Book Notification

Nightshade Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nightshade Books

Chronological Order of Nightshade Books

Publication Order of Nightshade Prequel Books

Publication Order of Forbidden Side Of Nightshade Books

Nightshade is a series that starts with a prequel called Shadow Days, as told from a boy’s perspective. That boy is called Shay and this novella chronicles the days before the start of the series, when Shay is taken away from the friends he loves and forced to live in his uncle Bosqu Mar’s mansion, where the gargoyles seem to move, magic seems real, and nothing is as it should be. This novella will introduce the reader to Shay, and it’s enjoyable to read from his point of view. You also get to know more about Shay, and it’s a great way to start this series because it gives you a better perspective.

The first book in the series is aptly called Nightshade, and one of its leading characters is Calla, the alpha female of a shape-shifting wolf pack. She always knew that her destiny was to be the mate of the sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the keepers. However, trouble starts when she breaks her master’s rules by rescuing a pretty human boy who was on a hike. This incident causes her to start questioning her fate and existence, even the very nature of her world.

She is now in a dilemma because she wants to follow her heart, but then there are consequences that would surely follow. She could lose everything, including her life, and the question becomes whether forbidden love is worth paying the ultimate price. This is the story of a seventeen year old girl just about to turn eighteen, and she can turn from an attractive and fully clothed girl into an alpha wolf and leader of her pack within no time. She can also turn back again without any fear of a bad hair day.

If you think that is yet another paranormal novel involving werewolves, you should stop and read the story. It’s more than just that because it’s a smart and well written tale about Calla, and there’s something really genuine and powerful about how she is slowly realizing that what she’d always known isn’t necessarily true or right. She has a strong but flawed character, and the reader gets to learn about her struggles in a world filled with magic. The group dynamics that the author examines really carries this story. The chemistry among the characters will also have an impact on the reader.

As the heroine, Calla is easily likeable because even though she’s pretty, she can be tough too. She comes across as a tomboy, which is nothing new, but ultimately a likable character. Not all the characters are likable and there are some, such as Logan and Efron, who can actually make your skin crawl. As for the romance in the story, things are a bit complicated. There’s a love triangle involving Ren, the werewolf to whom Calla is betrothed, and the human called Shay, who seems a bit lackluster. This book also tackles some tough issues, and the author tries to ease the tension with some make-out scenes. This is definitely a must-read book.

The second book in this series is called Wolfsbane, and here we find Calla waking up in the lair of the Searchers, her sworn enemy, and she’s certain that her days are numbered. However, the Searchers present her with an offer, one that will give her the opportunity of destroying her previous masters and save her pack, as well as the man that she had left behind. So she has to decide whether her freedom is worth risking for Ren. She also starts to wonder whether Shay will stand with her no matter the consequences.

Calla now controls her destiny, and she has to choose her battles wisely, and decide how, many tribulations true love might endure and continue to survive. This second book is even better than the first one, and once you start reading, it’s hard to put it down. However, some things still remain the same. Shay is still as boring as hell, and he can irritate you to death. He also seems pushy, always asking Calla for favors even when she’s not thinking straight.

Calla also appears to change all the time because at times she seems strong, confident, and considerate, while other times she appears weak and selfish. For one thing, her decision to save Shay had dire consequences for her wolf pack family, and she’s luck that she’s got some great friends. Most people would find it very difficult to forgive her after what she allowed to happen to her pack. All this because of feeling sorry for a human being, a person who seems not to be worth it because of his dull character.

Maybe some readers might be disappointed that Shay appears more in this book, and Ren is given short thrift. Shay’s overprotective nature and petty jealousy comes out in this novel. The author also introduces new characters, and readers are going to love them because these are unforgettable characters. There are secrets to be revealed in the novel, and some of the revelations will blow your mind. If book one gave you some history lessons, then you haven’t seen anything yet. If you’re a reader who likes to skip such sections of a book, then be advised. You will be truly fascinated by the world that the author has created, and you’ll be riveted by the unfolding events.

The author has picked up from Nightshade by giving Wolfsbane an equally good plot. It is complicated and interesting, and readers will get to learn the origins of the Searchers and Keepers. The secrets revealed in this book will make your jaw drop, and there are twists and turns that you won’t see coming. The author has also done a good job in giving the supporting cast a more prominent role. Adne, Connor, Ethan and Monroe added a new dimension to this story, and readers will enjoy reading about their histories. There is also a cliffhanger that awaits you, and you just have to read book number two and find out what happens next.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Nightshade

Leave a Reply