Book Notification

Kristan Higgins Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gideon's Cove Books

Catch of the Day (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Next Best Thing (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somebody to Love (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Blue Heron Books

The Best Man (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Match (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Waiting on You (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Your Dreams (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anything for You (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fools Rush In (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just One of the Guys (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Good to Be True (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
All I Ever Wanted (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
My One and Only (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until There Was You (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
If You Only Knew (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Second Thought (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Now That You Mention It (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Luck with That (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life and Other Inconveniences (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Always the Last to Know (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pack Up the Moon (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of the Clear Blue Sky (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Little Ray of Sunshine (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Look on the Bright Side (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Pride Not Prejudice(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kristan Higgins is the best selling author of several novels, including the “Blue Heron” series. The books in the series are connected because of the Blue Heron winery, located in Manningsport, New York, that the Holland family owns. Three of the books are centered around a single member of the Holland family- Faith, Honor, and Jack, the other two entries are focused on twins Connor and Colleen O’Rourke. All five are unmarried at the beginning of their respective books.

“The Best Man” was the first book released in the series and was released in early 2013. This book is centered around Faith Holland, who lives in a small town, Manningsport, New York, with a population of 715. Three years ago, Faith Holland was left at the altar by her fiance, named Jeremy, whose best man, and now the town’s police chief, Levi Cooper, told her he was gay right before they were set to say “I do”. He was a bad boy turned best man who was not all that bad the whole time. She is so embarrassed by this turn of events, that she leaves and does not return for three years. She misses the scenery, wants to face her problems that she abandoned all those years ago. When she comes back, she ends up seeing that the best man in her wedding, Levi, he’s not such a bad guy. They end up getting together after she realizes that he only cared for her when he told her the man she was about to marry was gay. She also tries to help her dad find love, even with the fact that she has not had the best luck where that is concerned, and helps her grandparents get back together again after their marriage hit a rough patch. You also see how her and her ex-fiance’s relationship evolves since they broke up on what would have been their wedding day, and how the town treats Faith once she returns home. Jeremy is the town doctor and loved by the whole town, and it makes the people feel even sorrier for Faith. This is a book about second chances, about making things right.

Fans of this book say that the books are hard to put down, that the author is talented at making real, as well as likable, characters. There’s a mix of scenes that are funny, but also will be emotional, too. Fans like the way that Levi’s and Faith’s romance is built slowly, overly the course of several years and it features a good payoff.

Fans did not have to wait for “The Perfect Match”. It was the first sequel in the series and came out in late 2013, the same year the first book came out. Faith’s sister, Honor Holland takes center stage in this book. She has been so obsessed with working and trying to make the family business even bigger, that she has not started a family herself. Honor is now 35 and her doctor has informed her that if she wants kids, she better get started on it quickly, time is wasting. She tries to propose to the man she hooks up with sometimes, but he turns her down. After going on a bunch of dates with a bunch of random guys, she ends up meeting a British man named Tom Barlow, who needs a green card to stay in the country to continue his teaching career and to keep the child, named Charlie, that he has been raising since the boy’s mom (Tom’s fiance) died. They agree to get married out of convenience, she wants to get back at the man who turned down her marriage proposal too. But once they live together for awhile, they find that they actually have real feelings for one another that is more than just the sham they were putting on to fool the government to allow Tom to stay in the country and to make Honor’s ex jealous.

Fans of the series say that Kristan is funny, there is great dialogue, her characters have depth, you will find yourself rooting for her characters, and great sex scenes that explain everything without it getting overly graphic. They said too, that the scenes are more about the before and after, not so much during. Some fans said they were able to read the books in a single sitting, they were so good.

This series differs greatly from most novel series in that most focus on one character throughout the series. However, this one changes protagonists every book. Sometimes the protagonist of one book will return to cameo in another book. In both books, you get to see Honor and Faith’s dad’s attempt at dating and hear their grandparents continue to bicker with one another..

In addition to the “Blue Heron” series, Kristan Higgins has also written eleven other novels. She writes in the contemporary romance genre. She has also gotten two RITA awards for “Catch of the Day” and “Too Good To Be True” in 2008 and 2010. Higgins has also gotten four nominations for the best work of fiction for the year from The Kirkus Prize. She has read her favorite book “Gone with the Wind” about fourteen times. She is also married to a firefighter and lives with their two kids in a small town located in Connecticut.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Kristan Higgins

2 Responses to “Kristan Higgins”

  1. Fran Johnson: 1 year ago

    I’m HOOKED Kristen Higgins!
    Ordered 5 used books after picking one up at Salvation Army storefront..
    You are my new Erma Bombeck and/or Mauve Ginchy!
    You Rock Girl!
    Look forward to reading ’em all.

  2. Pat Davidson: 3 years ago

    I enjoyed her book and ordering The best Man


Leave a Reply