Book Notification

Love by Numbers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Love By Numbers Books

Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke's Heart (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Love By Numbers by Sarah MacLean
Author Sarah MacLean pens the “Love By Numbers” series of historical romance novels. The series began publication in the year 2010, when “Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake ” was released. In October of that year, a sequel was released. The series ended publication in the year 2011, when the third novel, “Eleven Scandals to Win a Duke’s Heart ” was released. All of the books in the series are published by Avon Books.

The romances stand on their own and involve lords and ladies having romances with each other, not looking to fall in love yet doing so anyway.

“Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake” is the first novel in the “Love by Numbers” series of novels and was released in the year 2010. This novel stars Calpurnia Hartwell and Gabriel St. John. A lady does not ride astride, nor does she smoke cheroot. She does not attend any duels or fence. She does not gamble at a gentlemen’s club nor does she fire a pistol.

Lady Calpurnia Hartwell has always been one to follow all of the rules, ones that have seen her never marry and more than just a tad unsatisfied. So she has vowed to break each of the rules and live a life filled with pleasure that she has been missing out on.

To steal a midnight kiss and dance each dance is going to require a partner, a willing on. Somebody that knows everything there is to know about breaking the rules. Somebody like Gabriel St. John, who is the Marquess of Ralston and is both devastatingly handsome and charming. He has a wicked reputation that is matched only by his sinful smile.

Should she not be careful, she is going to break the most important rule there is. The one that states that pleasure seekers should never fall desperately and hopelessly in love with somebody.

These two leads are well written and make you feel for them and make you root for them. This is the type of book that will keep you up until the late hours, as you try to squeeze in just another page, another chapter. This author is able to evoke a wide range of emotions in anybody who reads it; readers found themselves gasping, laughing, crying, sighing, and just hoping for a happily ever after for these two main characters. Sarah MacLean hooks you in right from the start and holds your attention the entire time.

“Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing A Lord” is the second novel in the “Love by Numbers” series of novels and was released in the year 2010. This novel stars Nicholas St. John and Isabel Townsend. “Lord Nicholas is a shining example of manhood. His eyes! They are so blue!” Pearls and Pelisses, June of 1823.

Nicholas St. John was named “London’s Lord to Land” by some popular ladies’ magazine, and has been pursued relentlessly by every female with matrimony on the brain in the ton. When a chance to get out of fashionable society opens itself to Nicholas, he jumps eagerly, just to land in the way of the most damnably delectable and determined lady that he has ever met

Lady Isabel Townsend, who is the daughter of a titled wastrel, has got too little money to her name and too many secrets. She is used to taking care of herself quite well, yet her dad’s recent death has left Isabel out at sea and she needs some outside help in order to keep her young brother’s birthright safe. The eminently eligible and sinfully handsome Lord Nicholas might just be the very salvation she is looking for.

The lady has to be wary, however, and not to something foolish and reckless like falling passionately and madly in love.

Fans found this to be an entertaining read, with some outstanding characters in it. Sarah delivers a story with some witty dialogue, intriguing plot, a few teary moments, and some laugh out loud parts. Isabel is a lovable character, as she is funny, hard working, strong, and courageous. At the same time, Nicholas is a sexy, seductive, patient, and just an all around good guy. Their chemistry together is steaming hot, and Sarah MacLean is great at setting a sexy scene.

“Eleven Scandals to Win a Duke’s Heart” is the third novel in the “Love by Numbers” series of novels and was released in the year 2011. This novel stars Juliana Fiori and Simon Pearson. There is no telling just where a scandal could lead.

She only lives for passion.

Juliana Fiori, who is a trouble magnet, impulsive, and bold, is not a simpering English miss. She simply refuses to play by any of society’s rules. She does not care about getting the approval of the ton, she speaks her mind freely, and is able to throw a remarkably accurate punch. This scandalous nature makes her a favorite subject of London’s most practiced gossips. She is also the type of woman that The Duke of Leighton wants to keep very far away from him.

He swears by his reputation.

Scandal is the very last thing that Simon Pearson has got room for in his well-ordered world. The Duke of Disdain is far too focused on keeping his secrets hidden and his title untainted. When he finds Juliana hiding out in his carriage late one night, he swears, risking all he holds dear in the process, to teach this reckless woman a lesson in propriety. She has got other plans, though. She wants a fortnight to prove that even this unflappable duke is not above things like passion.

The book has a great story, a pair of fantastic leads, witty dialogue, hot and sensual love scenes, some swoony and heartbreaking emotional parts, and a great happy ending. Fans found this to be an engaging and outstanding read that left big happy smiles on their faces by the end. Simon is a character that winds up growing on readers once the novel gets moving and he has a chance to develop. The chemistry Simon and Juliana have with each other kept some readers glued to each page, wanting to see how they would overcome all of their obstacles.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Love by Numbers

Leave a Reply