Book Notification

Heather Peck Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Greg Geldard Books

Secret Places (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glass Arrows (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fires of Hate (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Temenos Remains (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dig Two Graves (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DCI Greg Geldard Short Stories/Novellas Books

Death on the Rhine (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death On The Norwich Express (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

Tails of Two Spaniels (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Heather Peck spent most of her working life in agriculture, both as a civil servant in MAFF/Defra and as hands-on farmer. This resulted in a wide variety of experiences, from managing the emergency response to the Chernobyl accident to breeding both sheep and alpacas commercially. She has been involved in international negotiations, pesticide legislation, food quality and animal welfare. After leaving Defra she chaired an NHS Trust, then volunteered in Citizens Advice and the Witness Service before Covid changed everything and she combined her NHS and agricultural background by training as a Covid vaccinator. She lives in Norfolk with her partner Gary, 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 hens and a rabbit.

Heather’s books include a crime series for adults and animal-focussed books for children. The crime stories are set mainly in the unique rural landscape of the Norfolk Broads and coast. Against that idyllic background her main protagonist DCI Greg Geldard and his team tackle a range of difficult issues.

The series currently includes 5 full length novels and two novellas. The second in the series was shortlisted for the East Anglian Book Awards prize for fiction and the series has won 5 Firebird Book Awards.

Secret Places is first in the series and forms a prequel-style introduction to a number of characters we meet again in later books. It is about domestic abuse and coercive control. It starts with the discovery of a skeleton in a WW2 secret hideaway and ends with a river chase down the Yare and out to sea.

Glass Arrows is about modern slavery, and the smuggling of wildlife and pets. A complex web of organised crime starts to unravel as someone kills to cover up their activities.

Fires of Hate covers animal rights and discrimination, and that balancing point between good intelligence gathering and abusive honey trap.

The Temenos Remains deals on the one hand with a serial killer and the delusions that drive his actions, while societal and police attitudes to sex workers and misogyny impact the investigation.

Dig Two Graves looks at what revenge does to the victim and the perpetrator, dealing with County Lines, knife crime, and an unfortunate inheritance from the Met.

Death on the Rhine (novella) is about elder abuse.

Death on the Norwich Express (novella) covers online dating and stalking.

The first children’s book, Tails of Two Spaniels is the story of the first year of some puppies’ lives, told through the eyes of the puppies. It covers the responsibilities of puppy ownership, dog theft, fireworks, impact of waste on the health of sea mammals etc.
The Pixie and the Bear, and more Spaniel’s Tails follow soon.

(Thank you so much Heather for this bio!)

Book Series In Order » Authors » Heather Peck

Leave a Reply