Book Notification

Jodie Slaughter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

All Things Burn (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
White Whiskey Bargain (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bet on It (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Play to Win (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Just One More (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Be Alone With Youla (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jodie Slaughter
Jodie Slaughter is a twenty-something romance writer that spends most of her days hunched over some computer for her day job and then nights hunched over another computer for her novels. Although her back is certainly suffering, she wouldn’t have it any other way.

She loves love, so she pens romance filled with heat, passion, and heart. When she’s not putting steamy scenes or declarations of devotion down on paper, she can typically be found being quite hilarious on twitter, consuming far too much television, or dreaming about brisket.

“All Things Burn” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2019. One woman that is forced to take desperate and dark measures for the sake of her safety seeks a man out that deals exclusively in doling out his death sentences. What sparks between the both of them is equally as unavoidable as it is life-changing.

Halle Temple is a good person, and she does not know anything as surely as she knows that. A successful black woman that uses her expensive law degree to work full time at a women’s legal aid center, and has no doubt that her whole existence is being spent in serving others’ needs. That perfectly normal life takes a lethal turn, though, when she crosses paths with this man that is willing to go to rather extreme measures in order to take possession of her.

After he threatens her family, she starts questioning every moral that she has ever held dear while realizing there is just one way to get him out of her life permanently. In order to do that, however, she needs a little help.

Callum Byrne is an Irish-American hitman that has made a life for himself from robbing others of their own. Darkness has always been lurking inside of him and doesn’t have any qualms about unleashing it, particularly for profit. Halle comes into his life all of a sudden, bringing with her this intensity that he’s never felt previously. It’s not long before Callum’s narrow view of himself is challenged and twisted.

While the job she has given him gets more complicated by the minute, so too do Callum’s own feelings for her.

“White Whiskey Bargain” is the second stand alone novel and was released in 2019. The tragic and sudden death of Hannah Hawkins’ mom puts her into a position that she feels unprepared for. With the duty of leading her family’s decades-long moonshining business weighing pretty heavy on her shoulders, the very last thing that she needs is something making her transition that much tougher. Unfortunately, that is precisely what she gets. A group of vicious new players has showed up in small town Harlan, Kentucky, and as what they truly want stays a mystery, it soon becomes obvious they are willing to stoop to some dark lengths in order to get it. In order to fight off a beast, she realizes that she’ll need to join forces with a rival.

Javier Meza might be the sole heir to his family’s moonshining empire, but that don’t make him a leader. He’s no mind for neither diplomacy or business, preferring to spend all of his days in the trenches, making the corn liquor with all of the rest of the “cooks”. That does not mean that he is not more than willing to step up and take charge when his family finds they’re in danger. Forming this shaky partnership with the Hawkins family is one thing, however marrying Hannah to keep their deal on the straight and narrow is a whole other thing entirely.

While Hannah’s determined to keep their marriage as something only existing in name only, Javier is eager not to just leave this wife disappointed and hurt like the last wife he had. They both soon learn that their feelings, a lot like their enemies, do not plan on just going away without putting up a fight.

A marriage of convenience between decades long rival families, illegal white whiskey, and Black Appalachia, in a novel where Jodie blends suspense and romance to bring to the forefront a spotlight on the impact of populations of color in small town Kentucky.

“Bet on It” is the third stand alone novel and was released in 2022. The first time that Aja Owens encounters the guy of her dreams, she is having a panic attack right in the frozen foods section in the Piggly Wiggly. The second time, he is being introduced to her as her favorite bingo buddy’s semi-estranged grandson. And from there, all that it takes is just one game for her to realize that he is certainly going to be an issue. And if there is anything she already has a surplus of, it is problems.

And in Walker Abbott’s mind, there are just two things worthwhile in Greenbelt, South Carolina. His ailing grandma and the peach cobbler at his old favorite diner. Pulling himself back there after over a decade away, he counts the days down until Gram heals up and he’s able to get back to his real life. Far from the trauma within those city limits. And right when he believes his plan is pretty solid, enter Aja to shake all of it up.

One hastily made bingo-based sex pact is supposed to keep this, umm, thing between them from getting out of hand. Particularly when submitting to both of their feelings means that they will disrupt their carefully balanced lives. However emotions are only like bingo callers, they refuse to just be ignored.

This is a perfect example of what makes Jodie’s writing so delicious. Walker and Aja’s story is sweet, hot, and utterly unique with a rock solid emotional core. This is a heart-stoppingly fun, and emotional romance which will have readers falling in love until well after the final page gets turned. Walker and Aja’s story about two genuinely good people that are sweet and playful to one another, helping each other heal, as they also have some incredibly hot sex. This is a book to be savored, with some standout portrayals of generous, beautiful friendships along with the love story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Jodie Slaughter

Leave a Reply