Book Notification

Lesley Nneka Arimah Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Collections

What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best American Nonrequired Reading 2015(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pen America Best Debut Short Stories 2018(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twenty Years of the Caine Prize for African Writing(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Lesley Nneka Arimah is an author of fiction. She currently resides in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Ever since she started making waves on the literary scene, she has been acclaimed as one of the top rising authors of fiction today.

She has made the short list for the Carrie Prize and received other awards and acclaim. This author has had her work published in such print houses as Granta and the New Yorker. She also won Africa’s Commonwealth Short Story prize in 2015.

Lesley was born initially in the United Kingdom. She moved with her family quite a bit, mostly because they had to go where her father was working. He would be stationed in different places, which included places like Nigeria and more.

Lesley Nneka Arimah has written short stories, many of which have been featured in anthologies, collections, and magazines. Her writing has won her attention, awards, and grants from such organizations such as AWP, the Jerome Foundation, the Elizabeth George Foundation, Commonwealth Writers, as well as others.

She has been published in print before, but her debut novel is a collection of short stories that are entirely her own. It debuted in 2017 courtesy of Riverhead Books and has seen several printings. The book has won much attention and multiple publications have named it to be one of the year’s (2017 at the time) most anticipated novels– including the Boston Globe, Nylon, Elle, Time Magazine, the Chicago Tribune, the Millions, and also the Minneapolis Star-Tribune.

What It Means When a Man Falls From the Sky is the debut collection of stories from author Lesley Nneka Arimah. A writer that has much experience in writing short pieces, Arimah has put together some of her best and most astounding work in this dazzling collection that pursues the unique ties between children and parents as well as a number of other pairings, including friends, lovers, and spouses.

Check out the collection that others are calling incredibly human and playful. This evocative book is the trumpet call of Lesley arriving onto the scene and contains some of her best work that hopefully will only be the foundation and the beginning of her skilled storytelling and not the end.

If you’ve ever wondered what home is or you’ve wanted a child or you simply have two eyes, a heart, and are alive, you may be interested in perusing this unique collection from an author who has traveled the world. Watch as the lines between real and surreal blur and sit back in wonder as this dynamic new author on the scene guides you through different settings, stories, scenes, moods, themes, characters, and more.

The New Yorker thought highly of one of the tales in this book. They named one of the short stories a finalist for the National Magazine Award. Check out what they thought was so incredible in the short story ‘Who Will Greet You at Home’.

In this short story, a woman really wants to have a child and her desire for one is so great. Imagine her surprise when she is able to weave a child together out of hair. However, she knows that this is not the natural way to have a child and the supernatural manifestation of this child may not have the results that she ever expected or wanted.

Yet another one of the stories concerns the tale of a teen and her cousin. When a young woman and her Nigerian cousin go out at night to have fun and it does not go the way that they planned, they find common ground with each other thanks to going through this disaster. Check out ‘Wild’ to see what happens at the end of this one for yourself.

Lesley brings story after story to the page and to life in the reader’s mind through this collection. She also covers topics such as women and ghosts. Her story ‘The Future Looks Good’ goes into the tale of three generations that belong to the same family of women that are going through the same thing. When three women in a row in the same family find out that they are being haunted by ghosts from a war, what are they going to do about it?

Or read ‘Light’, another story in this collection. Find out what happens when a father does his best to try and not only protect his daughter but give her the power to find her way in the world too. Will he be successful, or will he ultimately be doomed to fail in the end?

Or you could check out the story that gave this novel its title, where the reader arrives in a world that has dealt with massive flooding and is experiencing a huge difference in class. All the while, mysterious and unseen experts have determined that they have made a huge discovery. Of course it will never be released to the public in any capacity.

The scientists are sure that they will be able to fix a person’s equation. But if they are planning on putting it into play, they had better be ready for the crazy consequences that come with it. What will happen? Read this incredible collection from a Nigerian-born author that will make you an instant fan!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lesley Nneka Arimah

Leave a Reply