Book Notification

Kate Moore (Felix) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Felix Books

Felix the Railway Cat (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Steam Ahead, Felix (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of KateMoore Non-Fiction Books

The Radium Girls (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman They Could Not Silence (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kate Moore
Kate Moore, as a little girl growing up in Peterborough, England, had dreamed about becoming an author. She still has to pinch herself that her dream actually came true. Kate, after she studied English Literature at the University of Warwick, embarked on a successful career in publishing as a nonfiction editor.

Over the next decade, she rose up to become an editorial director at Penguin Random House UK. Her authors included John Barrowman, Francesca Martinez, Craig Revel Horwood, Sarbjit Kaur Athwal, Christ Tarrant, and Lucie Brownlee. On a freelance basis, she offers the occasional editorial service. During this time, she also dabbled in writing gift and humor books, and in the year 2008 had her first Sunday Times bestseller in “The Lovers’ Book”, later republished as “Roses Are Red”.

On July 4, 2014 (her own Independence Day) she took a leap of faith and left her full time role in order to become a freelance editor, author, and ghostwriter. On the first day of this new business venture, she’d already secured commissions to pen four books, and hasn’t looked back since. Over the following three years she has written eleven books, both as a ghostwriter for some extraordinary folks and under her own name. Many of these became Sunday Times bestsellers.

In April of 2017, “The Radium Girls”, one of these books was published in America. It went on to become one of the bestselling history books published that year and was an instant New York Times bestseller upon publication of the paperback. It won various awards, including Goodreads Choice Award for Best History. Other awards the book won included US librarians’ favorite nonfiction book of 2017, named a Notable Nonfiction Book of 2018 by the American Library Association.

It was a labor of love for Kate, who found the girls’ story as she was directing a play about them. Kate, along with her publishing career, has always maintained her love of theater, appearing as an actress in many productions through the years. As she wanted the production of “These Shining Lives” by Melanie Marnich was as authentic as she could make it, she conducted a ton of research on these radium girls and was amazed when she found that no book actually existed that focused on the women themselves.

Kate felt that these women deserved such a book, and decided to write it. Her research took her four thousand miles across a whole ocean to follow in the women’s footsteps. She stood at the sites of the dial painting studios, visited their homes and graves, and met with each of their families, and remembered the radium girls. She hoped, with her book, that readers would do the exact same.

She has personally presented the story of the radium girls in close to thirty states, since the book’s publication. Kate has also been lucky enough to continue pursuing her writing career that she had been dreaming about while she was a little girl.

Kate’s passion as a writer is to help others have a voice, particularly those that are silenced through injustice. With each one of her books, she hopes she can take readers on a visceral journey to allow them to also experience the extraordinary lives of other people.

“Felix the Railway Cat” is the first novel in the “Felix” series and was released in the year 2017. The extraordinary story of a close-knit community and its fantastic bond with a very special cat.

Felix arrived at Yorkshire’s Huddersfield Train Station as an eight-week-old kitten, nobody knew just how important this little ball of fluff would end up becoming. Even though she’s got a crucial job to do as the “Senior Pest Controller”, Felix is a lot more than just an employee of TransPennine Express. Felix is able to change lives in rather surprising ways.

She is always ready to jump into action and save the day: from bringing an autistic boy out of his shell to providing some comfort to a runaway kid that shivers on the platform this one night. So when tragedy hits the group at Huddersfield, it’s all up to Felix who is able to pull them back together.

However a chance friendship with a commuter that she waits for on the platform each morning at last gives Felix the recognition she deserves. And it catapults her up to international stardom.

All of Felix’s empathy, antics, her beauty, and her day-to-day job as “pest controller” are just an absolute joy to read about. This is an unforgettable story about a kitten growing up greeting the passengers and becoming a much loved icon for the Huddersfield station. The book also shows just how close the bonds of pet and human can end up becoming.

“Full Steam Ahead, Felix” is the second novel in the “Felix” series and was released in the year 2019. This book, filled with heartwarming and funny stories, is the remarkable story about a close knit community and its amazing bond with quite the special cat. More adventures from Felix’s life off and on duty at Huddersfield train station.

Felix, the Senior Pest Controller at Huddersfield station, has been right at the heart of a close knit community since the very day that she arrived as just a kitten. However now, having risen up to fame, everyday life at the station has gotten pretty hectic; while her fans and reporters clamor for even a glimpse of her, Felix as well as her human co-workers find themselves, and the station, in quite the whirlwind.

With the job being too big for just one fluffy kitty to handle, it appears only sensible to bring in a young apprentice to their team. And that’s wear recruit Bolt comes in.

This made for some delightful reading that some just couldn’t put down and the pictures included throughout were also fantastic. It’s simply fun to read about Felix and the adventures that she goes on in her duties. This, as well as the first book, is an interesting read about Huddersfield station, the folks that work there, and of course Felix, herself.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kate Moore (Felix)

Leave a Reply