale howls over Barton Broad, DS Jenny Evans joins up with a handsome old friend to help in rescuing the crew of one overturned boat. However they find a body, which has been snagged at the end of the mast, one murder quickly comes after another, leaving DI Tanner with a race against the clock, desperate to prove that the most obvious suspect is not who everybody appears to think it is.

David Blake gives all of his characters some real dilemmas and the reader finds themselves cheering them on through all of it. It helps you get involved with these characters.

“Horsey Mere” is the fifth novel in the “DI Tanner” series and was released in the year 2020. An MP discovered hanging above a five-pointed star, the remains of a Seventeenth Century witch, and three girls that have powers beyond anybody’s control.

While DS Evans and DI Tanner prepare to make plans for their wedding, the chance discovery of the last known witch, who was tried and then hanged by Norfolk’s infamous Witchfinder General, sparks a chain of the most horrific events, none of which Tanner appears to be able to stop.

“The Wherryman” is the sixth novel in the “DI Tanner” series and was released in the year 2021. Three murdered men, four missing kids, and the helm of a boat with a blood-red sail, that hides a secret that only he can tell. John Tanner, who returns to the Broads after spending almost two years at sea, moors up right next to a boat only to discover the corpse of a man whose five year old daughter is nowhere to be seen.

While a torrent of unwanted memories starts come into his mind, there’s an attractive Broads Ranger that turns up at the scene with a disturbing story; one about kids getting taken off by some ghostly figure. This figure stands at the helm of some old wooden boat.

Book Series In Order » Characters » DI Tanner

One Response to “DI Tanner”

  1. John davies: 4 months ago

    Have finished no 10 in the series brilliant can’t wait for next one


Leave a Reply