Book Notification

Diana J. Febry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chapman and Morris Mysteries Books

Trouble at Clenchers Mill (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble at Fatting House (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble at Suncliffe Manor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble in Sharcott (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DCI Peter Hatherall Mystery Books

The Skeletons of Birkbury (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bells on her Toes (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Point Of No Return (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Killed Vivien Morse? (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twisted Truth (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paperboy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DI Fiona Williams Mystery Books

A Fiery End (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Mother's Ruin (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Relative Death (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Educated Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Debts and Druids (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fool Me Once (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Each to Their Own (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Diana J. Febry was born in the United Kingdom.

She writes the “Peter Hatherall” series of mystery novels, the first of which, called “The Skeletons of Birkbury”, was released in the year 2015. Diana also writes some stand alone work.

“Debts & Druids” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 2015. Debts have turned Bob, who is just an average family man, into both a cheat and a liar. He is close to losing everything, and he thinks about blackmail being the perfect solution to all of his financial issues.

Sarah has escaped her own violent past and built up a perfect life in a sleepy tiny town. Nobody is going to take what she has built for herself without a good fight. While Bob’s mental health continues to disintegrate, he finds that he has set in motion a series of events that he has no power to stop. Events that are going to alter his life forever.

This was a well written and utterly depressing story and is a great portrayal of what happens when a regular person gets trapped in overwhelming amounts of debt. These characters are well developed and the story moves along at a brisk pace. The book is well worth the read and makes you look at the cost of decisions over the long run rather than just right now.

“The Skeletons of Birkbury” is the first novel in the “Peter Hatherall” series, which was released in the year 2015. One buried body and a lot of hidden secrets. A teenage girl’s body is found, and the villagers in Birkbury close ranks in order to keep their secrets. Gossip turns into suspicion and fear while they realize the killer is one of them and is ready to kill somebody else.

Under all the polite smiles and good manners, DCI Hatherall finds some deep-seated resentments and some family feuds that stretch back decades. The stakes are raised further when there is another girl that goes missing. Are the cops going to be able to find this killer before it’s too late?

This is a well told detective yarn that holds the interest the entire time. The book is a compelling page turner that builds the suspense and tension the entire time until the end of the novel. There are all kinds of twists and turns, too.

“Bells on her Toes” is the second novel in the “Peter Hatherall” series, which was released in the year 2015. The cops are baffled by a stranger found shot in the forehead in an unused barn. The people linked to Elmsgrove Racing Stables begin turning up dead and the race has begun to find just how the stranger is linked to the area and just who is behind these killings.

The racing community is going to find out that their deadliest enemy could be somebody close to them. The quiet drinker sitting in the corner of the pub could be a serial killer. The crazy drunkard could be the key to figuring out the mystery.

Diana penned a good old fashioned detective mystery with a well drawn character and a strongly developed plot. There enough twists to keep the story from getting too predictable and is compelling and comfortable enough to keep it a cozy read. Each of the good guys are believable and relatable.

“Point of No Return” is the third novel in the “Peter Hatherall” series, which was released in the year 2018. Deadly obsession or malicious pranks? Everybody knew the significance of the noose left hanging in the tree just outside of James Palmer’s home. A young male hung himself from that same tree two years prior. Somebody is determined this time to ensure the guilty ones pay. DCI Hatherall has to unmask some master of disguise before everybody linked to the suicide is butchered.

This book is filled with twists and turns, and is cleverly written with characters that get clearer the more the story progresses. Diana J Febry has created once more an intriguing story of a relatively simple appearing case that is just the start of an odd series of events. Despite the slow pace, this is still a fantastic British mystery and is simply an enjoyable read.

“Who Killed Vivien Morse?” is the fourth novel in the “Peter Hatherall” series, which was released in the year 2018. A young social worker, named Vivien Morse, is found beaten to death in Silver Lady Woods. Everybody assumes that she was attacked by her estranged husband until Vivien’s supervisor vanishes. The link seems to be Vivien’s final client. A disturbed and damaged girl that believes her bundle of rags is really her lost baby and never leaves the family farm as she waits for her lover to return.

The matter is made more confusing by a stranger’s arrival to the area that is obviously searching for somebody or something. There is also an escaped convict that has connections to the area.

DCI Hatherall must separate fantasy from fact to figure out who actually killed Vivien Morse.

Fans found themselves enjoying this one quite a bit and find themselves wanting to read others from this series. The book holds the readers’ attention and keeps you turning pages throughout. It is also filled with Febry’s classic wit and banter, and fascinating characters that stick with you after you are done reading.

“Twisted Truth” is the fifth novel in the “Peter Hatherall” series, which was released in the year 2018. It is difficult to defend yourself when everybody believes you are crazy, and you have lapses in memory.

Megan Roach, a journalist, is told a story by an old guy living in a nursing home that might make her famous. Her carefully built life begins unraveling, she has to face her demons from childhood as well as the possibility that she might be a killer.

DCI Hatherall finds a conspiracy that confronts his own beliefs and goes much deeper than Megan Roach could have imagined. Can he really believe anything that she says?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Diana J. Febry

Leave a Reply