Book Notification

Monica McInerney Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Taste For It (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Upside Down, Inside Out (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spin the Bottle / Greetings From Somewhere Else (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alphabet Sisters (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family Baggage (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Odd One Out (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Faraday Girls (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Home With the Templetons (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lola's Secret (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Memories (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hello From the Gillespies (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trip of a Lifetime (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Godmothers (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Sweet Charity: A Short Story (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

All Together Now (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

10 Short Stories You Must Read This Year(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
And Then He Kissed Me(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Monica McInerney is a published Australian author.

Born in 1965, Monica grew up in south Australia, one out of seven kids. They resided in the Clare Valley and her father worked there, employed as a railway stationmaster. Her mother was employed at the library locally.

Monica now works as a writer full time. Monica has also worked in a variety of positions, including children’s television at Channel 9, book publishing, tourism festivals, arts marketing, a waitress, part of the music industry, a Kindergym instructor, hotel cleaner, and temp. While working in the literary field she was a book publicist for the better part of a decade in Australia and Ireland. There she promoted authors like Tim Winton, Max Fatchen, Edna O’Brien, and Roald Dahl. She also worked at events such as the Dublin International Writers’ Festival.

The author has traveled to many places and lived in many places too, especially in Australia and Ireland. In Australia, she has lived in Hobart, Melbourne, Sydney, and Adelaide. She has lived in Dublin and County Meath in Ireland. She has also lived in the city of London.

Monica is now a best selling author on an international basis. She has written several books and her novels include A Taste for It, Upside Down, Inside Out, Spin the Bottle, The Alphabet Sisters, Lola’s Secret, The House of Memories, and more. Her novel Those Faraday Girls was noted by the Australian Book Industry Awards in 2008 as their pick for General Fiction Book of the Year. The book was published in the United States as ‘The Faraday Girls’.

She is also the author of the novella ‘Odd One Out’. She has written short stories as well, including “All Together Now”, which was published all around the world and translated into over a dozen languages. Monica has also written short stories and articles that have been published in different anthologies, magazines and newspapers around the world in the United Kingdom, Australia, and Ireland.

Monica’s novel The Trip of a Lifetime was very well received in her homeland of Australia. There it went to the top of the list at number one in July of 2017. In Ireland, it made it to best selling status as part of the top ten there. It also made the shortlist for general fiction book of the year from the Australian Book Industry Awards (2018). Her book Hello From the Gillespies also sold well in Australia, becoming a top seller in Australia and Ireland.

Her novel The House of Memories also did well in Australia, hitting the number one spot. It also made the short list for the Romantic Novelists’ Association Awards in 2013 in the United Kingdom in the category of Contemporary Romantic Novel. Her novel Lola’s Secret was also nominated at the 2012 Australian Book Industry Awards, making the short list for general fiction book of the year.

Also a best seller in Australia was her novel At Home with the Templetons. It made the short list for book of the year at the 2011 Australian Book Industry Awards. It also was shortlisted for the 2010 Irish Book Awards for the Eason Popular Fiction Award. Her book All Together Now also made the shortlist for the 2009 Australian Book Industry Awards.

She has been an ambassador for reading as well, serving as a main ambassador for the national reading campaign Books Alive put on by the Australian government in 2006. It was for this campaign that she composed Odd One Out, a limited edition novella. She was also voted to be in the top ten for favorite authors of Australia polls put on by Booktopia. She has made the list multiple times starting in 2014.

The author is married to her husband and they reside together in Dublin. For some time she has been alternating with him between moving and living in Ireland and Australia. Currently, they reside in Ireland.

A Taste for It is one of the earliest novels from author Monica McInerney. Published in 2000, this is the story of main character Maura Carmody.

Maura is setting off to go on an incredible trip that others could only dream about. She is a chef that has tons of talent and now she’s getting the chance to make her way around Ireland. Over the course of a month, she’ll use this time to promoted food and wine from Australia. Knowing this, Maura is thinking that she is just going on a simple trip for business.

The last thing that she expects is all of the things that happen. From misunderstandings to gaining rivals and having revelations, as well as a man named Dominic, this trip is full of things that surprise and sometimes even delight her. A novel about life and food, read this story and find out if Maura has the trip of her dreams and how it all works out.

Upside Down, Inside Out is the second fictional novel from author Monica McInerney. Check out this book and follow along with Eva Kennedy’s story.

Eva has officially run into a rut in her life. She’s been working for her uncle’s deli in Dublin for 7 years now, and things have gradually shifted. Her art has fallen to the side and now the relationship that she’s in has gone bust.

She thought that she was going to go out and be someone and live her life, but now Eva just feels like she’s messing things up. Her life can’t go on like this. Looking for inspiration and to do something new, she decides to take a break on it all and go travel. She decides that she’s going to go to Australia to Melbourne to visit Lainey, an old friend.

While there, Lainey decides to remake her and give her a new persona. She’s now someone herself and not herself, adventurous and exotic. That’s where Joseph Wheeler comes in. The man is a designer from London that’s done very well for himself. But his firm’s doing so well that there’s no time left for doing personal creative design.

On top of that, Joe’s got nothing going on in his love life. He’s come to Australia to conduct business and there he meets Eva. They have chemistry, and she’s playing up her new role. But she has no idea that Joe may have secrets too. Can their romance continue even though she’s not technically being herself? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Monica McInerney

2 Responses to “Monica McInerney”

  1. Pauline Luker: 1 year ago

    Was wondering when you will be releasing another book just love reading.
    I have your whole collection
    It has been a long time since The Godmothers thanks

  2. Margaret Fitzgerald: 3 years ago

    I love reading your books, but do you have any of them on kindle, I listened to you on ABC radio this morning, but some of your books are too big to carry around with me, can’t wait for your next children’s book, thanks again for your beautiful books


Leave a Reply