Book Notification

G.M. Malliet Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Augusta Hawke Books

Augusta Hawke (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Invitation to a Killer (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Max Tudor Books

Wicked Autumn (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Winter (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pagan Spring (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Demon Summer (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunted Season (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devil's Breath (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Prior's Wood (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Washing Away of Wrongs (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of St. Just Mysteries Books

Death of a Cozy Writer (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and the Lit Chick (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Alma Mater (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Cornwall (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Print (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Bookworm (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whiteout (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Star (in Ellery Queen) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 13(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midsummer Mysteries Short Stories(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

G.M Malliet is an American mystery author that made her name with the popular St. Just Mystery and the Max Tudor series. Malliet attended college in the United Kingdom getting her graduate degree from Cambridge before proceeding to Oxford University for her postgraduate studies. After completing her studies, she worked in journalism and copywriting, writing and performing a range of duties for several broadcasters and publications, before deciding to become a professional author. Her debut novel was “Death of a Cozy Writer” that was published in 2008, and went on to win an Agatha for best first novel in the same year. Growing up in a military family, she would be constantly on the move with her family. She has lived in Japan, Hawaii, Florida, New Mexico, Colorado, and Alaska, but her time in the UK was one her most memorable. Perhaps her memories of the UK are what inform the setting of her novels in Oxford and Cambridge. Given that she had little time to make friends given that the family moved so often, she became the poster child for a bookworm spending most of her time reading mysteries particularly Agatha Christie.

She lives with her husband in Old Town, Alexandria a city just across the river in Washington D.C. When she is not writing, she loves to plan her next vacation, cook vegetarian meals, hike in the Blue Ridge, and read mysteries from her favorite authors. Brought up in a military family she feels the treadmill is too boring, preferring Tae Bo and boxing classes. Nonetheless, her writing always comes first and she sets aside up to seven hours a day to write or brainstorm ideas for her novels. She gets most of her ideas from watching people in her vicinity or in everyday places such as the Mall or the banking hall. In addition to writing novels, she also writes short stories and screenplays. She loves the movies, though she finds it difficult to make a decision about who would be the best actor to portray her lead protagonists Max Tudor or St. Just. Nevertheless, she believes Rufus Sewell, Colin Firth, or Hugh Grant would fit the bill. Jude Law seems to be a perfect fit for Max’s suave sidekick though she believes that he must be tired of being a sidekick. She spends a lot of time thinking about these things and changes her mind often.

Even as she now writes full-time, it took a lot of struggle in the form of rejections before she became a published author. From a very young age, she always knew that she wanted to write the classic mystery series, but without any of the gore and torture. However, finding a publisher for her first novel “Death of a Cozy Writer” proved an uphill battle as no one understood her style. It was not until she met Barbara Moore of the small publishing company Midnight Ink that she finally got her big break in publishing. Nonetheless, even after the publication of her first novel, it was difficult finding a publisher for “Wicked Autumn”, the first novel of her Max Tudor series. She attributes her ultimate success with publishing to Louise Penny the agent that went into Andy Martin’s office at Minotaur with a copy of “Death of a Cozy Writer” and said “You need to publish this author” that she got into the big time. Since then she has gone on to be nominated for three Anthony, and five Agatha awards. She also got nominations for the Dilys, David, Daphne, IPPY, Left Coast Crime, and a Macavity award. Malliet’s short stories have also been published in The Strand, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, and several notable anthologies.

The novels are a modern and fresh take on the complex motives that would make one commit some of the vilest of crimes such as murder. A Mixture of light and dark, G.M. Malliet uses humor to lighten up the mood in her novels. The chief protagonist in the novels is Max Tudor an ex MI5 agent who quits to become the priest of a small village. However, his former colleague is murdered soon after he takes up his priestly duties, forcing him back into the dangerous world of espionage and high stakes investigations. His MI5 past always seems to be on his trail, but given his training, he has the skills to stare it right in the face and restore normalcy to the quaint town that he has come to consider home. While not really a Jack Reacher type of character, his training in the MI5 plays a significant role in making him one of the most efficient detective protagonists of any mystery series. The fact that he is a priest just makes him even more intriguing.

“Wicked Autumn” the first novel in the Max Tudor series is a complex murder mystery set in an idyllic village in the English countryside. Max Tudor has adapted well to the quaint little village of Edwold’s, which he has made his home after quitting the MI5. His newfound tranquility among New Agers, artists and crafters, yoga practitioners, and urban escapees is shattered when a hated official of the Women’s Institute turns up dead. Given his training as an agent, his instincts tell him that foul play is likely involved in the woman’s death. Since he has been with the community for long enough, he knows of the tangled rivalries and alliances between the village’s prominent persons. But this is going to be one hard case to crack given that almost everyone he knew could have had motive to kill the despicable Wanda Batton-Smythe. As he becomes more involved in the investigation, he stirs up old memories from his past that he would rather stay buried.

“A Fatal Winter”, the second novel in the series is a Poirot style murder scheme that is quite an enjoyable read. Max Tudor is drawn to Chedrow Castle, a lavish estate where the 8th Earl of Foootrustle has been found savagely murdered. What makes the case even more bizarre is that the Countess of Governing, and the late Earl’s twin sister is found dead in seemingly natural circumstances on the same day. The arrival of a motley crew of long lost relatives any of whom might have killed the siblings for their money further complicates things for the Anglican priest turned amateur sleuth. Even as Tudor has always been the most professional of detectives, his attraction to the beautiful Athena threatens to derail his investigations, particularly when he fingers the prime suspect. With intricate puzzles, a cozy setting, and a handsome priest as the sleuth, the novel is an enthralling read that is sure to leave the reader on the edge of their seat.

Book Series In Order » Authors » G.M. Malliet

Leave a Reply