Book Notification

Dorothy St. James Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Aloha Pete Mystery Books

Birds in Paradise (As: Dorothy McFalls) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Beloved Bookroom Mystery Books

The Broken Spine (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Perfect Bind (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Book Club to Die for (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Raven's Run Romantic Mystery Books

Ms. Starr's Most Inconvenient Change of Heart (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery Books

Asking for Truffle (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing With Bonbon Fire (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Cold Chocolate (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bonbon with the Wind (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of White House Gardener Mystery Books

Flowerbed of State (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scarlet Pepper (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oak and Dagger (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Dorothy St. James is an author who wears her southern pride on her sleeve. Originally born in New York, she grew up in South Carolina. She has been interested in writing throughout much of her life and is especially interested in sharing her fun sense of mystery with people.

She has also been interested in environmental studies throughout her life. She holds a degree in wildlife biology and a graduate degree in public administration. Dorothy St. James continues to work well with many government entities of all sorts in managing environmental issues. She also works with a non-profile organization that helps with managing environmental watchdog efforts.

St. James focuses heavily on cozy mystery stories. She enjoys writing stories that have a surprising series of fun twists and turns in some of the most entertaining spaces around. Her stories are especially for those who want to enjoy something fun that is not too intense. In fact, many of these stories that she writes take place in South Carolina, a place that has become especially important to her life.

Her work has been recommended for many people who are interested in the cozy mystery style of writing. She has been compared well with Joanne Fluke and JoAnna Carl among many other prominent writers in the genre. Her work has brought in many fans over the years who love the entertaining charm that she brings to her work.

Book Series

The Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery series is one of the top series for people to check out. The stories follow Charity Penn, a new resident of South Carolina who has opened her own chocolate shop on the state’s coastline. She enjoys her work but as it turns out, it is often tough to enjoy life because of some of the crimes that take place. Charity enjoys working with people and helping them to find answers to some of the most difficult concerns that might come along in the area.

The White House Gardener Mystery series is another one for people to read about. It is about Casey Calhoun, a gardener whose interest in this hobby has led her all the way to being the main gardener for the White House. She works well for producing the most appealing gardens around but there are always surprises coming along in the area.


Dorothy St. James is a member of the Mystery Writers of America association, a group dedicated to promoting the development of the mystery genre. She is also part of the International Thriller Writers association, another group that offers strong efforts to promote the style of writing.

Notable Books

Flowerbed of State

This is the first of the books in the White House Gardener Mystery series. The story follows Casey Calhoun as she is hired to be the new gardener at the White House. She enjoys her work at President’s Park, a key garden space just outside the building. But one day she found a dead body inside a trash can outside the house. This leads her to figuring out who the killer could be but she has to do this before she could be at risk of harm. She fears that her life could be at risk as the killer continues to head out and possibly claim a new victim.

The Scarlet Pepper

Another story in the White House Gardener Mystery series, Casey is trying to keep the garden healthy but someone appears to be tampering with it. But what makes this such a major development is that she has found a reporter dead. That reporter happens to be one of the tougher people who have been trying to look into some of the more interesting developments that have come about in the White House. Casey is trying to find out who could have been motivated to stop the reporter but now it appears that she might be the next big target.

Asking For Truffle

The first Southern Chocolate Shop story follows Charity Penn as she travels to South Carolina to take cooking lessons to help her start her own chocolate shop. She falls in love with the area but soon she discovers that someone might be out to get her down there. She starts working hard on growing her business but soon she begins to feel guilty about a friend who was killed there recently, thus leading her to try and figure out who could have killed her. Charity soon gets in the way of some local plots to destroy much of the town.

Playing With Bonbon Fire

Another of the books in the same chocolate series if Playing With Bonbon Fire. In this story, many music groups are converging at the beach to celebrate a special beach music festival. But soon, one person involved with one of the bands is found dead near a bonfire. But as Charity is looking to figure out why someone could have been murdered, some surprises come around. These include a decades-old secret that someone is trying to hide. Charity is trying to catch the killer before that person can do any more harm but as it turns out, her own chocolate shop might be at risk of harm if she keeps it up.

Award Nominations

The awards that Dorothy St. James has been nominated for over the years include many prominent honors from fans and other writers alike. She has received nods for such honors as the CataRomance Reviewers Choice Award and National Reader’s Choice Award. The work that she has produced over the years has been promoted as being entertaining and fun while offering a nice southern charm to the entire affair.

The great work of Dorothy St. James shows that she enjoys writing fiction with a down home twist to it. She does well with writing mystery novels that make for good reads that are enjoyable and distinct. The southern influences that come with her work especially make her one of the top figures for all people to check out when looking for entertaining writers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Dorothy St. James

Leave a Reply