Book Notification

Elaine Everest Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Teashop Girls Books

The Teashop Girls (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas with the Teashop Girls (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Woolworths Books

The Woolworths Girls (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carols at Woolworths (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas At Woolworths (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wartime at Woolworths (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gift from Woolworths (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Bells for Woolworths (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Mother Forever (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woolworths Saturday Girls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woolworths Girl's Promise (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Celebrations for the Woolworths Girls (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gracie's War (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Butlins Girls (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Patchwork Girls (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Diamonds and Pearls(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Elaine Everest
Author Elaine Everest was born and raised in North West Kent and she grew up listening to tales of the war years in her hometown of Erith, which she features in her “Woolworths Girls” series.

Elaine is a former journalist, author of non-fiction books for dog owners, and a qualified creative writing tutor, and she’s written more than a hundred short stories for the women’s magazine market and features for national newspapers.

Her books for dog owners have been incredibly popular and led to her broadcasting on the radio about our four legged pals. She has been heard discussing many topics on the radio from canine subjects to living with a husband under her feet while redundancy loomed.

When Elaine is not writing, she runs The Write Place creative writing school at The Howard Venue in Hextable, Kent and has a long list of published students.

She is a member of the Crime Writers Association, the Romantic Novelists’ Association, The Society of Women Writers & Journalists, and The Society of Authors as well as Slimming World where she can be found sitting in the naughty corner.

“The Woolworths Girls” is the first novel in the “Woolworths Girls” series and was released in 2016. Can romance blossom during troublesome times?

The year is 1938 and while the threat of war hangs over the country, Sarah Caselton prepares for her new job at Woolworths. Before too long, she forms a close bond with two of her colleagues: shy Freda and glamorous Maisie. This trio could not be any more different if they tried, yet they instantly form a close-knit friendship, as they share their dreams and hopes for the future.

Sarah quickly falls into the rhythm of her new job, enjoying the social events that are hosted by Woolies and her blooming romance with Alan, a young assistant manager. However with the threat of war looming on the horizon, the young women and men of Woolworths realize that there are some bigger battles lying ahead. This is a dangerous time for the nation, and it’s an even more perilous time to fall in love.

“The Butlins Girls” is a stand alone novel and was released in 2017. Molly Missons has not had the best of times as of late. Having lost her parents, now some dubious long lost family have been darkening her door, attempting to steal her livelihood and home.

After a horrendous ordeal, Molly applies for a job as a Butlin’s Aunty. When she gets news that she got the job, she leaves her small town immediately, in search of a brand new life in Skegness.

Molly finds real friendship in Bunty, Plum, and Freda. However the biggest shock of all is learning that Johnny Johnson, the star of the silver screen, works at Butlin’s as the head of the entertainment team. Johnny takes an immediate liking to Molly and she starts to shed the shackles of her recent traumas. Is Johnny going to be the distraction that Molly needs, or is he actually too good to be true?

“Christmas at Woolworths” is the second novel in the “Woolworths Girls” series and was released in 2017. Even with a war on, the Woolworths girls still brought some Christmas cheer to their customers.

Best friends Freda, Sarah, and Maisie are brought together by their job at Woolworths. As their loved ones are away on the front line, and their bonds of friendship strengthen with each passing day. Betty Billington manages Woolworths, and is a rock for the girls, having given up on love. Until this mysterious stranger shows up one day. Could he reignite a spark in Betty?

While the year comes to a close, and Christmas approaches, the ladies have to rely on one another to navigate the dark days lying ahead. With all that is changing, can their friendship survive this war?

“The Teashop Girls” is the first novel in the “Teashop Girls” series and was released in 2019. Early in 1940. World War Two has taken a strong hold on the country already. Rose Neville works as a Lyon’s Teashop Nippy on the Kent coast alongside her childhood friends, the ambitious Lily and Katie, whose fiance is soon going to be posted overseas in the navy. While war creates havoc in Europe, Rose relies on the close friendship from her family and friends.

When Capt. Benjamin Hargreaves comes into the teashop one day, Rose is instantly drawn to him. However while Lyon’s forbids courting between customers and staff, she attempts to put the handsome officers well out of her mind.

In increasingly dangerous and dark times, Rose fears there might not be any time to waste. However could the dashing captain be exactly what he seems?

“Christmas with the Teashop Girls” is the second novel in the “Teashop Girls” series and was released in 2020. It is late in 1940 and the war feels like it’s closer to home more than ever for Rose and her staff at the Lyon’s Teashop in Margate. The worry about rationing hangs overhead while the Nippies do their level best to provide a happy smile and a hot cup of tea for their customers. When a heavy bombing raid targets the Kent coastline, Lyon’s gets hit horribly, throwing the cafe’s future in jeopardy.

The one light in Rose’s life is her dashing fiance Capt. Ben Hargreaves and planning their Christmas Eve wedding. However she also has to plan to take two new step-daughters into her life and get on her wealthy mother-in-law’s good side. Is Rose really ready to become a mom so soon?

When Eileen, Rose’s half-sister, makes contact, it appears that Rose’s dreams of having a sibling are starting to finally come true. However her friends all start suspecting that something’s not quite right between her husband and Eileen. What are they hiding exactly?

While the Christmas Eve wedding comes near, the bombings intensify in both London and Kent, putting everybody and everything Rose loves in danger. There’s only one thing certain: it’ll be a Christmas that she never forgets.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Elaine Everest

One Response to “Elaine Everest”

  1. Denise Andrews: 1 year ago

    I have just read The Woolworth’s girls promise and am eager to follow what happens to Betty Billington. Can you please tell me what order to read the other Woolworth Girls books so I can enjoy learning what happens to her. Many thanks


Leave a Reply