Book Notification

Pamela Callow Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kate Lange Books

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Break Even / Love is Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Pamela Callow is a Canadian author of mystery and thriller novels. Born in Canada, Pamela is the youngest daughter of two immigrants- her mother traces her roots to Germany after the Second World War while her father, an engineer working on the doomed Avro Arrow project. Aged two, Pamela Callow family relocated to Halifax, Nova Scotia. She spent most of her childhood by the ocean which played a significant role in shaping not only her life but also her writing career.

Callow attended University of King’s College and focused on studying the major works of Western Civilization. Pamela graduated with a degree in English Literature and then majored in law where she was admitted to the Nova Scotia Bar. Having had a great interest in public policy, Pamela Callow went back to university where she graduated with a master’s degree in Public Administration. After school Pamela worked as a strategy consultant for a consulting firm operated internationally, and this gave her an opportunity to travel all over North America. The idea of writing dawned when she had her first child, and her local office closed.

Pamela Callow became a published author in 2010 when Damaged the first book in Kate Lange series was published. In 2018, the author published a novella titled Break Even. A criminal case in the US inspired the debut novel in Kate Lange series, Damaged. Mira Books published the book in 2010 and was a Top Ten bestseller display in North America, and Levy Need to Read Pick for June. Tattooed the third book in the series explores in detail the subculture of tattoos in the society as well as the issues associated with the fight for the assisted suicide. Pamela lives in Halifax with her husband, their adorable two children, and a pug.


Damaged is the first book in Kate Lange series by Pamela Callow. It is a dark thriller book set in Halifax, Nova Scotia in Canada where the author was born. The story is centered on a heroine lawyer named Kate Lange who has strangled almost through every single step of her life to rise from her dark past when her client’s granddaughter ends up being mutilated by someone who would soon become Halifax’s most wanted and notorious serial killer. Kate can’t help but feel guilty, and hence she resolves to do anything in her power to bring the serial killer to justice even if it means putting both her career and her dear life on the edge.

The killer is nicknamed the Body Butcher and specifically target young girls. You think that is bad enough but add in the fact that the serial killer leaves marks on the bones of his victims. The first few chapters will leave you adrenalized- sitting at the very end of your seat wondering what would happen next. Pamela Callow characterization is wonderfully done, right from the main character Kate Lange, the serial killer, Lisa and her grandmother Marian McAdam and of course Ethan, Kate’s ex-boyfriend.

Kate is in her thirty’s and has had her share of troubles leaving the past where it belongs- in the past. As a reader, you will learn to get along with her trouble which is quite understandable given her beloved sister’s death. She needs to prove herself in her career, turn her life for the good and move away from the past. Success is one of the top priorities in her life; she wants safety, security, and self-worth. She wants to achieve victory at a local law firm but words like guilt, conspiracy and regret often get in her way.

Then there is Marian McAdam, Lisa’s grandmother, one of the serial killer’s victims. She comes to Kate for advice just before Lisa is found since she is much worried about Lisa’s well-being and feels that her mother may not be providing the best for Lisa. Kate, in turn, decides to handle this case but is rudely pushed back into the sick world of the serial killer when Lisa body is found brutally mutilated. Add to the mix, Kate’s ex-boyfriend Ethan, a police detective working the serial killer case- and Kate has a lot on her plate to handle- not to mention trying to stay alive and keeping her job.

You will fall in love with Damaged book setting-Halifax Canada. Pamela’s description of the different places in the city is brilliantly done such that it’ll give you a feeling as though you’re there in the scenes watching the events in the book unfold. The evilness and the cunning nature that the serial killer exhibits is quite disturbing but its what makes this story come alive. The secondary characters in the book are brilliantly woven and well rounded.


Kate Lange, a civil lawyer, has had a fall in her career since her last case ended when a serial killer almost murdered her. Now, several months after the event in the first book in the series she still can’t let it go and the feeling of being dragged under water-haunts her every night.

The decisions to keep moving forward in her life find Kate now a psychologist, and jogging a lot with her dog Alaska. But at late night when she sees Randal sit alone in a bar, she gets feeling that something will go wrong. The next day, she discovers that Randall’s ex-wife Elise has been killed in the balcony. The police, with Ethan, as their boss are sure it’s murder and Randall is the main suspect.

His son has nothing but pure hatred for the father while the daughter does not know what to believe. On the other hand, Ethan wants to get Randall to prison at all costs. Although Kate is not convinced of Randall’s innocence, she chooses to defend him. But then she has to find the real killer, and this time it will be difficult. Indefensible was the second book is the Kate Lange series and is quite intriguing as the series debut novel Damaged. The greatest thing about this second book is the emotional intensity it brings along when reading. The story brings back a couple of characters introduced in the first book and adds more interesting layers by introducing new ones.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Pamela Callow

Leave a Reply