Book Notification

Love Comes Softly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Love Comes Softly Books

Love Comes Softly (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Enduring Promise (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Long Journey (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Abiding Joy (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Unending Legacy (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love's Unfolding Dream (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Takes Wing (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love Finds a Home (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon

Jannette Oke is a bestselling author of Canadian origin born on the 18th of February, 1935 in Alberta. She writes books of the inspirational fiction genre and has written over 70 books. 32 of her books have translations in other languages. Her parents are Fred Steeves and Amy Steeves. She graduated from college and married Edward Oke, her husband, in 1957. They have worked as pastors in churches in Calgary, Indiana and Edmonton. They have four children and grand children and live in Canada. One of their daughters has co-authored some books with her mother.

Jannette received a presidential award in 1992 for her contribution to christian fiction. Other awards were CBA Life and Gold Medallion awards in 1999.

The book, ‘ Love’s Unending Legacy’ in the series Love Comes Softly, Bk 5 – V5
The 240-page book was published in English in 2004. Marty and Clark return from an almost year-long trip where they had visited their daughter Missie. Clark’s leg was amputated after a life threatening accident. All the same, full of love, life and their unwavering faith in God, the Davis family is as strong as ever. They still look forward to sit down and remind themselves of the stories they brought away from their trip and of Missie and her two sons Nathan and Josiah.

Nandry, their adopted daughter, finds it hard to take in the altered state of the only father she had always know to be a strong man. She remembered that her real father did very many nasty and terrible things and he got away with them. At this point, Nandry wonders how God works. The whole family must learn how to deal with Clark’s handicap. Several other things happen to the children of Marty and Clark. Ellie begins a romance with Lane who is from the ranch of Missie and Willie out in the West. Arnie prepares to tie the know with Anne, Clare and Kate await their first born eagerly, while Luke travels East to medical school.

No sooner had the last child left home than the Davis’s get a surprising twist to their lives. They are expecting a new bundle of joy but the news comes with a little anxiety about how every one else will react. The news of someone as advanced in age as Marty being in the family way is a bit unsettling for them. However, since there was little else they could do, they decided to take it in their stride, leave everything to God, trustfully live life fully and have faith in the Almighty.The book has a mix of characters that you’d typically find in everyday life, in families, in social circles like the church, the neighborhood and so on.

The characters Marty and Clark tell the story of family life, bringing up children and watching them grow up into full fledged adults who also choose different paths for their lives. It also introduces us to other aspects of the changing seasons of life and how to adapt to them or cope with them. This book has been adapted for the movies

The Book, ‘Love’s Long Journey’ in the series Love Comes Softly Bk 3 V3

This is a 240-page book published in 2003. It was made into a Television Movie which showed in 2005. In the book, Missie, bids her family farewell and sets out on a Westbound journey with her husband Willie after getting married. Missie comes upon hard times in her life characterized by friends, birth and ultimately death. At a point where she is heavily pregnant with child, Missie discovers she must be left alone in one town that becomes her new home for a while in order to get the services of a doctor while her husband moves on without her. It is as shocking to her as it is unbearable. The homesickness was too much. It was not even clear whether they would succeed at the ranch. This was not the dream she had envisaged. Verses from the book of Isaiah are crucial to the couple in this book. She later delivers a baby boy whom they named Nathan Isaiah. Her husband comes back for his family so that they go on to the much-talked about ranch. What Missie finds upon arrival is nothing like what she had expected.

With pangs of loneliness and frightening isolation gnawing at her heartstrings, she comes to the realization that the surrounding mountains are lovely. Even the cattle land too and she learns to love them. Ultimately, it was the hard work that had to be done endlessly in order for life to have any meaning of success at all. As a result of faith, Missie comes to the knowledge that love can survive, new friends and a new family can be made and that your home can be anywhere where people lean on God, faith and the strength of having each other.

The characters of the book include Millie, Willie, Millie’s parents among others. In the book, they accurately tell real life stories that can happen to anyone and thus are believable which make the book a fascinating read.

Jannette has wowed her readers with Christian Fiction romance thrillers which are told superbly in a manner that enlightens readers and brings an understanding of faith in God in very unique ways. One is taught how to trust in the all powerful God who is able to steer you through your life and enable you tackle various complexities and eventualities that accompany the journey of life. She has become a bestselling author worldwide and has been able to sell millions of her books because her inspirational novels tell a unique story of family, faith and the issues of life closely interwoven. This helps to bring together several facets of life in a most intricate and realistic way which many readers can easily identify with.

Apart from the entertaining feature of these books, after reading these books, one comes away with real lessons that can be applied to real life situations and this is the biggest plus for these books. They also treat one to interesting plots which make the books stand out and become hard to put down.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Love Comes Softly

Leave a Reply