Book Notification

Lance McMillian Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Atlanta Murder Squad Books

The Murder of Sara Barton (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death to the Chief (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill A Lawyer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hard Way to Die (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Just and the Unjust (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lance McMillian is a published author.

Lance is a former lawyer who decided that he would like to trade in working in the courtroom to working with students in the classroom. He has taught constitutional law for over a decade to the future lawyers of American at the John Marshall Law School in Atlanta.

Now he has added to the list of former lawyer and teacher a new profession: being an author. The first novel that he penned to come out was titled The Murder of Sara Barton. It is the first novel in the Atlanta Murder Squad series of fictional novels by Lance McMillian. The debut was first released in 2020 and was quickly followed by more novels in the series.

Like so many other authors, Lance knows that you have to be a big reader before you become a great writer. That’s his opinion, anyway. As for what types of books the author likes to read, McMillian prefers legal thrillers, crime fiction, and murder mystery novels. He also has his inspirations for writing, which include authors Ross Macdonald, Raymond Chandler, Harper Lee, Agatha Christie, John Grisham, Dashiell Hammett, Erle Stanley Gardner, Michael Connelly, Scott Turow, Walker Percy, and more.

Lance first got into writing officially when he was attending UNC as an undergraduate. He was writing weekly as a columnist for their paper, The Daily Tar Heel. He attended UGA as a law student, where he would write columns to be printed in The Red and Black. His work about pop culture and lawyers has been featured in leading law journals.

McMillian was also selected by The American Bar Association to write a chapter in its project Lawyers in Your Living Room: Law on Television. The work also included chapters that were written by James Woods and Sam Waterston (both actors). He enjoyed doing it, but has to admit that writing novels is more fun for him if he’s being honest.

The Murder of Sara Barton is the first novel to come out in the Atlanta Murder Squad series of novels by Lance McMillian. It is available in the Kindle Store and is a number one best seller in the legal thriller category. If you like to check out crime fiction or murder mystery novels, check out this intriguing debut in the series from McMillian!

The main character in this story is a man named Chance Meridian. He’s a prosecutor that is very successful working in Atlanta, driven all the more by the tragedy in his past. Chance does his best every day to step into the courtroom and do his utmost to help see that justice is done.

This time around, he happens to be trying to find justice for a young woman who has drawn her last breath. Beautiful and unfortunate, this woman was in the safety of her own home before her last moments arrived. Her murder was brutal, and now it’s up to the justice system to find out who did it and make sure that they serve the appropriate time.

But if that sounds a little too easy, a little too good to be true to you, you would be right on the money. In Atlanta, there is absolutely nothing that comes easy, and that extends to the concept of justice. Then there’s the question of who committed the murder and who had an incentive or reason to murder Sara Barton.

As the authorities look into things, it becomes clear that there are many people out there that had reason to dislike Sara Barton and even want her dead. The police are questioning everyone, but it seems that all of them have secrets and are lying about something. It’s up to them to figure out who did it, and it will be up to Chance Meridian to make sure that the murder of an innocent woman does not escape unpunished.

Pick up a copy of the debut novel in this series to catch all of the fast-paced action for yourself in a courtroom drama that will have you turning the pages to find out what happens next! As the suspense builds, you’ll find yourself wondering whether the murderer will be brought to justice or stay at large. Read to the end and find out whether Chance will be able to help save the day or witness a disappointing failure of the justice system to do its job.

Death to the Chief is the second novel in the Atlanta Murder Squad series by Lance McMillian. This second installment of the series first came out in 2021 and picks up where things left off with Chance Meridian.

The time is once again modern day, the setting is Georgia. The Supreme Court of the state is celebrating, pleased that the new courthouse has opened. There’s just one person missing, and that is the Chief Justice. It appears that he’s not going to make it to the party after all when he is discovered deceased in his chambers.

This is precisely where former lawyer Chance Meridian comes in. He’s been made to go back into service thanks to an offer that he’s not able to turn down. He’s looking for a killer who was bold enough to hit such an authority figure, but when it comes to Atlanta, it seems like dirty politics is just the name of the game.

If you hang out around Atlanta long enough, you’ll find out that the city is filled with secrets. These are the type of secrets that should never see the light of day. Chance is on the case, but if he can’t get to the bottom of what’s happening fast enough, he knows that there’s a very good chance that he could be the next target.

Can Chance manage to keep away from a killer? Or will he find out that his homicide is just the next case on the docket in court? Catch all of the thrills of this suspenseful legal mystery by getting a copy of Death to the Chief by Lance McMillian!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lance McMillian

Leave a Reply