Book Notification

Laura Bush Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Spoken from the Heart (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

Read All About It! (With: Jenna Bush) (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Great Big Backyard (With: Jenna Bush Hager) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Joy Hakim Teen & Young Adult Books

Freedom (With: George W. Bush,Joy Hakim) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Discovering Life's Story (By: Joy Hakim) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Laura Bush is the former First Lady of the United States and the spouse of the 43rd president of the United States.

She was born in Midland, Texas in 1946 to Harold Welch an office manager, and Jenna Welch his wife. When the Second World War broke out, Harold joined the U.S. Army and was sent to help the war effort in Europe.
Following the war, he went back to the States, became a successful developer of real estate, and moved the family to Midland.

Laura Bush went to Midland’s “Robert E. Lee High School” and after graduating, she went to Southern Methodist University, where she got a Bachelor of Science degree in Education.

Thereafter, she went to the University of Texas where she got a Master of Library Science in 1973. Afterward, she worked as a librarian at a public school and taught in public schools in Austin, Houston, and Dallas.

Laura Welch became Laura Bush when she got married to George Walker Bush in 1977.

She got into politics in 1978 as she was part of his campaign when he unsuccessfully ran for a seat in the U.S. House of Representatives. He became the 46th Governor of Texas in 1994 and President of the United States in 2001.
As First Lady, she implemented many initiatives on education, literacy, and health. She was a key proponent of the No Child Left Behind Act.

She has also fought for human rights as she criticized the high-handedness and oppression of the military regime in Burma.

Laura Bush was the first First Lady to ever deliver an entire Presidential Radio Address as she spoke to America about the treatment of women in Afghanistan.

She was a pioneer for the “Partnership for Breast Cancer Research and Awareness of the Americas” and “Breast Cancer Research and Awareness for the Middle East and the U.S.”

Laura made at least five trips to Africa to encourage humanitarian programs by George Bush in the “President’s Malaria Initiative” and the “President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief.”

Working with her husband they improved, repaired, and protected the U.S.’s national park system and established the “National Parks Centennial Initiative” and the “Preserve America’s Heritage Initiative.”

Laura Bush and her husband left the White House and moved to Texas their home in 2009 and it was the following year that she published her bestselling memoir “Spoken from the Heart.”

In 2013, the Bushes dedicated the “George W. Bush Presidential Center” in Dallas Texas at the Southern Methodist University campus. Laura was actively involved in the creation of landscape and architectural designs for the facility.
Administered by the “National Records and National Archives Administration,” the “George W. Bush and Presidential Museum and Library” is found in the “Bush Center.”

Today Laura Bush is still actively engaged in issues of global and national concern through the “George W. Bush Institute.” This is an institution that is operated by and is part of the “Geoge W. Bush Foundation.”
She continues to engage all kinds of people in human rights, health care, and education for women.

“Spoken from the Heart” is Laura Bush’s memoir that tells the interesting story of her life. She was born in Midland, Texas a boom-and-bust oil town, and was the only child of parents that had lost three kids to infant death or miscarriage.
When she first left her hometown in West Texas, she never imagined that she was embarking on a journey that would lead her to the White House and the world stage.

She writes about her time in college at Southern Methodist University and then how she trained to be a librarian and worked in inner-city schools.

With rare candor and intimacy, she talks about her married life and how she found herself right inside one of the most prominent families in the United States and her deep longing for kids.
She captures the presidential campaign and the harrowing days after 9/11 when her husband and kids had to be sent to an underground shelter.

Laura also talks about the relentless and withering media spotlight and how she came to understand her role as first lady, even as it transformed over the years.
With a sharp eye and deft humor, she does not hold back as she lifts the lid off the happenings of the White House.

“Our Great Big Backyard” by Laura Bush tells the interesting story of Jane and her friends.

They had planned out their fun electronic summer with video games, YouTube, and movies until Jane’s parents blew up everything with their nerdy Great American road trip.
Frustrated and disappointed, Jane leaves her friend behind when school closes down but spends most of the time on her iPad on the trip.

She does not appreciate the riverboat captain who looks like Mark Twain on his riverboat nor the “Everglades National Park” with its manatees. But she likes the Texas night sky and “Big Bend National Park.”
Together with her family, they head to the desert to play astronauts and to the Grand Canyon National Park to watch tightrope walkers.

Penned by Jenna Bush and Laura Bush it is a beautiful celebration of the National Park Service and the August 2016 centennial.

All in all, it is a story encouraging pride in and love for the most valuable assets in the US, and an inspiration to children to explore the outdoors and get out from behind their electronic devices.

Laura Bush’s work “Read All About It” tells the story of Tyrone, a little boy who says that he is a professional student and the ultimate ruler of his school.

He hates reading but he starts seeing things very differently when they are reading a story in class. The more he listens, the real the books become, and out of nothing he loves reading.

The story follows him as he has all manner of adventures reading in his class. The teacher reads from a chapter book about a pig and since the students hated the ending they go on an adventure to solve the ending which had a very mysterious ending.
The story ends with the students going on a spooky adventure where they find a room full of the characters they had read about in the books.

It is a great book that comes with illustrations and an exciting and entertaining story that is more than just words.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Laura Bush

Leave a Reply