Book Notification

Flora Harding Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Before the Crown (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The People’s Princess (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Flora Harding is a historical fiction author best known for her debut fiction novel “Before the Crown.” Over three decades ago, Harding began writing to fund a Ph.D. proposal she was writing about Elizabethan York and how they got rid of their waste. Since that time, she has been fascinated by the era and has juggled fact and fiction about it ever since. Before writing her debut novel “Before the Crown” she had written contemporary romance as Jessica Hart, Sagas set in the First World War and Second World War as Pamela Bell, and historical fiction set during the Tudor era as Pamela Hartshorne. Under her five writing pseudonyms she has more than seventy-five fiction novels, some history works, and several forms of nonfiction works. She is still fascinated by the connection between the present and the past. In addition to writing, she is also a non-fiction editor, and coupled with five writing identities it is not surprising that she often gets herself confused too. Harding lives in New York with the Minster and city walls visible from her end of the street. She loves the historic city she calls home but often yearns for open spaces. When she is not writing, she can be found walking outside on the North York Moors where she finds her escape.

While she has written a ton of fiction, she feels most connected to her recent iteration as Flora Harding and as historical novelist Pamela Hartshorne that also wrote fiction set in the Elizabethan era. She still does a lot of research into the era and writes multifaceted characters who have very developed attributes and lives. In her debut novel Before the Crown, she writes about the steadily reliable but shy elder daughter of the English monarch King George VI.

Flora Harding’s “Before the Crown” is a novel tailor-made for people that love royal history. It is an exploration of the complex courtship between Prince Phillip who would become the Duke of Westminster and Elizabeth II who would become the queen of England upon the death of her father. At its heart, it is the tale of love that Harding presents as unlikely given the different temperaments of the two and the roadblocks that had been placed to prevent their marriage. She also presents the union as determined by fate given that Elizabeth had always loved Phillip ever since she was a teen. When Phillip grew into a young adult, he had gone into the navy and has been enjoying life in the military and a social life where he could do as he wished. But over time, he comes to appreciate the generosity of spirit and kindness from Elizabeth. His future in-laws are antipathetic towards him as a suitor given his sisters’ have been given in marriage to some formerly high-ranking officers of the Nazi regime, which means his initiation into royal life is complicated and rocky. George is a stuffy conservative and it does not help that Philip is not at all interested in his favorite pastime of hunting. Eventually, he needs to decide on whether to continue in his pursuit of Elizabeth given that it is certain his life will radically change if he gets married to the presumed heir. The scenes at Balmoral Castle which was the home of Queen Victoria their common ancestor provide an excellent backdrop as the two lovebirds come to know each other.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Flora Harding

Leave a Reply