Book Notification

Lin Anderson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rhona MacLeod Books

Driftnet (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Red Roses (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Torch (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Code (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Flight (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Easy Kill (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Cut (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reborn (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Picture Her Dead (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paths of the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Special Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
None But the Dead (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Follow the Dead (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sins of the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time for the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Innocent Dead (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Tide (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wild Coast (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispers of the Dead (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Red Roses is a prequel.

Publication Order of Patrick de Courvoisier Mystery Books

The Case of the Black Pearl (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Missing Madonna (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Blaze Dog Detective Books

with Donald McKay
The Magic Flag Mystery (With: Donald McKay) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dinosaur Mystery (With: Donald McKay) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Party House (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloody Scotland(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Born to Scottish and Irish parents, Lin Anderson is a Scottish crime novelist and screenwriter better known for her Tartan Noir form of writing. Tartan Noir is a crime fiction genre particular to Scotland the Scottish writers. Scottish literature has a deep connection with this type of writing style and Lin Anderson has written and published several novels and short stories on it. Lin was born in Greenock and her father was a CID detective, thus the influence of writing crime novels. She graduated from Glasgow as well as Edinburgh University. She did her MA in mathematics from Glasgow University and did her post graduation in Education from Edinburgh University. A Mathematics and computing teacher by profession, she has lived in different parts of Scotland and also has spent five years in the African Bush. She created forensic scientist Dr. Rhona MacLeod series which is her best-selling crime thriller novels so far. The series has been translated widely into many other languages. She is the founding member of the crime writing festival of Scotland- ‘Bloody Scotland’. The festival has encouraged many crime writers from all across Scotland to take part in it and display their views and ideas on how to use the Tartan Noir form at its best. Before turning to a full-time writer, she taught computing and mathematics at George Watson’s College in Edinburg.

Lin is also a screenwriter and her screenplay ‘Small Love’ won many accolades from the critiques and was shown at the Edinburgh International Film Festival and London Film Festival in 2001. Moreover, Scottish Television broadcasted the movie in the year 2001 and 2002. Showing a keen interest in the screenplay, she graduated from the Screen Academy Scotland has now numerous screenplays on her chart for production.

Lin Anderson Work:

‘Driftnet’ was her first novel published in 2003. It introduced the character of forensic expert Dr. Rhona Macleod. The book turned out to be the Scottish Bestseller which encouraged her to add nine more books to the series including a novella. The series is published in numerous languages including Russian, German, French, Spanish and more. She also loves writing literary short stories and she has written ‘Shattered’, ‘The Macallan’ and ‘The Best of British Crime 2011’. She was nominated for a TAPS writer of the year award her screenplay for a TV Drama, Small Love. Also, her movie River Child bagged the award for the best drama movie at the student BAFTA and Celtic Film Festival. Her work timely airs on the TV and radio internationally.

Rhona Macleod Novels:


Driftnet is where it all started for Lin Anderson and Rhona Macleod. It has been written beautifully and even by numbering less than 250 pages, it has still managed to develop the characters very well and keeping the readers hooked. The story is about a teenager found dead, mutilated and strangled in his Glasgow flat. Forensic Scientist Dr. Rhona Macleod enters the scene. Seeing the young lad in this condition, the fact that she gave up her child for adoption 17 years ago comes back to haunt her. The scene depicts the teenage boy smothered to death during sex. Macleod investigates the body to find out that there were bite marks all over his body and the testicle was gnawed very badly. Rhona Wonders the boy could be a local of Glasgow and could be studying at the Glasgow University. The theory turns out to be true when Bill finds a Manchester United scarf at the crime scene. The tailor-made French curtains, the scent of the aftershave he was wearing, the silk fiber found on his body and the whiskey brand he was drinking indicates that if he was not a regular Glasgow lad. Rhona went back to time to remember the same incident that happened six months ago featuring the same crime scene and what was haunting was that the corpse was of a teenage boy.

Rhona and Bill suspected that these two crime scenes might be connected in one or another way. Seeing the uncanny incidents, Rhona knew that she will have to find the child she gave up 17 years ago. She just simply wants to find her son and what follows her is the dark, haunting and horrifying investigation that involves pedophiles and powerful people.

The part where Lin Anderson described why Rhona preferred forensic science even after studying three years in medicine is what keeps the readers glued to the story. The story is presented in such a manner that it allows the readers to get connected with the characters easily.


Yet another entertaining novel by Lin Anderson featuring the return of the forensic scientist Dr. Rhona Macleod, it is the second installment of the Rhona Macleod Series. The story starts with a crime scene where a young girl is burnt alive. The girl is the latest victim to the arson attacks that have been taking place lately in Edinburg. Dr. Rhona Macleod is called into the crime scene but she is forced to team up with a hot-tempered Chief Fire Investigator Severino Macre.

Anderson has put so much thought on its story and the reader will find out that there is much more to the story other than killings and crime scenes. TORCH is where Dr. Rhona Macleod as forensic scientist emerges to the scene.

Lin Anderson is a die-hard fan of the movie Braveheart and she claims that she has seen it over fifty times and still not bored. This is the reason why Lin wrote a book on Braveheart in 2004 titled Braveheart: From Hollywood to Holyrood. She got the privilege to chair the pre-movie panel discussion with the actors of the movie Braveheart on the occasion of celebrating 20 years of Braveheart in Edinburgh.

Lin Anderson was formerly the Chair of The Society of Authors, Scotland and she still loves to take part in conferences and literary events.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Lin Anderson

One Response to “Lin Anderson”

  1. DBrookes: 2 years ago

    I have one book to read The killing tide l have thoroughly enjoyed all of this series please write some more.

    Regards DBrookes


Leave a Reply