Book Notification

Joshilyn Jackson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gods in Alabama (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between, Georgia (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Stopped Swimming (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Backseat Saints (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Someone Else's Love Story (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Opposite of Everyone (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Almost Sisters (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Have I Ever (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mother May I (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
With My Little Eye (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

My Own Miraculous (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Don't Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wedding Cake for Breakfast(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
New Voices in Fiction Sampler(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joshilyn Jackson is a USA Today and NY Times bestselling and award-winning American writer. She is well known for writing fiction, contemporary, chick lit, romance, women’s fiction, mystery, Southern, suspense, psychological thriller, and adult fiction novels and audiobooks. All her books are standalone novels and have done very well throughout the United States and overseas. So far, Joshilyn has penned ten novels and all of them have been translated into over a dozen foreign languages. Joshilyn’s books have won many prestigious literary awards & prizes and have received nominations for numerous others. Prior to her writing interests, Joshilyn used to work as an actor. She likes to listen to the audio versions of her novels as well as those created by other writers. Joshilyn has been nominated for an Audie Award for her work in the field of audiobooks. She was also selected for the list of the best of the year by Audio File Magazine and is the winner of 3 Earphones awards. Joshilyn’s work as an audiobook writer had garnered the highest listener reviews/ranks in 2012 and had helped her get listed in the Audible All-Star list of that year. For this great success, Publisher’s Weekly honored her with 3 Listen Up awards.

In addition to her writing prospects, Joshilyn is also associated with a nonprofit organization called Reforming Arts. She is one of the board members of this organization, which runs re-entry and education-in-prison programs. The organization also fosters the development of creative and critical thinking skills and encourages the students to spend their lives in the line of good work both during and after their incarceration. Through Reforming Arts, author Joshilyn has held workshops and taught literature, composition, and creative writing to women in the maximum security facility in Georgia. When Joshilyn started writing her latest book, Never Have I Ever, she realized that she needs to learn scuba diving in order to do justice to the story. Subsequently, she undertook training in scuba-diving along with her husband and became an expert. Now, she enjoys doing it avidly.

Author Joshilyn was born on February 27, 1968, in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. She finished her schooling from Pensacola’s Booker T Washington High School in 1986. Joshilyn studied at different colleges before she earned her BA degree from the Georgia State University in English literature. In 1997, she graduated from Chicago’s Illinois University and obtained her MA in creative writing. Joshilyn is of the opinion that her writing style is somewhat Weird Fiction type and has the influence of Southern Gothic in it. As of today, Joshilyn resides in Decatur, Georgia with her loving husband named Scott, two children, and a small group of pet animals. Joshilyn intends to keep writing interesting novels for many more years to come and keep her fans entertained through her work. She is grateful for their love & support and hopes to get a similar kind of support, if not more, for all her future works. Joshilyn also extends her gratitude to all the critics and fellow writers, who have reviewed her novels sincerely and have given genuine reviews on various literary platforms.

A successful book penned by author Joshilyn Jackson is entitled ‘Gods in Alabama’. It was released in 2006 by the Grand Central Publishing. This book features the primary characters in the roles of Arlene, Jim Beverly, Burr, and several others. Joshilyn has done the settings in Chicago and Alabama. The book opens by showing that Arlene makes a pact with God and keeps her promises for 10 years. Until one day, a former schoolmate arrives at her home. The schoolmate asks Arlene questions about Posset High’s former quarter named Jim Beverly. This sudden turn up of her old schoolmate and questions about Jim Beverly make Arlene intrigued enough to break all her promises and head to her old hometown. At around the same time, Arlene’s current boyfriend Burr warns her that if she does not introduce him to her parents, he will leave her. Burr is of the African-American background and Arlene’s fears that her Southern Baptist and deeply racist family will not accept him as her future husband. So, she embarks on a journey back home with Burr. During the road trip, Arlene has a flashback of her previous life and remembers the deception and guilt that she had to endure. The experience helps her discover how far she is ready to go for love and redemption.

Another exciting novel written by Joshilyn is entitled ‘The Opposite of Everyone’. It was published by William Morrow in 2016. This book features the central characters in the roles of Paula Vauss and Kai. Joshilyn has described an emotional story about the power and endurance of love to transform and shape lives. Initially, Paula Vauss is introduced as an Alabama-born girl. She spends the first ten years of her life with her young, free-spirited mother named Kai on the road. Kai is a storyteller, who blends Southern Oral Tradition with Hindu Mythology. When Kai chose to tell her own story, everything changed in the life of her and Paula Vauss. Kai ended up in prison and her daughter is forced to change her birth name of Kali Jai and sent to a foster home.

As the mother and daughter get separated, their intense bond gets fractured. Years later, Paula Vauss becomes a divorce attorney and starts living a successful life in Atlanta. She has not met Kai in the last 15 years, but has always been sending her checks regularly. Paula gets a shock of her life when her last check returns with a cryptic note. In the letter, Kai informs Paula that she has decided to go on a journey that will lead her back to her beginning. She also informs Paula that she is hopeful of meeting her one day and make new stories like the olden times. The letter also reveals the most treasured secret of Kai that Paula has a younger sister, who lands on her doorstep with the letter. The revelation brings chaos in Paula’s life. In her desperation to find her mother, she takes up a journey that takes her deep into her past life. Paula’s former lover and private eye named Birdwine helps her in getting her life back in order.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Joshilyn Jackson

Leave a Reply