Book Notification

Natasha Lester Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

What Is Left Over, After (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
If I Should Lose You (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Mother's Secret (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Seamstress (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Orphan / The French Photographer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Secret (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Riviera House (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Three Lives of Alix St. Pierre (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Disappearance of Astrid Bricard (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Beautiful Dare (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Natasha Lester
When Natasha Lester was just a child, she loved to escape into the world of a story. She also loved creating books of her own and wondered what it’d be like to make readers feel the exact same way that she did when she got lost in a book.

However when she left high school, there just weren’t any creative writing degrees at universities. Natasha didn’t know how to become a writer. So she completed a degree in Marketing and Public Relations and for the following ten years worked for companies like L’Oreal in Australia being the Marketing Manager for Maybelline. She had a lot of fun doing this job and had more lipsticks than anybody could ever possibly need. It just wasn’t what she wanted to do. One day she quit this job and went back to university to study creative writing.

The very first thing that Natasha submitted for publication was this poem, which was accepted immediately and was the best hundred dollars that she had ever earned.

It was not easy, as she had three babies over the five years that it took for her to write her first novel. And her manuscript was rejected many times. She just loved writing, so she kept going through all of the babies, the doubt, and the rejections.

At last, somebody believed in her first book just as much as she did, and she wound up winning the TAG Hungerford Award for Fiction for “What is Left Over, After”.

Natasha has been awarded grants by the Australia Council for her work, as well as writing residencies from The Writers House, Varuna, and the Katharine Susannah Prichard Writers Centre.

She started writing historical fiction in the year 2016, and it combines her passion for research, history, fashion, travel, and writing stories about women that blazed a trail.

When she is not writing or reading, she loves going to yoga, traveling, collecting vintage fashion, playing dress up with her three kids, and practicing the art of fashion illustration. Natasha also loves teaching writing courses.

“What Is Left Over, After” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2010. This novel, which presents a powerful tale of loss and motherhood, explores the complexities of disconnection and grief, and just what it takes to become connected once more.

Gaelle, a thirty year old beauty editor for a fashion magazine, is ambivalent about motherhood, and sleeps around, not because she doesn’t love Jason, her heart surgeon husband rather because the very idea of love is a horrifying thing. She just finds that it’s easier to keep on moving, both in the mind and in the heart, than stay still and just own who she is.

A multi-layered novel about marriage, this book employs powerful yet delicate prose which builds to one moving revelation.

“A Kiss From Fitzgerald” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. One small town girl with major ambitions in twenties New York.

It is the roaring twenties in the Manhattan of jazz, gin, and prosperity. Women are wearing makeup and hitched hemlines and enjoy this new freedom to work and vote. But not for Evelyn Lockhart, who is forbidden from pursuing her own passion to become one of the very first female doctors. Chasing this dream is going to mean turning her back on her family: her conservative parents, Viola (her competitive sister), and Charlie (the childhood best friend that she’s expected to marry).

In a desperate effort to support herself through Columbia University’s med school, she auditions for the infamous late-night Ziegfeld Follies on Broadway. However if she manages to get the part, what is it going to mean for her fledgling relationship with Thomas Whitman, an Upper East Side banker and a guy she thinks she might be able to fall in love with. Maybe if only she lived a life that was just a bit less scandalous.

“Her Mother’s Secret” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. Love and ambition from England to the Manhattan of the twenties and forties.

England in 1918. Armistice Day should be bringing peace into Leonora’s life. Rather than making cosmetics in secret in her dad’s chemist shop to sell to the army nurses like Joan, who is her adventurous Australian friend, Leo hopes to display her wares openly now. But instead, Spanish flu shows up in the village, and claims her dad’s life. Determined to begin again, she gets on a ship for New York City.

On the way, she meets Everett Forsyth (a debonair department store heir). In Manhattan Leonora works very hard to make her cosmetics dream come true, however she is a woman alone with a tiny salary and a society that deems make up to be scandalous.

New York City in 1939. Everett’s daughter, named Alice, is a promising ballerina and gets a mysterious letter inviting her to star in a series of ads for a cosmetics line. If she takes it, she’ll be immortalized like other dancers such as Josephine Baker, Zelda Fitzgerald, and Ginger Rogers. But then why would her parents be so quick to forbid it?

“The Paris Seamstress” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. Crossing society’s boundaries, generations, international turmoil, this novel is a transporting and beguiling tale. What does Estella have to sacrifice in order to make her mark?

The year is 1940: Estella Bissette, a Parisian seamstress, is forced to flee from France while the Germans advance. She is headed for Manhattan with just a single suitcase, a few francs, her sewing machine, and a dream: having her own atelier.

In 2015, Fabienne Bissette, an Australian curator, heads to the annual Met Gala for this exhibition of her beloved grandmother’s work, who was one of the world’s leading designers of ready-to-wear. However while Fabienne begins learning more about her grandma’s past, she learns about this story of heartbreak, tragedy, and secrets, as well as the sacrifices that were made for love.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Natasha Lester

One Response to “Natasha Lester”

  1. melissa pierce: 2 years ago

    Your my adult genre favorite author


Leave a Reply