Book Notification

James Bradley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Change Books

The Silent Invasion (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Buried Ark (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Vastness of Stars (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Beauty's Sister (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Paper Nautilus (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best Australian Stories 2012(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writing a Novel Anthology, 2013(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best Australian Stories 2013(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writing a Novel Anthology, 2014(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2014(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best Australian Essays 2015(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best Australian Stories 2016(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best Australian Essays 2016(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tomorrow's Parties: Life in the Anthropocene(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

James Bradley is bestselling Australian author of science fiction, literature, fiction and nonfiction novels. He was born in Adelaide, Southern Australia, trained as a lawyer before switching to full-time writing. Bradley lives in Sydney with his life partner and also a novelist Marti McConnochie. Bradley is famously known for his novels, The Deep Field, a book set shortly that narrates the story of a love affair between a blind paleontologist. Clade a book that explores the climate change issues; The Resurrectionist which explores the dark world of anatomist during the Victorian England; Wrack, a story that explores the search for a lost Portuguese wreck.

Several of Bradley’s novels have several distinct awards under different categories such as Kathleen Mitchell Award, Miles Franklin Award, and Australian Writers Literature Award.

The Resurrectionist

The year is 1826; Gabriel Swift leaves behind his father’s tragic failures and heads to London to study with his friend Edwin Poll, one of the most famous anatomists the city has ever seen. To Gabriel, this is the perfect time to make a name for himself, however, instead, he finds himself drawn deeper into his masters enemy, Lucan, the city’s most potent resurrectionist and the head of its trades in dead bodies. Dismissed by his master, Mr. Poll, Gabriel then descends into the corruption and violence of London’s underworld, a place where everyone and everything are for sale- a place where the taking of a person’s life is easier than it seems.

The Resurrectionist is a brilliant standalone novel set during the Victorian times during the days of the Resurrection Men. During this time expanding medical schools faced a shortage of bodies for their class practical’s and this gave rise to the increase of the body-snatching trade.

The head of London’s resurrectionist is an evil man known as Lucan who holds anatomists and surgeons of London in his palm. When Mr. Poll and Lucan disagree, a power struggle sparks between the two and also within the levels/ranks of resurrectionists. When Gabriel falls into a plan by Lucan, it results to him being dismissed from Poll’s service. The novel received positive praises from readers worldwide due to not only its cover but also due to the characters, style, and plot that James Bradley has utilized.

Clade (2015)

Clade is a unique novel that focuses on the scenario of the possible effects that climate change could cause and how it affects the world through the eyes of one family through three generations and some characters whom they cross paths with the family.

Kicking off in 2016, the narrative moves through in a series of ten chapters that are not in any way linked except that a member of Leith family appears in each chapter. There can be spans of years between the episodes before the author pops back to give the readers of where the world and the family is at now.

The story opens with Doctor Adam Leith and his wife Ellie trying effortlessly conceiving a child. Adam is a scientist and headed to Antarctica while his wife is in Sydney Australia waiting to know whether the IVF procedure has been successful. The doctor suddenly hears the ice beneath him groaning and creaking and understands that the ice is loosening as the temps rise. Adam is worried and continuously questions himself on whether they should bring a child to this world. As the novel continues, each chapter jumps through history giving the readers a glimpse of what the family is doing during this period of the global meltdown.

The earth is slowly withering away, and the resulting changes in weather patterns are causing hurricanes. Birds and fish are dying, and floods are killing thousands of the global temperatures rise, world economies fall, civil unrests become the order of the day. One unique aspect of this novel is that even though the world is continually changing, the characters rarely do, the day to day activities of the characters remain the same and as they go on living as earth tosses to them yet another challenge to them.

Throughout the story, the readers get a glimpse of these events through the perspective of Ellie, Adam, their grandson, their daughter, a refugee from Bangladesh and a Chinese teenager.

The Silent Invasion

The Silent Invasion is the first novel in The Change by James Bradley. The book is set in a near future, at a time when the human race is on the verge of extinction. Spores have infected both plants and animals from space.

Then, Callie, a 16-year-old discovers that her little sister Grace has as well been infected. Together with her sister, Callie flees to the Zone to avoid being terminated by the lethal officers of Quarantine. What Callie is bound to discover in the Zone will alter her irreversibly and send her on a journey to the moon and beyond.

The first book in The Change series is a brilliant installment; it is an intense, intriguing and politically aware Y.A novel about a possible “Doomsday” 10 years from now. It is set in a time when alien spores have infected almost every human and plant on earth. Once infected, the victim transforms into some hive-mind- alien intelligence. The main character is Callie; a young girl determined to do whatever it takes to ensure that her infected sibling does not terminated- she would rather die run away with her and die than have her taken away by the authorities to be used by a lab rat.

The Silent Invasion features lots of flee-capture-escape-flee dramas; the author maintains tension from the first page to the last page. Bradley slowly injects a dose of politics and world building throughout the plot.

Besides the main character, there are also supporting characters like Gracie and Matt. Gracie, a victim of the spore invasion, is brilliantly woven even though at a time keeps on complaining to her elder sister how tired she was. Then there is Matt, a character of mixed reactions. At one point he would be invested in Callie the next whirling off and thus cloud her judgment. If you love novels set in near future about alien invasions, then The Change is an ideal match for you.

Book Series In Order » Authors » James Bradley

Leave a Reply