Book Notification

Isabel Cañas Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hacienda (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Vampires of El Norte (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Weight of a Thousand Needles (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Other Life (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Kingdom of the Butterflies (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
At the Frayed Edges of The Night (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Silver as the Devil\'s Necklace (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Land of Saints and Monsters (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
My Sister Is a Scorpion (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
There Are No Monsters on Rancho Buenavista (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Rustle of Growing Things (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Isabel Cañas

A graduate of the Clarion West Writers Workshop, Isabel Cañas is a Mexican-American speculative fiction writer. Her debut novel, “The Hacienda” is placed in the time following the Mexican War of Independence.

“The Hacienda” is full of supernatural suspense, sinister hauntings, and a bone-chilling gothic story layered with tension and romance. The story has been described as “Rebecca meets Mexican Gothic”.

Tragically, Beatriz’s father is executed during the overthrow of the Mexican government. Her home is destroyed and she is now a woman alone, totally vulnerable and in danger during a very threatening political time.

Don Rodolfo Solórzano proposes to Beatriz and she decides to accept; she needs the security his estate can give her. She ignores the rumors of the early death of his first wife; the handsome Rodolfo couldn’t be a killer.

Hacienda San Isidro is far from the safe haven she had hoped for. After Rodolfo returns to the capital to work she is disturbed with uneasy voices and visions. She’s being told it’s her imagination.

Her sister-in-law, Juana, won’t visit at night. Cook burns copal incense at the door of the kitchen, marking the outline with unusual symbols. Are they hiding their fear of the hacienda?

Beatriz is not feeling safe. What really happened to the first Doña Solórzano? No one will talk about her. What are the secrets?

She knows something is wrong with this hacienda. In desperation, she seeks the help of the priest, a young Padre Andrés. He’s also a witch, and he has to use these skills to battle the pernicious evilness in the hacienda.

The reviews for this first novel for Ms. Cañas must be thrilling for her. They are soaring and exciting.

Ms. Cañas has a lengthy writing folio of short fiction that has appeared in magazines and collections of fantasy and science fiction. You may find her stories in Lightspeed Magazine, Nightmare Magazine, Luna Station Quarterly, and Beneath Ceaseless Skies.

Ms. Cañas, a PhD candidate, has lived in Mexico, Egypt, Turkey, Jordan and Scotland. Having settled in New York City to work on her dissertation in medieval Islamic literature, she is writing fiction inspired by her research and her family heritage.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Isabel Cañas

Leave a Reply