Book Notification

Marshall Browne Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Franz Schmidt Books

The Eye of the Abyss (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Inspector Anders Books

The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Anders And The Ship Of Fools (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Anders and the Blood Vendetta (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Melbourne Trilogy Books

The Gilded Cage (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burnt City (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trumpeting Angel (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

City of Masks (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Harbour (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rendezvous at Kamakura Inn (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sabre and the Shawl (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Marshall Browne was a published Australian author of fiction. He specialized in writing crime fiction novels.

He was born November 27. 1935. He passed away February 14, 2014 in Melbourne, Australia.

He had worked as a merchant and international banker, working with NAB for 37 years. As part of his work he had lived in places like Bhutan, London, and Hong Kong. Browne was also in the British forces as a paratrooper and a commando for the Australian forces. Another of his family had founded the first bank in Australia.

He enjoyed writing and Browne’s novels were published in the early eighties in Britain. City of Masks was his first book published, being released in 1981. A few more would follow, including his series, The Melbourne Trilogy and the Inspector Anders series as well as the Schmidt series. The Melbourne trilogy are historical novels that take the reader to late nineteenth century Melbourne.

His first book in the Inspector Anders series came out in 1999. The book about a policeman with one leg looking into a magistrate’s murder proved popular with readers and critics alike. The novel received the Ned Kelly Award (first crime novel) and made it to the short list of the Los Angeles Times book awards in 2002.

Marshall Browne is the author and creator of the Inspector Anders series. This series first came out with the release of the first novel, The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders. It was then followed by Inspector Anders and the Ship of Fools and then finally Inspector Anders and the Blood Vendetta.

The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders is the first novel in the series. He belongs to the police force in Rome. Inspector Anders first became a hero nationally when a decade ago he helped to shut down a group of anarchists.

However, he paid a price for all that bravery. He ended up losing a leg in the process, and some of his nerve disappeared ever since that day. Now he does what he can, trying to compromise morally with the state’s corruption. He’s going into early retirement, but has one final job to carry out.

That would be looking into a judge’s murder that happened in southern Italy. Once he is there the inspector finds that he is going deeper into the underworld, a place where power is as common as corruption. The case is starting to get more involving and so is his time with the widow of the judge.

The inspector is charged with getting through all of the corruption in an attempt to solve this case of heinous murder. But when the widow gives him an opportunity to try and find redemption through courage, will he take it? Can he solve this murder mystery too? Read this book to find out!

Inspector Anders and the Ship of Fools is the second book in the Inspector Anders series. When a group of terrorists decides to go on a spree over Europe, it’s a disaster.

The group is against globalization, and they’re making their point by taking out executives with large amounts of staff. The inspector has a history with terrorists and so is involved. He’s called and assigned with helping the French police.

This is a tough assignment, but he’s got his duty to consider. Anders is still attempting to get over trauma over a brush with the mafia. He knows that corporations operate a certain way and finds himself in opposition. With the terrorists already being so brazen, he’s got to figure out who they are and stop them so their crime spree can end.

Can Anders figure out who’s behind this group and stop it with the French police’s help? Read the second novel in this series to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Marshall Browne

Leave a Reply