Book Notification

Egan Hughes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

One That Got Away (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leave the Lights On (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Egan Hughes is a thriller, suspense and crime fiction author from Hampshire though she was born in North Devon in the United Kingdom. She now makes her home in Southern England and when she is not writing her novels she works as a freelance copy editor. She has made a name for herself writing novels full of turns and twists that keep her readers guessing with their suspense. She has said that her debut novel “The One That Got Away” was inspired by the time she spent living in Med on a boat. An earlier edition of the novel made the shortlist for the Search for a Bestseller Competition Richard and Judy in 2017. The novel was first published in 2020.

Hughes debut work “The One Who Got Away” was acquired by Sphere, which made it into the intriguing, tense and dark thriller that has gone on to become a bestselling title. The psychological suspense novel follows the story of Jess that just went on a life changing trip on the high seas alongside her husband. On the other hand is Mia that has been living in a nightmare of a marriage for years. Jess is just coming to the realization that the man she married may not be who he says he is while Mia is dealing with questions about the murder of a man that was her former husband. The stories collide as Egan Hughes goes deep into the exploration of the consequences of the two women that endure years of deceit and lies and how far each is willing to do to get their revenge. Sphere acquired the rights of the novel in the Commonwealth territories except Canada and in the UK.

Egan Hughes debut novel “The One That Got Away” introduces the author as one of the most distinctive authors to watch in the psychological suspense genre. It introduces sailing enthusiast Rob who meets and marries Mia. At the opening of the novel, they had set off on honeymoon in his yacht around the Mediterranean intending to spend some time in Greece. They wanted to set up a boating business that they would then run together in what they believed was a very idyllic spot. But then his sister comes to visit them on the yacht and Mia starts to notice that things are not the same. Not long after, Rob is murdered, shot dead by a bullet to the head. Methodically, Hughes tells the story that led to the death of Rob and reveals that nothing or no one is as they seem to be. It is a story full of surprises and just when you think you have figured it out Hughes throws in a new twist that hits you like a sack of cement.

“Leave the Lights On” by Egan Hughes is a contemporary twisty thriller with a plot as deadly as it is smart. The lead is Lauren Edwards, who just got a new home with Joe, her husband. It is a remote cottage that has everything in it controlled via an app interface. The cabin combines modern conveniences and old world charm and after Lauren’s trauma there is no better place to find an escape. But all Lauren wants is for Joe to be happy after all they have been through and so she does not tell him that she hates all the gadgetry in their new home and how vulnerable she feels. But then the bizarre happenings begin and Joe is fully convinced that they are just a figment of the traumatized Lauren. Lauen does not believe in ghosts but she is no longer so sure. She is intelligent enough to know that the past has a way of rearing its ugly head at the most unexpected of times and thinks it could be catching up to them once again.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Egan Hughes

Leave a Reply