Book Notification

Nicola Bayley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Copycats Books

Publication Order of Children's Books

Publication Order of Collections

Nicola Bayley's Book of Nursery Rhymes (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
As I Was Going Up and Down and Other Nonsense Rhymes (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bedtime & Moonshine: Lullabies and Nonsense (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Necessary Cat (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curious Cat (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Nicola Bayley is an artist and an author. She is one of the most loved artists in England.

Bayley was first born abroad in Singapore. She currently resides in London. She went to school first at St. Martin’s College, where she studied graphic design. She then attended the Royal College of Art, where she would go on to get her degree in the field of illustration. When she was holding her degree show, she got the attention of many of the attendees. One of these was Tom Maschler. He was a publisher and was so impressed with her work that he decided to commission Bayley to give her illustrations to a book that featured nursery rhymes. The book was released in 1975 by Cape.

Her career started with that book and would only go upwards from there both as an author and illustrator. Since that time she has gone on to provide the illustration for many picture books for children. Some of the books that she illustrated include the acclaimed children’s book Katje, The Windmill Cat, written by author Gretchen Woelfle. The book did well and made the short list for a Kate Greenaway Medal, thanks in large part to her color palette choice and the intricate details of her work.

She also provided the illustration for the book The Mousehole Cat, written by author Antonia Barber. The book was very popular and was picked in 1991 as the Best Illustrated Children’s Book of the Year by the British Book Awards. It also caused Bayley to be nominated for and win a British Design Production Award.

Nicola Bayley is the creator and the author of the Copycats series of books. These gentle illustrated books for children are the perfect example of her work as a creative artist. The first book in the series is Elephant Cat. It came out in 1984 for the first time from Knopf Books for Young Readers. This would be followed by the second work in the series, titled Parrot Cat. Then came Polar Bear Cat, Spider Cat, Crab Cat, and Copycats. This is a great book to read as a young reader or for a child along with a parent for story time!

Elephant Cat is the first book in the Copycats series by Nicola Bayley. This is a cute book that younger readers will absolutely love!

This book and the series is mainly about cats that day dream. Sure, they may be cats, but they also have thoughts that occupy them and dreams that keep them thinking.

You will enjoy the vast variety of colors that are included in this book as well as the high levels of creativity and imagination! This is a story about what a cat thinks about, spending its time imagining just what it might be like if it were an elephant. This cat loves to think about what a life like that would be like, and keeps on day dreaming until the time for a bath arrives.

This cat just wants to feel what it’s like to be another animal! It’s a funny and cute read that parents and kids alike will enjoy reading together.

Parrot Cat is the second book in the popular classic children’s series of books, Copycats, by Nicola Bayley. If you love cats or just cute stories about what their inner lives are like, then be sure to check out this book!

This is a book where the story will keep any little one occupied, and they will love the elegantly done illustrations that are full of color. They are designed to make you smile!

This story is the tale of a cat that, while they like being a cat, also very much like to dream about what it would be like to be a parrot. Full of ideas about what being in the jungle is like and encountering other animals such as snakes, this is a colorful story with beautiful art to match it. Check it out today and catch all of Bayley’s creativity up close and personal!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Nicola Bayley

Leave a Reply